Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

IE9 - Cannot access Google home page or use the Google tool bar

This is a discussion on IE9 - Cannot access Google home page or use the Google tool bar within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Platform: Windows 7 64bit Internet Explorer 9 Suddenly today, I am unable to access Google search. I have the Google


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2012, 08:54 AM   #1
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


Platform:
Windows 7 64bit
Internet Explorer 9

Suddenly today, I am unable to access Google search. I have the Google tool bar but when entering anything in it (eve, just one keystroke) it causes IE9 to crash

Likewise, when I enter any of the google urls, the google page loads but immediately crashes and displays the popup advisory.

Quote:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: iexplore.exe
Application Version: 9.0.8112.16421
Application Timestamp: 4d76255d
Fault Module Name: jscript9.dll
Fault Module Version: 9.0.8112.16440
Fault Module Timestamp: 4eb31a04
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00043a88
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: abcd
Additional Information 2: abcd8a770b0c5c3dfefc48829c129e1e
Additional Information 3: 0185
Additional Information 4: 018560d7b8b933999f7b848d0d423ce4
It only crashes when I try to access a Google home page (.com or .co.uk) or enter anything in the Google tool bar. Other than that all seems well. I have performed a Systems restore to 3 days ago but the effect is still there.

I have un-installed the tool bar and reinstalled it. Likwise reset IE Options but the problem persists.

(I have no problems with Firefox, also with the Google toolbar)

__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 02:45 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7 x64



Got the same problem myself today - tried reinstalling Java 6 runtimes but still wouldn't work.

Went to Oracle site and installed Java 7 JDK Java SE Downloads

Google homepage now loads fine.

__________________
safsaf is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 03:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
OS: windows 7 x64



Scrap that - it was working for all of 10 minutes but is now throwing up a the same error
__________________
safsaf is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 10:37 PM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,291
OS: Windows 8.1



Hi Donald.

Try and get some ping results see if anything shows up:

Click Start => In the search box copy and paste the following:

HTML Code:
cmd /c echo [code] > 1.txt& Ver>>1.txt&  Ping google.com >> 1.txt & echo [/code] >> 1.txt&&1.txt&del 1.txt
Press Enter. You will see a black box pop up for a few seconds then a Notepad file will pop up, please post the results back into this thread

Please also do this:

Open up Notepad => Click on Format => Make sure Word wrap does Not have a tick next too. If it does just click it to turn of Word Wrap. Close notepad.
  • Click Here to download ToolbarCop. Save it to your desktop.
  • Go to your desktop and extract toolbarcop.zip.
  • Go to the extracted files
  • Double click on Toolbarcop.exe
  • Click on the notepad symbol:
  • A notepad file should pop up, please copy and paste Everything from the notepad file and paste it back into this thread.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:04 AM   #5
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


I have updated Java - problem persists
I can ping google
No problems with google in Firefox - only with IE.

GtP: I will follow your instructions and report back later - Thanks
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:24 AM   #6
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


The problem only rears its head if I try to enter Google's home page in the URL address box ot type anything in the Google toolbar. It just crashes IE9

I also tried uninstalling & reinstalling the Google toolbar - no change.


As per your advice:
Ping:
Code:
 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]

Pinging google.com [173.194.66.103] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.66.103: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=44
Reply from 173.194.66.103: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=44
Reply from 173.194.66.103: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=44
Reply from 173.194.66.103: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=44

Ping statistics for 173.194.66.103:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 37ms

ToolbarCop:
Quote:

Content deleted by DonaldG - see below
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 03:24 AM   #7
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


I have deleted the content from the ToolbarCop. The reason being is that after running ToolBarCop, everything seems normal now.

I can enter Google home page/s into the URL box and the Google tool bar without IE crashing.

I will hold for 24 hours & if still OK, I will mark the thread Solved.

Many thanks GtP
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 04:05 AM   #8
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,291
OS: Windows 8.1


Did you make any edits in toolbar cop?
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Old 02-07-2012, 04:16 AM   #9
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


None at all - I just ran it 'as is'

I did post the result but on discovering that all seemed to be well, I deleted the rather lengthy content.
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-07-2012, 04:27 PM   #10
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,291
OS: Windows 8.1


That's very strange it doesn't make any edits on its own.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:05 AM   #11
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


UPDATE:
It did make some modifications on its own. It disabled many of the IE Add-ons. I guess a rogue add-on was my issue - Re-enabling two that I use all the time, failed. They were shown as enabled but did not work.

I went into Control Panel and deleted them from the machine, downloaded fresh copies from the respective author's websites and reinstalled them. All seems to be working again.

The two in particular I use are:
IeSpell - spell checker
Opanda IExif - Image exif viewer

The rest that it disabled are staying disabled

__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't access any google sites
I have WindowsXP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 3 IntelR Pentium 4 CPU 3.20GHz 3.19GHz, 0.99GB of RAM and can not access any google sites. I have a wireless router & modem and all other computers can access google (not networked). One other was networked previously and could access google,...
CarolBT Resolved HJT Threads 43 08-14-2011 09:16 AM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 04:27 AM
XP freezes on lauching a program
Hi. Been having a sudden problem with my ageing Dell desktop. It runs XP SP2, and is a little slow and clunky, but does the job: I hadn't had a crash for something like six months before this occurred. I came into the room and found that the machine had restarted itself. I logged in, and waited...
George_H Windows XP Support 24 03-14-2011 11:24 AM
redirect to mywebface, mywebsearch, and wizard101
For the past few days, I have been getting redirected to mywebface or wizard101.com when I visit some websites, not all, but they are normal and safe websites that I visit and have always visited, but now I'm getting this redirection. I will refresh the website and it will redirect again. This only...
woodman123 Resolved HJT Threads 19 02-16-2011 09:13 PM
i have lost access to my router setup page
i have a dlink dir-615 and my wireless was on and router working fine could access my router page i have 2 pc's both connected fine no problem for months as xmas is! my son's bedroom was a tip with toys etc... as boys are so i disabled the wireless so he coudnt go on xbox live till his room was...
pastaman06 Networking Support 7 01-04-2011 02:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts