Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

IE 8 clicking link results in blank page.

This is a discussion on IE 8 clicking link results in blank page. within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running vista with all the latest updates. I installed IE 8 Beta a couple of weeks ago and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2009, 04:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista SP2



I am running vista with all the latest updates. I installed IE 8 Beta a couple of weeks ago and the latest version IE8rc1 (I think) installed itself as part of my auto updates.

The propblem is if I click a link within a page a new page opens but remains blank. If I click that same link a few times I will keep getting blank pages until eventually a proper page will load. some times it takes up to 10 attempts to get a page to open. I am not being impatient in these instances as I have waited a full minute for something to happen but nothing does. The pages I say are blank actually have the IE header and all but just no content.

I am ready to scrub IE altogether if I can't get this sorted out.

Help please.

Tom

__________________
Tom J. is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:01 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Welcome to TSF

Check pop-up blocker, if that dont help be patient it is BETA

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 01:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Vista SP2



Whatever the problem was I corrected it be uninstalling the RC1 update. The basic IE 8 BETA seems to work without a problem.

I had checked it with the pop-up blocker on and off. That be patient it is still BETA does not do a thing for my confidence in Microsoft. They seem to feel the whole world can be patient while they fool around putting out crap like VISTA.
__________________
Tom J. is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 03:33 AM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



It was your choice to install IE8 they didnt force you
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 07:40 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Bootlebarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cumbria, England
Posts: 5
OS: Vista Home Premium x86 & XP Pro



I have a similar issue with RC1. It takes at least two minutes to open my home page. I have found a partial solution by turning off UAC. I am guessing that a process somewhere in IE is plonking about with TCP/IP trying to make all the connections it thinks it needs and if one needs authorisation it should prompt but doesn't it just sits there dumb until a timeout is reached.

__________________
Bootlebarth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts