Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

IE freezes when sending a print job

This is a discussion on IE freezes when sending a print job within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. One of our users is trying to print a webpage but it freezes everytime she sends out a print job.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2009, 12:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7



One of our users is trying to print a webpage but it freezes everytime she sends out a print job. It worked on other users around her. The printers works for other stuff (word, excel, print test) but freezes on IE.

I tried restarting the computer, cleaned up IE for temp files and other crap, restarting the printer spool and using other the printers she has access to. Also, it was working for her in the morning.

She can print a webpage using Firefox but not with IE.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

__________________
rdpmafia is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 09:27 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



What version of IE is on the system?
Also, go to your printer manufacturer website and make sure you have the current drivers for your version of Windows.

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 10:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7



IE version 7. The drivers are up to date. But I don't think it would be driver related since the girls around her are able to print the job for her. I also noticed that it was on a specific website where it freezes.
__________________
rdpmafia is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:40 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



You should be using IE8, is the system using SP3?
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7



The system is using SP3. We cant use IE8 because theres a conflict with one of our programs.
__________________
rdpmafia is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:41 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Could be an add-on, try running without ad-ons then printing from this page she has trouble with.
This printer directly connected to the machine ?
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 08:36 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16
OS: Windows 7



Thats what I was thinking. She's got access to a couple of printers shared through our network. The girls around her could print the website shes trying to.
__________________
rdpmafia is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:14 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 15
OS: Windows 7, Windows XP SP3, Ubuntu 9.10, Fedora 12


Send a message via ICQ to TheDr!veR

Was this ever resolved? I'm having the same issue with one of my users. It only seems to happen when she's printing off a certain website (Zillow) and if she goes to 'Print Preview' first, it seems to work every time. If she just goes to 'Print' and clicks ok, explorer freezes and the mouse is able to move around for several seconds before it too freezes and the system speaker starts to click like it's receiving too much information. I've let it sit for a good 10-15 minutes before powering off.
__________________
TheDr!veR is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:36 PM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Hi TheDr!veR,

Please start a thread in the appropriate forum.

Thank you for your cooperation
Geekgirl-Assistant Manager Microsoft Support

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts