Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Design Forum > Web Design & Development

How to make a macro/auto typer?

This is a discussion on How to make a macro/auto typer? within the Web Design & Development forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm not 100% sure if this is the right place for the question, so feel free to move it.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2008, 06:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Hello, I'm not 100% sure if this is the right place for the question, so feel free to move it.

I work on excel everyday working on a database for a website which sells car parts. I have to organize data into a certain format in excel. There are some things that i do that are the exact same thing, over and over. I was wondering if I would be able to run a macro/bot of some sort that can do this for me, faster.

For example, i want a bot to press:
cntrl+c (copy)
alt+tab (change windows)
ctrl+f (find)
cntrl+v (paste)
enter (find the text)
click (on the close button on find window)
cnrl+c (copy found text)
alt tab (change windows)
cntrl+v (paste over text)
alt tab (change windows)
click (on the change color button in excel)
alt tab (change back)
arrow down (go to next entry)

then repeat again, over and over.

If anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated. Im pretty sure this is possible, but i have no experience in programming and such.

If you can't help, any other forum recommendations where i can ask this question would be helpful

Thanks.

-Matt

__________________
gamermatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:20 AM   #2
Design Team
 
jamiemac2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 2,256
OS: Win7, Ubuntu.



Hey, i have a suggestion for you but it may not be amazing(if you don't have the time to read the getting started for the language)...

I use an interpreted language program thing called AutoHotkey which can do what you want it to do(Possibly more intelligently[e.g. instead of just "alt+tab"ing it can open the window with a certain title(excel)] and instead of just "Ctrl+c"/"Ctrl+v"ing it can access the clipboard directly)...

It's simple to learn if you understand any other programming language (even if not it just takes a little more time)...

Anyway the link is here (there is also a macro recorder for this language):

http://www.autohotkey.com/

Read the quickstart (and try using/looking for the macro recorder[in the program folder you install it to])

If you don't want to use that there is a simpler macro record/play utility i used to use called MacroXP but AutoHotkey is generally more intelligent(as described above)...

If you need any more help then post back

Cheers,
Jamey

__________________
jamiemac2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 08:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Thanks a lot, that is exactly what i was looking for. I'll look into it. :)

thanks!
__________________
gamermatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 10:14 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
OS: xp



ok so i believe i made a script for what i need, but i wanted to know a way to activate the script while already in excel. is there a hotkey of some sort to start the script?

If you could skim this over and tell me if it looks right:

Loop 100
{
Send ^c!{tab}^f^v{enter}{Esc}{Right}{Right}^c!{tab}^v!{tab}
Click 1239, 67
!{tab}{Down}
}
__________________
gamermatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 10:18 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Never mind, i just added this to the beginning of the script to ask me if i want to continue. when the message comes up, i can then select my window.

MsgBox, 4, , Would you like to continue?
IfMsgBox, No
return
; Otherwise, the user picked yes.
MsgBox You pressed YES.
__________________
gamermatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 10:43 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
OS: xp



Here is the completed script, but it does'nt seem to be doing what i want it to do... i guess ill have to mess around with it more

MsgBox, 4, , Would you like to continue?
IfMsgBox, No
return
; Otherwise, the user picked yes.
MsgBox You pressed YES.

Loop 100
{
Send ^c!{tab}^f^v{enter}{Esc}{Right 2}^c!{tab}^v!{tab}{Click 1239, 67}!{tab}{Down}
}

__________________
gamermatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts