Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The Relaxation Room > Offline

Why does Microsoft come out with new operating systems so often?

This is a discussion on Why does Microsoft come out with new operating systems so often? within the Offline forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. How Do they make money by putting out new OS that there is no compatible software for? Thanks in advance.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2008, 10:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


How Do they make money by putting out new OS that there is no compatible software for?

Thanks in advance.

__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 11:31 AM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,077
OS: XP, Win 7



This sounds like a "What is the meaning of life" question . . What operating system have they come out with that there was no compatible software for????

Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


By the time XP came out windows 2000 worked. By the time they got the bugs out of XP, Vista 32 bit came out. I got Vista 32 bit when it was about 3 months old. There was about a handful of programs that were compatible. Now that vista 32 bit is over a year old, they come out with Vista 64 bit. There is very few programs that are compatible with it.
__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:31 PM   #4
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,207
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Femme Fatale View Post
B. Now that vista 32 bit is over a year old, they come out with Vista 64 bit. There is very few programs that are compatible with it.
vista 64 was released at the same tim as vista 32. I installed it the first week and every program I have and installed since works with it.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 10:40 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


sobeit, Please name the programs that work with vista 64 bit.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:40 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
sandman55's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,745
OS: Win 7 Home Premium



I could also ask the question Why do they have so many versions of an operating system when they could put it all on one.
__________________



To err is human but to really mess things up, you need a computer.
sandman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:13 AM   #7
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,207
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Femme Fatale View Post
sobeit, Please name the programs that work with vista 64 bit.

Thanks in advance.
you got to be kidding, I dont know every program that works with 64 but I would guess a majority of them will. I know every program I installed on my computer including the browser I am using to type this message works. If you want to know more, go to google and see if the programs you have will work with it.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:19 AM   #8
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 17,207
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman55 View Post
I could also ask the question Why do they have so many versions of an operating system when they could put it all on one.
they did this with vista, the vista dvd carries them all, just need the proper key to activate.

I guess the reason for the different versions is for the different needs. Thats why theres rumors the next version of windows will be modular in nature and you would only purchased what you need.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:51 AM   #9
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,077
OS: XP, Win 7



Why does the sun come up in the East????
Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 12:28 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeit View Post
I dont know every program that works with 64 but I would guess a majority of them will. I know every program I installed on my computer including the browser I am using to type this message works. If you want to know more, go to google and see if the programs you have will work with it.
I read on another board that people had a hard time finding programs that were compatible with vista 64 bit.
__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 12:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Femme Fatale View Post
sobeit, Please name the programs that work with vista 64 bit.

Thanks in advance.
I meant the programs that you have.
__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:47 PM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


This thread is a 32bit vs 64bit question. Old 16 bit programs won't work on Windows 64bit operating systems and you'll need 64bit drivers for all your hardware. The same can be told about XP 64bit. Recent programs will work fine but good luck finding 64bit drivers for your 5 years old printer.

Mainstream will stay 32bit for many years to come (Windows 7 will still have a 32bit version), you didn't have to go 64bit unless you had strong reasons for doing so.

Vista 64bit is not the successor of Vista 32bit, it's meant to be used with specific programs that are optimised to work in 64bit and to take advantage of the added features and memory.

The programs that worked properly in Windows 2000 (not talking about dos programs here) should work properly in Vista 32bit. That being said, those programs also get updated with time, there's no reason to run an older insecure version of a program when the latest one got its security flaws fixed and was optimised for the new operating systems.
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:59 PM   #13
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


will this work in a 64bit enviroment


hahaha stop flaming......
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 01:56 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Femme Fatale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 137
OS: windows 7 home premium

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassingby View Post
This thread is a 32bit vs 64bit question. Old 16 bit programs won't work on Windows 64bit operating systems and you'll need 64bit drivers for all your hardware. The same can be told about XP 64bit. Recent programs will work fine but good luck finding 64bit drivers for your 5 years old printer.

Mainstream will stay 32bit for many years to come (Windows 7 will still have a 32bit version), you didn't have to go 64bit unless you had strong reasons for doing so.
Most CPU's over $500, sold today are vista 64 bit.
Quote:
Vista 64bit is not the successor of Vista 32bit, it's meant to be used with specific programs that are optimised to work in 64bit and to take advantage of the added features and memory.

The programs that worked properly in Windows 2000 (not talking about dos programs here) should work properly in Vista 32bit.
I got vista 32 bit when it was about 3 months old. Most of the software that I was used to, did not work with vista 32 bit.

Thanks for replying.
__________________
Femme Fatale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 03:21 AM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Femme Fatale View Post
Most CPU's over $500, sold today are vista 64 bit.
Not in my experience. What shop(s) are you refering to ? What brand and models of computer ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Femme Fatale View Post
I got vista 32 bit when it was about 3 months old. Most of the software that I was used to, did not work with vista 32 bit.
I bet the updated versions of those softwares do work on Vista now. What programs are we talking about ?
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 03:41 AM   #16
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,530
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

My System


$20 and this cpu has vista 64 capabilities
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104006
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 03:50 AM   #17
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Don't confuse CPU's and computers, I'm sure Femme Fatale meant computers.

With OEM installations you should be given the choice between 32bit and 64bit when you buy. Most people who buy a system with Vista Home Premium or Vista Ultimate and want to use older programs should order the 32bit version. The issue is not with Vista but with the 64bit support. This is taken from Microsoft's website :
Quote:
if (...) you're mostly interested in running a couple programs, or if you have older hardware and software that isn't supported by a 64-bit PC, then a 32-bit PC is a good choice.
source : http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...ns/64-bit.aspx
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:22 AM   #18
In & out... very busy
 
stressfreesoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,876
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


In my experience, 64 bit is for designers, programmers, CAD workers and fussy tech boffins that have to have everything. 64bit isn't necessary for everyday tasks. Almost all software has either a 64bit alternative, or is compatible (maybe after a patch/fix if not at first). Companies that sell their own machines usually give the option of operating system, those made by small computer shops dont usually come with anything, unless you ask for it.
__________________
"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut"
stressfreesoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:00 AM   #19
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


you don't need 64-bit for daily tasks. All major OS's have 64-bit versions (including XP). 64-bit hasn't been widely adopted yet, so you don't find many programs compatible with it. as jpb said, it's only used for running programs that need special 64-bit features. in short, if you don't know what's the difference between 64-bit and 32-bit, then 64-bit isn't for you.
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:09 AM   #20
Awesom-O 4000
 
l_b_rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,241
OS: Vista Home Premium 32 bit



64 bit vista and 32 bit vista came out at the same time. Oem companies released the 32 bit versions months before the 64 bit versions in retail stores. That is a fact. And a processor that says 64 bit does not mean it is meant for a 64 bit operating system. It just means it can support a 64 bit OS.

And yes, many programs will not work. Programs that were made for windows 95 and 98 are highly unlikely to work. Also those little cds in the fruit loop boxes are not meant for Vista. The major software companies have for the most part release either an update or ability to buy new retail copies for Vista.

The main complaint I hear about is Quick Books not working and to my knowledge it does not work on Vista.

Any user that is a simple internet surfing/email kind of normal user should be purchasing computers with Vista 32-bit.

Vista does have a capatibility mode for some programs but I don't know how to doit. I think you right click the program and select the "Capatibility" tab and change it there. That will only affect the one program, not your whole computer.

__________________
l_b_rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts