Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

IE won't display facebook properly...

This is a discussion on IE won't display facebook properly... within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys My IE gives me such an annoying problem with Facebook. The page doesn't display properly, as is evident


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2009, 05:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP SP3



Hey guys
My IE gives me such an annoying problem with Facebook. The page doesn't display properly, as is evident from the attached screenshot (Yes, I know it's taken with Firefox as the browser, but the result is the same on both browsers). I'm guessing this has something to do with the Java plug in? Although it only seems to happen with facebook, all other pages load fine. Any suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled2.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	44548  

__________________
Kakashi_sensei is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:58 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP SP3



Help.... Anyone.... :-(

__________________
Kakashi_sensei is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 12:52 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



With FF open, click View/Page Style/Basic Page Style

Run those browsers without add-ons to see the results
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 03:12 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I figured it out.

I was having a problem with facebook and myspace loading funny. My facebook looked like it loaded ok but on the top where it says facebook and then the three icons where you get messages and such, it was all white.

Anyway, the way I fixed it was I went to "control panel" then to "accessability options" then to "display" and turned off "use high contrast".
__________________
russbill is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 04:40 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tallin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne Victoria Australia
Posts: 983
OS: Windows XP/SP3 Windows 7 SP/1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakashi_sensei View Post
Hey guys
My IE gives me such an annoying problem with Facebook. The page doesn't display properly, as is evident from the attached screenshot (Yes, I know it's taken with Firefox as the browser, but the result is the same on both browsers). I'm guessing this has something to do with the Java plug in? Although it only seems to happen with facebook, all other pages load fine. Any suggestions?
I had the same problem when I used Facebook. (I have since deleted it due to security warnings all over the internet) My problem was I was logged into Facebook on my Laptop so when I accessed Facebook on my PC the site did not load fully. Guess you cannot log on to Facebook on more than one computer.

Russbill's fix maybe your answer, but mine also worked as stated above.

Latest Java for all systems

Verify Java on your system

kind regards,
__________________
tallin is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 06:04 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Send a message via MSN to eastexas

MY IE 7 looks like it was washed in bleach. My facebook did the same thing I think yours did. Like this site I can see the little lines dividing off top from bottom. I fixed mine by getting Google Chrome. The best I remember I had IE 8 and it did the same thing but not as bad. When I first tried IE 7 on FB you couldn't see chit the only war to see the things like "go" butto is to hold down left button and scan across the page, it will turn blue but at lease you can find your way out. Soon as I leave here If I don't get this working right I'm going back to Google Chrome thanks for all of your time~~Rusty~~
__________________
eastexas is offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 07:04 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Send a message via MSN to eastexas

looking through here I just glad I'm not the only. I also remember that my IE7 started when IE 8 was in beta and I got it. Both browers were close to the same but IE8 did do alittle better. I removed IE8 and IE 7 on face book or any other site that used point and click. I will use google chrome I just wante to get IE 7 going right because I have things like Windows live mail and I don't know how to make it open Chrome. Hope ya'll find what your loking for I have gotten so old that now I have to go because I don't remember why I'm here. lol

__________________
eastexas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts