Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Connectivity Problem

This is a discussion on HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Connectivity Problem within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My desktop PC is connected to my wi fi router through LAN and I was able to access the internet


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2009, 02:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp



My desktop PC is connected to my wi fi router through LAN and I was able to access the internet till now. Yesterday I was installing a new Anti Virus software called Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 after removing the old Norton Anti Virus (validity had expired); when I selected the option to activate online the anti virus after installation, I got the message "Activation Error; Unable to connect to server".

Thereafter I was unable to use the internet although the the network icon reflected that the Local Area Connection status as 'connected'. Attempts to repair the connection by invoking the Local Area Connection Status window and to seeking repair the connnection through the Support drop down initially gave messages like 'Unable to clear DNS cache'. This issue was resolved by re starting the DNS Cache through the Administrative Tools-Computer Management- Services. Thereafter when I attempted to repair the internet connection again the message 'Unable to repair ARP cache came up. This too was resolved but the internet was not accessible.

The network diagnostics shows:-

HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to microsoft.com/www.hotmail.com. Connection with server could not be established.
HTTPS: Error 12029 connecting to microsoft.com/www.passport.net. Connection with server could not be established.
FTP(Passive): Successfully connected to ftp.microsoft.com
error: Could not make an HTTP connection.
error: Could not make an HTTPS connection.

Please advise.

Regards.

Vikram

__________________
ashvik07 is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 06:28 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Hello, ashvik07, Welcome to TSF!

Code:
1. Clear your browser cookies.
2. Open your CMD (Start > Run > "CMD")
3. Run the following 3 commands:
* ipconfig /flushdns
* ipconfig /release
* ipconfig /renew
4. Type "exit" or just close the CMD.

__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 08:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp



Hi Undocked Windy,

Thank you very much for your response.

I tried out flush dns and release option. While the flush dns was successful the option /release returned the following message:-

Windows IP configuration

No configuration can be performed on Local Area Connection 2while it
has its media disconnected.

On my network I have a Local Area Connection which is a LAN connection linked to the wi fi router and I also have a Local Area Connection 2 when I was using the desktop to connect with the wi fi through a wg111v2 Wireless USB Adapter. I no longer use the wireless adapter with this desktop.

Please advise.

Regards.

ashvik07
__________________
ashvik07 is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:05 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Hmm, Have you used any registry editors or fixers, lately?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp



Yes I did and it fixed 20 errors and then the usual routine of pay for the remaining fixes came up and I abandoned the process
__________________
ashvik07 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 12:40 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



You've never mentioned in either of your posts if you actually used your main browser to check if your internet was ACTUALLY down, you stated you just saw an error. LOL - did you check?
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 01:47 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp



I have tried both the IE and Firefox Mozilla and both are unable to connect to the internet
__________________
ashvik07 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:11 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: windows xp



when I cleared the DNS cache through the command prompt it did so successfully but the ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew option did not "The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation"

ipconfig /all returned the following

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name -------------:brig
Primary DNS Suffix ------:
Mode Type--------------:Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled-------:No
WINS Proxy Enabled-----:No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specifci DNS Suffix ----:
Description-----------------------:Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address------------------:00-16-76-82-E9-70
DHCP Enabled---------------------:No
IP Address------------------------:192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask----------------------:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway------------------:192.168.1.1
DNS Server-----------------------:125.22.47.125
202.56.250.5
__________________
ashvik07 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:11 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Here, HTH :

Step 1:
Start | Run...

Step 2:
Type "CMD" | Type "ping "www.google.com"

Step 3:
Post your screen grab here, or simply tell me if it worked or not.
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 02:13 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,509
OS: 7 x64, XP x32



Also, since you're getting errors, try this.
__________________
deleted122510 is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 12:28 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
OS: XP



This solved my problem:
I had the same problem. You are connected but you cannot enter the secure sites. Messenger, email, any login attempt fails. All FTP, HTTPS fails, but you can watch video, play games, etc.
Remove Norton Internet Security and all other Norton components from your system.
You cannot uninstall Norton Internet Security by simply uninstalling it.
Open Norton Security. On the bottom left panel, choose, User accounts. Choose Login as Supervisor. If you have never logged in there, leave the password zone blank and hit enter. Go to control panel, Add/Remove programs, and on Norton internet security, choose "Change" option. It gives you 3 choices, from which you choose, "Remove Norton". Restart after the removal is successfully done.
Check the programs Add/Remove programs, and see what other leftovers you have from Norton, uninstall them normally and restart again.
You are back in business again. :)

__________________
Ali0123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts