Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The Relaxation Room > Offline

Power outage

This is a discussion on Power outage within the Offline forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Been just about 7 days now without grid power. Still no grid power, been operating off a generator for the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2011, 07:11 AM   #1
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,824
OS: xp



Been just about 7 days now without grid power. Still no grid power, been operating off a generator for the last 6 days.

New England had a devastating snow storm in October. Not that it was anything out of the ordinary for snow storms. We get them all the time in NE. But because most of the leaves were still on the trees and the snow was exceptionally heavy, it brought down a lot of limbs and some trees. The branches in turn brought down the power lines and made a lot of roads impassible.

One of the main transmission lines to the substation in my area was ripped off the insulator and fell into the river. That was the main thing that killed power to the area. Now that it is reconnected they have to go by area to area to see if the circuits can be energized.

Some of the towns people have had their power restored, I am not amongst them.

__________________
Leo G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:32 AM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,845
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Bummer !

I was out six days back in Sep 08. Being with out for 1 day is livable but after that first, I fired up my 3500w generator. I ran it about 1 hour on for 2
off, had to keep the food cold.

Since the weather was nice cooked out a lot. We had our morning coffee every day thanks to my one burner kerosene cook top.

At least you got internet!

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,824
OS: xp



I'd have it anyway. I can use my phone as a modem.

Not conserving anything. I now have access to gasoline as the power is slowly being restored by the major roads, the ones that have few trees.

Plus it's the weekend and I don't feel like conserving. Turned the genny on at about 8am and will run it all day as long as someone is home. Got 16 hours out of the last tank of gas, about 6 gallons.

The weather is OK during the day,mid 40's to mid 50's. Nighttime temps dropped into the lower 20's last night but lately it has been in the 30's just above freezing. One night didn't go below 45, only lost 2 degrees in the house. Most nights I loose 6-7 degrees.



This sucks
__________________
Leo G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:49 AM   #4
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,266
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



You guys STILL don;t have any power?
What ya got Virginia Dominion power working on it?
__________________

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:03 AM   #5
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,824
OS: xp



No, we have CL&P working on the problem, probably pretty similar to your experiences

Power came back last night at 7pm. So I was without grid power for 7 days and 2 hours. The only things I couldn't operate, and only because I didn't try to set them up, were my washer, dryer and stove. The rest of the house was pretty much functional.

The people around me though had no generators and a lot of them moved to friends and family with heat and/or power.
__________________
Leo G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:17 AM   #6
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,266
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



Nope you didn't have the same issue I did, when my power goes out its either somebody from down in Carolina or Tennessee that gets it back on Dom Va Pwr can't even find my neighborhood
__________________

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:42 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 3,306
OS: xp



On a little brighter note, the next bill will be lower.

On a lower note, they'll probably want a rate increase to pay for all the repairs.
__________________
bruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 12:21 PM   #8
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,824
OS: xp



I am deducting my generator fuel from the bill 7 days at 6 gallons a day. Plus when they try to charge me transmission costs at my shop.....
__________________
Leo G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:14 PM   #9
Automotive Team
Moderator
 
wolfen1086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rainey, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 10,266
OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by bruiser View Post
On a little brighter note, the next bill will be lower.

On a lower note, they'll probably want a rate increase to pay for all the repairs.

Just to add my 2 cents about them raising rates to pay for repairs (not a rant)
If they do that its one big load of crap.....another lie.....just more of making somebody else rich at our expence.

__________________

Hampton Roads Virginia, I've been around the rock three times and this place was NOT on my top ten list of places to live
wolfen1086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
canon hf200 - won't power up correctly - reset won't now work
I have a slightly different problem - I have a Legria HF200 . It has worked fine, then one day I got it out and tried to power it up - the lens cover opened, the zoom went in and out and the viewing screen went all blue only - then zilch. It will not even power off unless you remove power lead/...
daguerrotype Photographer's Corner 2 03-03-2012 12:57 PM
PC hard to turn back on after power outage!!!
Hi First I am not sure if should post this in this forum or under hardware problems as I am not sure where the problem is coming from.MY apologies if this isn't the correct forum, moderator please move to correct forum. I own a HP computer and have been very pleased with it. I am running...
vaindioux Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 06-26-2011 01:02 PM
Basic computer troubleshooting
This is intended to be a cumulative message to help people follow basic troubleshooting and as a reference for other threads. This is NOT the definitive answer, but is a good starting point. Administrators feel free to add/modify as necessary. Note: These are based on the assumption your...
c_robertson Motherboards, Bios & CPU 0 01-18-2011 09:53 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts