error 12029

This is a discussion on error 12029 within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I cannot get onto internet explorer. When I ask the computer to diagnose the problem, it tells me there was


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2008, 05:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



I cannot get onto internet explorer. When I ask the computer to diagnose the problem, it tells me there was an error 12029. I am still getting my emails through outlook just fine, but I cannot surf the web. I have not installed anything new on my computer in quite some time. I can't seem to figure this out. Can anyone help?

__________________
lrichardson is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 06:03 AM   #2
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



did this problem only just start?

what firewall do you have?

what version of ie do you have?

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 09:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



It's been going on for a while. I have AVG free and Avast on my computer. I had Norton, but deleted it since I saw that others had this problem, which was caused by Norton. I have IE7 on my computer.

I went to the Add/Delete section on my control panel and noticed that the last time I used the internet was 6/4. There was one update to IE7 done on 6/4 so I deleted it. It did not help.
__________________
lrichardson is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 05:27 AM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



but what firewall do you have?

Here is a quote from an article:

Quote:
Now, one piece of advice that applies equally to AVs and firewalls. You only need one of each! Having more than one firewall and AV can cause possible conflicts and system instability. Although you may think you have more protection by having more than one of each, it could cause you problems you were not expecting.
Click Here for the original article.

So please if you have more than one Antivirus or Firewall choose the one you want to keep and use and uninstall the rest.
__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:23 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: XP SP3



Hi I am having a similar problem with my home laptop. I am using my company Laptop to send this message:

Background / Config
HOME PC / CONFIG
- DSL MODEM Netopia CAYMAN wired to a DLINK-634M wireless router
- Ive used my next-door neighbour's unsecured wireless to troubleshoot
- Ive used my company's laptop to troubleshoot also
- Norton 360 AV software re-installed after issues
- Spydoctor removed also
- Running IE7 with SP3 ( I think?)
- XP O/S


Problem Statement:
- I have verified that I can send and receive e-mails from outlook explorer
- Using my home PC I CANNOT connect to internet using IE7 or Safari or Firefox
- Cannot even connect to the DSL router box even when using a wired connection http://192.168.1.254
- ERROR : when connecting with IE7 & then running Windows XP Diagnostics, All sections pass , with the only area that errors out is HTTP / HTTPS / FTP Diagnostic : Error 12029


Steps Taken So Far
- Reset DSL Modem, Reset DLINK router, verified that access to internet is possible on this by using my company laptop( in wired ethernet or wireless mode).
- Verified that I have the problem even when using my neighbours wireless access point ( with his permission of course !)
- Attempted access with all known FIREWALL settings OFF( Box, Windows Firewall, N360)
- Attempted access with all known FIREWALL settings ON

Note: Hitherto I was able to get access to the internet but not LOG-INTO any site such as Yahoo or a secure site etc. but now no access to any IP address or website appears possible
__________________
ryue65 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 12:36 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
AquariusFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
OS: XP SP3 / Vista SP1

My System


uninstall norton 360 again using norton uninstallation software from the website.

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...03022510471206
__________________
AquariusFX is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:12 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
OS: XP SP3



Hi AquariusFX

This worked :)

Would you reccomend a different AV software? As the problem started when I had AVAST and SpyDoctor installed, Im reluctant to go back to them.

Thanks againh
__________________
ryue65 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 12:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
AquariusFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
OS: XP SP3 / Vista SP1

My System


People said NOD32 is good. But I'm using AVG-Free.
__________________
AquariusFX is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP SP2



I ran AVG Free recently and now i can not browse using IE. Mozilla is working fine but the program i need for real estate, the mls, only works with IE 6.0 or higher...plz someone helpppp me i cant work without IE.....I pinged and tried everything but to no avail is it connecting....
Here is my log...

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ip config/all
'ip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : owner-4g0ixdcxw
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1350 WLAN Mini-PCI Car
d
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-7D-0A-B2-F0
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.104
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 207.69.188.185
207.69.188.186
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 02, 2009 11:05:47 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 03, 2009 11:05:47
PM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-28-2D-CA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.111
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 207.69.188.185
207.69.188.186
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 02, 2009 11:03:46 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 03, 2009 11:03:46
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING <192.168.1.111>
The syntax of the command is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING 192.168.1.111

Pinging 192.168.1.111 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.111:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner> PING 192.168.1.111

Pinging 192.168.1.111 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.111: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.111:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner> PING 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 66ms, Maximum = 76ms, Average = 71ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING YAHOO.COM

Pinging YAHOO.COM [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=70ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 63ms, Maximum = 75ms, Average = 70ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
__________________
realtorchic is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:25 PM   #10
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 8.1



Please start your own thread thanks

__________________


“You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” ~ Jim Carrey (Ceremony speech)
Go The Power is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts