Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Can't search from IE address bar.

This is a discussion on Can't search from IE address bar. within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have IE 6.0. The problem I'm having is I can't search from the IE address bar. When I search


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2006, 11:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
OS: XP


Angry

I have IE 6.0.
The problem I'm having is I can't search from the IE address bar. When I search from the IE address bar I get "Page cannot be found".
>
> I went to Tools - Internet Options - Advanced Tab and scrolled down to
> "Search from the Address Bar". I noticed that what is checked is "Do not
> search from the address bar". So I changed it to "Just go to the most
> likely site", clicked apply, and then okay. I can then search from the
> address bar as long as I don't close IE. Once I close it and upon it back
> up again, my computer resets back to "Do not search from the address bar".
> I did the same steps but this time restarted my computer afterward but the same thing happens.

Then I went back into the Advanced tab and clicked restore defaults, apply, okay and again once I close IE and open it back up and it resets back to "Do not search from the address bar" yet again.

I can't event re-download IE 6.0 because when I try to and it has to open another page, I get that message again.

Please, there must be a guru out there that can help me. Dell can't seem to help me and I'm out on medical leave and trying to do some work from home, so I can't afford to pay the Microsoft fee.

You can reply to me here and at **********.

Thank all of you so much in advance for your help.

Jeanette

__________________
coastal89 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:54 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
DumbTerminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 428
OS: Mainly XP


Do you have any restrictions in place? I know you are at home, but is this your personal home computer, or a work laptop? I believe Spybot has a feature that disables some of IEs features. Do you use Spybot or any other Spyware guards?
__________________
DumbTerminal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts