Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Internet Explorer not loading pages.. but firefox is??

This is a discussion on Internet Explorer not loading pages.. but firefox is?? within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i have been reading through the forum for while now and have come up against a problem i just cant


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2005, 08:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP



i have been reading through the forum for while now and have come up against a problem i just cant seem to solve. Internet explorer will not load any pages at all.. but firefox and other internet applications work fine. I have scanned for all spyware/adware/viruses/temp files etc. i can and nothing has fixed it!!? Any ideas on what could be causing it.. thanks for your help in advance!

__________________
grunskey is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 01:05 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
davcheong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 43
OS: XP


Send a message via MSN to davcheong
EEK!

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunskey
i have been reading through the forum for while now and have come up against a problem i just cant seem to solve. Internet explorer will not load any pages at all.. but firefox and other internet applications work fine. I have scanned for all spyware/adware/viruses/temp files etc. i can and nothing has fixed it!!? Any ideas on what could be causing it.. thanks for your help in advance!


1st thing ... What message displayed on the Internet Explorer while u try to browse a website. Shoud have some message.

__________________
davcheong is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 01:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP


Confused

nothing is displayed.. like really weird. No error message or anything it just seems to be in "loding" stage. Like the flag is flapping etc. but no page is displayed at all it just stays white.

Hope this helps
__________________
grunskey is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 03:36 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus, Gearheads & Networking Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 2,289
OS: 98SE, W2k Pro, XP Pro


Open IE, go to Tools, Internet Options.

Under the General tab, set the Home Page to Use Default, select Apply.

Under the Security tab, set all 4 selections to Default, select Apply.

Under the Privacy tab, select Medium, then select Apply.

Close IE and reopen and see if you get MSN.

JamesO
__________________
JamesO is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 02:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP


JamesO i changed all the settings you said and tried still nothing. Thanks anyway any other ideas?
__________________
grunskey is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:15 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


Assuming you have XP.....

Put your XP CD in the drive
Click on Start/Run, type in: sfc /scannow (click OK)

This will run the System File Checker and find/replace any corrupted/damaged OS files, including those for IE.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:20 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP


i have xp and i ran that sfc program. I did have to do some tweaking changing the registry so it would run and not keep asking for the cd to be inserted when it already was. Anyway IE is still not working.. what else could it be? Maybe i missed some spyware or adware that might be causing it?? Any programs that i should maybe run... thanks
__________________
grunskey is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:04 PM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus, Security Team
 
CTSNKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,829
OS: Every Windows OS known to man


ABout the only other one I would run would be WinsockFix, which resets your network protocols, but if you're connecting via Firefox, that's probably not it.

Link to WinsockFix:http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4372.html

Next thing would be to post a HijackThis log in the specific forum on here.
__________________


GO BIG BLUE!!
CTSNKY is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:21 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
OS: XP


Thanks for all the help CTSNKY but unfortunatly still not working... i will now jump over to the hijack this log section and post a log there. Thanks for all the help!
__________________
grunskey is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 01:08 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
OS: XP


Angry

Hi
I've got the same problem !
Everything's OK with Firefox and some pages don't open with IE ?!!! Nobody can explain ! Some say it's because I built my site with NVU (which is a very nice (free) soft)... ?! Anyway, why some pages open and others don't ?
http://vincent3m.ifrance.com
then "oiseaux" then "liste alphabetique", then choose a name and... nothing with IE !
Thanks
V3M
__________________
vincent3m is offline  
Old 07-12-2008, 01:14 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
OS: Vista Ultimate SP1



For anyone that still has this problem I think i have found the solution.

Had the same thing happening on my PC for the last 3 weeks on both Vista and XP, after trying everything that people were suggesting with no luck I did a bit of digging myself.

Turns out that it was the Adobe Flash plugin, somehow it was corrupted and seemed that the problem appeared after i installed Adobe Photoshop.

So to fix it re-install the Adobe flash player from here - http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/downl...ShockwaveFlash

After which everything worked fine for me, hope this helps.
__________________
HiltonSteve is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 05:13 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP


Grin

SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!!
Hooray..........did the adobe uninstall, re-install yada yada
nothing worked till I hit the INTERNET EXPLORER RESET BUTTON

In the menu Bar (if your menu bar is missing right click on the tool bar near the Home icon on iE7) click on internet tools, advanced option.....and at the bottom you will see RESET INTERNET EXPLORER .

Go ahead and hit that button and your misery (hopefully) will end.

My internet explorer started laoding all pages thereafter.

Hope this helped............conifrm if it did in your case as it amy be the simplest solution to the problem.

Happy surfing........best wishes from Dublin, Ireland
__________________
liffeyvalleyman is offline  
Old 09-12-2008, 08:51 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP


Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by liffeyvalleyman View Post
SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!!
Hooray..........did the adobe uninstall, re-install yada yada
nothing worked till I hit the INTERNET EXPLORER RESET BUTTON

In the menu Bar (if your menu bar is missing right click on the tool bar near the Home icon on iE7) click on internet tools, advanced option.....and at the bottom you will see RESET INTERNET EXPLORER .

Go ahead and hit that button and your misery (hopefully) will end.

My internet explorer started laoding all pages thereafter.

Hope this helped............conifrm if it did in your case as it amy be the simplest solution to the problem.

Happy surfing........best wishes from Dublin, Ireland
HI! I ran accross your solution and it sounds great. I'm having the same problem. IE will not load I get a white screen and an hour glass. and when you try to close the window it will not close even if you go to Task manager it just stays there..... I'm going to try your soultion tonight.. Thanks for posting it.
__________________
jmorgando is offline  
Old 11-23-2009, 10:19 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by liffeyvalleyman View Post
SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!! SOLUTION FOUND !!!
Hooray..........did the adobe uninstall, re-install yada yada
nothing worked till I hit the INTERNET EXPLORER RESET BUTTON

In the menu Bar (if your menu bar is missing right click on the tool bar near the Home icon on iE7) click on internet tools, advanced option.....and at the bottom you will see RESET INTERNET EXPLORER .

Go ahead and hit that button and your misery (hopefully) will end.

My internet explorer started laoding all pages thereafter.

Hope this helped............conifrm if it did in your case as it amy be the simplest solution to the problem.

Happy surfing........best wishes from Dublin, Ireland

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3
finally ive been at this for like 2 days now i love u!!!!
ok well maybe not that much, but atleast u saved me 50$ on sending my comp in to get it looked at :DDD <3

__________________
ciccarello is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts