Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Can't load hotmail, facebook, ebay etc. from any computer on network

This is a discussion on Can't load hotmail, facebook, ebay etc. from any computer on network within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, A few days ago no computer on my network could load some websites including facebook, hotmail, ebay and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2011, 02:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: vista



Hi everyone,

A few days ago no computer on my network could load some websites including facebook, hotmail, ebay and yahoo mail. For example, when trying to open hotmail.com the screen would just be white and it would say 'done' down the bottom left corner.

I've tried IE8 and firefox. My girlfriend can log into my hotmail account from her house, but I cant from the main desktop computer, my laptop or my brothers laptop (all on the same network).

Does anyone know what the problem is?

Tom

__________________
whiten is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 05:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 17
OS: MacOsx 10.6


Hi there

For a start, U might try deleting browsing histories for both browsers. If still no go, pls double check that neither browser is using proxy servers:
For IE: tools>IE options>connections>LAN settings> uncheck : use proxy

For Firefox: tools>options>advanced>network>settings> make sure that no proxy is selected

Failing this, u can do winsock reset for Windows OS

XP: start>run>cmd> netsh winsock reset
Vista and 7: start>all programs>accessories>right click on cmd promt> run as admin
Type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Please update what worked
:)

__________________
AdrianG is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 05:46 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: vista



Hey,

Thanks for the reply. I deleted the histories and caches but no luck. Neither of the browsers were using proxy servers. Then I tried doing a winsock reset as you suggested but there's no change...
__________________
whiten is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 03:00 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
OS: vista



Does anybody have any possible solutions? It's been about 4 days now.
__________________
whiten is offline  
Old 01-07-2011, 03:28 AM   #5
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 13,942
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Windows 8.1



Click Start =>All programs => Accessories right click on Comand Prompt and click Run as Administrator

Copy and paste this into the Command prompt:

netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Press Enter

Then copy and paste this in:

netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Then copy and paste this in:

netsh winsock reset catalog

Press Enter.

When finished restart your computer.

__________________


"Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going"
Go The Power is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts