Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Internet Explorer Forum

Black toolbars on ie8

This is a discussion on Black toolbars on ie8 within the Internet Explorer Forum forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have loaded ie8 several times, probably 5, and it works fine for a day or two and then the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2009, 12:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
OS: windows xp sp2



I have loaded ie8 several times, probably 5, and it works fine for a day or two and then the toolbars turn black and I can't read the titles on the toolbars. I am running xp sp3, my graphics card is up to date, Radeon X600. Someone mentioned that maybe the graphic card was not up to date. I had no problem with ie7 and can go back, but would prefer ie8. Thanks. d

__________________
hawksnest102 is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 10:26 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP



I have the same problem, black toolbars. The only way to fix it is to re-install IE8.


__________________
worachj is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 11:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP



I was able to restore the toolbars to their proper color by changing the theme to windows classic and then back to my modified theme. It’s working for now. You can change the theme by going to the control panel or by right clicking on the desktop => properties.
__________________
worachj is offline  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:01 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3



Seem to have found a fix on M$ support website. Installed fix and toolbars are restored. If they disappear again I will report.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/962963
__________________
Scherry is offline  
Old 04-28-2009, 08:28 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP



Thanks for the link Scherry! I applied the fix.

Strange thing is I haven’t had the problem since I toggled the theme between classic and my modified theme. In the pass when the problem occurred I had to re-install IE8 to fix it.

Thanks again!
__________________
worachj is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:04 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3



FYI: this was a temporay fix... my toolbar is black again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scherry View Post
Seem to have found a fix on M$ support website. Installed fix and toolbars are restored. If they disappear again I will report.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/962963
__________________
Scherry is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 04:45 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Scherry View Post
Seem to have found a fix on M$ support website. Installed fix and toolbars are restored. If they disappear again I will report.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/962963
I applied this fix, nothing changed for me
__________________
lostandbewilder is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:34 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by lostandbewilder View Post
I applied this fix, nothing changed for me
It only worked intermittently for me so I finally deleted 8 and reverted to IE7. Sorry I didn't post sooner.
__________________
Scherry is offline  
Old 11-15-2009, 01:57 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45
OS: VistaPremium



Lucky you, wish I had black a toolbar...
__________________
ss999 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:25 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
OS: XP Pro



Open services, change themes service to disabled or manual start.

i thought i had it disabled already.. but at least its fixed now
__________________
georgethepirate is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 08:22 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
deshmukh.jit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: India
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7


Send a message via MSN to deshmukh.jit Send a message via Yahoo to deshmukh.jit

Try to reset the IE to default settings by going to Tools meny >Internet Properties > Advanced > Click Reset.


Hope your issue will be resolved...

__________________
deshmukh.jit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts