Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Help. No browsers working

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Tomken15 
#1 ·
Hi. I'm very new to this.
As my subscription to Webroot was about to expire, I decided to change to Mcafee Total Protection as it was cheaper. I uninstalled Webroot and downloaded Mcafee. Mcafee had some issues installing due to Trend anti virus which I eventually managed to delete.

After that, Skype worked fine but no Internet browsers. Google Chrome will load but any site shows a 103 error. IE9 tries to load but then gives up before a window appears. I later added Firefox which just stops responding. All programs are fine in Safe Mode with networking. Chrome in normal mode will load https sites but not http. I've tried downloading and running spybot and ccleaner - no difference.

I have also tried system restore without luck. I've tried the system with all firewalls off and after removing Mcafee with their removal tool - no difference. I've also tried other things I've read but not fully understood including msconfig, winsock and things in command tk do eith ping - all ok and ipconfig.

I really hope someone can help - fed up eith late nights dealing with it.

#3 · (Edited)
As you are able to browse in Safe Mode etc. then that would suggest their installation was okay.

McAfee isn't the best of AVs and can be problematic when it comes to connectivity.

This is an active link for its uninstaller http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/MCPR.exe

Choose Save so you can run it a couple of times and it's run as a .exe from where it was downloaded to - either in Safe Mode etc. or in Normal Mode.

You're supposed to use Windows uninstall first and then run the .exe but I've gotten rid of it by just running the mcpr.exe.