Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Google search selections greyed out

This is a discussion on Google search selections greyed out within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. IE>Tools>IE Options>Connections>Be sure "Use a proxy server for your LAN" is unchecked or disabled


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2012, 09:26 AM   #21
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



IE>Tools>IE Options>Connections>Be sure "Use a proxy server for your LAN" is unchecked or disabled

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-21-2012, 05:47 AM   #22
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



That is already the case. The proxy is unchecked.

__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-21-2012, 02:22 PM   #23
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,923
OS: Win7



IE no add-on's doesn't work at all?

Are you using Vista x32 or Vista X64?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:03 PM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Correct. With all Addons disabled it does not bring up suggestions.
With shockwave flash enabled it, on some text, it brings up suggestions untill you press enter. This I can work with but it's not standard, meaning as it was and should be.
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-25-2012, 02:04 PM   #25
jeh
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
OS: xp



We also have the issue here, with a couple of pcs using IE 8 and XP. Google search works ok from the toolbar search, but has the greyed out issue when searching from the search box withing the page.
__________________
jeh is offline  
Old 07-26-2012, 01:38 AM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



I'm using Vista x32

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
IE no add-on's doesn't work at all?

Are you using Vista x32 or Vista X64?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 02:30 PM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Anyone seeing my messages please.
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-29-2012, 03:26 PM   #28
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,923
OS: Win7



Just a little stumped, I've never heard of this on a x32 browser ;)

Try changing the instant settings in Google> Google Instant doesn't work - Web Search Help
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-30-2012, 03:44 AM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



My apologies I may have this wrong.
My laptop is 32 and not 64.

Is this as I advised or am i getting it mixed up here?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 07:59 AM   #30
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



I typed something correctly into Google search on IE9 and nothing came up.
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 08:08 AM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



I did this as you suggested and it did not help.

I really appreciate you helping me.

Thank you,

dvtrv

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrench97 View Post
Just a little stumped, I've never heard of this on a x32 browser ;)

Try changing the instant settings in Google> Google Instant doesn't work - Web Search Help
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:26 AM   #32
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



This might not be the answer, but since you've tried just about everything, go to: Adobe - Flash Player : Settings Manager - Website Storage Settings panel and delete all Flash Cookies.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 01:39 PM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Not sure I'm comfortable doing this. What inpact will it have on me using the things relating to what is being deleted?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-30-2012, 01:47 PM   #34
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,923
OS: Win7



Any cookies are little files that retain settings, a few you may have set but mostly they are set based on the hardware and are used to speedup page loads by fractions of a second, once you revisit the page they will be recreated. They also contain data about what you have been searching or doing to target ads on web pages, ever notice how you research something you are looking to but be it silverware or a car and the web pages you visit start showing ads for those products?
That's from the cookies.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-31-2012, 02:39 AM   #35
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Yep get ya.
Did that but search results come up greyed out or no response to a simple word.
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 07-31-2012, 12:42 PM   #36
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,663
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



You mentioned partial success with Shockwave and other browsers. Take a look at your IE default player and try both Windows Media Player and Shockwave separately selecting each as the default. If you have any others installed (Quicktime?) delete them.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 04:22 AM   #37
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



I don't understand. How can a player have ant effect?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 09:39 AM   #38
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,923
OS: Win7



Try turning Google Safe Search off to see if that makes any difference.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 08-01-2012, 10:01 AM   #39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 70
OS: Vista



Plese can you advise me how to do this please?
__________________
dvtrv is offline  
Old 08-01-2012, 10:21 AM   #40
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,923
OS: Win7



Press the Google settings button when the settings page opens move the safe search slider to left(remember this is a test you'll need to move it back to the right later).
Below that is Google Instant predictions what is that set at now?

Wrench97 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC hijack
I have a Dell Inspiron 1545 running the 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium. It appears it's being accessed by a remote computer when connected to a network. A message pops up on the screen that it is being controlled by a remote PC, then it lists the I.P. address of the offending machine. It's slow...
triing Resolved HJT Threads 15 02-17-2012 09:29 AM
[SOLVED] Google search redirect malware
Whenever I search through Google and attempt to go to a link, I'm redirected to one of several sites that do not pertain to what I was searching for, mostly ad sites. I've set my restore date back two months, and run three different antivirus scans and removed the infections (even though the same...
omgsusannnn Resolved HJT Threads 6 08-19-2011 09:37 AM
XP Anti-Virus 2011
I have this Virus called XP Anti-Virus 2011, i restarted my computer and tryed safe mode, but the start menu wont load in any mode, i cant open Firefox to download any anti virus or anything it blocked it, all my icons/start menu is gone it just shows background. Ive tryed looking on google but...
Plus2112 Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 06-10-2011 08:34 AM
HJT log+strange google search results
Hello, Today my google search started to act up and only displays ad results. Could someone please help me resolve the problem? Here is my report: Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2 Scan saved at 4:37:05 PM, on 11/8/2008 Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet...
Kitzhof Resolved HJT Threads 21 11-16-2008 07:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts