Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows 10 Support


Windows 10 will not boot

This is a discussion on Windows 10 will not boot within the Windows 10 Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey folks, My wife's laptop (Lenovo 17.3" Y700 (80Q0006VUS) Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 16


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2017, 10:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



Hey folks,

My wife's laptop
(Lenovo 17.3" Y700 (80Q0006VUS) Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 1 TB HDD Windows 10 Home Gaming Laptop)
suddenly stopped booting the other day. We created a bootable USB stick as this thing has no DVD drive. That gets us into the utilities, but repair fails. We've been going around and around on this for a couple of days and I'm hoping someone can just start me at the beginning. My tech level is maybe 5/10.

Thanks in advance!
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2017, 01:59 AM   #2
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,106
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


What type of repair, and when the repair fails, any error messages?

Is the hard drive recognized in the BIOS.
__________________




CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



When I let it attempt to boot on its own:
Error: 0xc000000e
Message: A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed.

Options: Enter to try again (doesn't work)
F8 for Startup Settings (doesn't work)

Boot from USB:
Startup repair says Diagnosing and Checking disk for errors. Startup Repair couldn't repair your PC. No separate error code. Log file: C:\windows\system32\logfiles\srt\srttrail.txt

Use a device > Lenovo Recovery System does not work either.

cmd > list volume gives:
Vol 0 Ltr C Windows NTFS 189 GB Healthy
Vol 1 Ltr D LENOVO NTFS 25 GB Healthy
Vol 2 Ltr None SYSTEM_DRV FAT32 260 MB Healthy
Vol 3 Ltr None WINRE_DRV NTFS 1000 MB Healthy
Vol 4 Ltr G LENOVO_PART NTFS 21 GB Healthy
Vol 5 Ltr E DATA NTFS 931 GB Healthy
Vol 6 Ltr F ESD-USB FAT32 3840 MB Healthy
Vol 7 Ltr None LRS_ESP FAT32 1000 MB Healthy

Does that answer your question? Thank you!
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:26 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Use Windows USB Flash Drive and boot. Choose your Language.Select option to Repair Your Computer instead of installing.
Press Shift + F10 to go to the Command Prompt immediately

In the command prompt first determine which drive has the OS on it, it may not be C: At command prompt (x: sources) type this exactly as written:
bcdedit |find “osdevice” (Must inc and the |), the | before Find is the Upper case \ key) press enter. This will tell you what drive letter the OS is on.It may not be on the C: drive. Once you have determined which drive the OS is on, then type the Drive letter (ie) D: (or whatever)
and press Enter
at this prompt type the following commands press enter after each one to repair MBR.
bootrec /fixmbr
bootrec /fixboot
bootrec /rebuildbcd
Press [y] when system asks you to accept.
type Exit, restart the computer.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



bcd |find "osdevice" yields osdevice partition=C:

bootrec /fixmbr completes successfully.

bootrec /fixboot completes successfully.

bootrec /rebuildbcd says "Successfully scanned Windows installations. Total identified Windows installations: 0 The operation completed successfully."

Additional info: I had purchased this EasyRE essentials .iso and made a USB out of it. In case you're not familiar, this has an auto repair tool as well. Basically you have to select the drive with the Windows installation. From the info online, it looks like you should see your drives and then something like Windows 10 64-bit on C: When I use that tool, I can see D: which is just a data drive and I don't see C: at all, let alone a repairable Windows installation.

Please bear with my response delay as I'm on GMT-9. Thank you!
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:47 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Just to reconfirm in the Windows RE(Recovery Environment) from the Windows install X:\sources Command Prompt.
Type C: and enter.
at the C:\> prompt type DIR and press enter, do you see a Windows directory? If not, at the prompt type D: and press enter etc and type DIR. whichever drive has the Windows directory is the OS drive. Type those commands at that prompt and restart normally.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 01:17 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



I see a Windows directory under C:, yes.
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 01:57 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Did you run the Bootrec commands from the C: prompt?

If bootrec /RebuildBcd does not fix the error, you can also try to completely rebuild the BCD. TO do so, you need to run these steps:
  1. Type this command: bcdedit /export C:\BCDBackup
  2. Type c:, where c: is where your Windows is installed
  3. Type cd boot
  4. Type this command: attrib bcd -s -h -r
  5. Type this command: ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
  6. Type this command: bootrec /RebuildBcd
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 10:17 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



I ran the bootrec commands again from C: just to check. I got the same thing... 0 identified Windows installations.

  1. Type this command: bcdedit /export C:\BCDBackup Successful
  2. Type c:, where c: is where your Windows is installed
  3. Type cd boot gives C:\>Boot>
  4. Type this command: attrib bcd -s -h -r File not found - bcd
  5. Type this command: ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old Cannot find specified file
  6. Type this command: bootrec /RebuildBcd 0 Windows installations
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 12:08 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Well, look like the Boot file got corrupted or wiped.
Lenovo has a Novo Button. For one button Restore to Factory Settings. https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/HT062552
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 03:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



OK I hit the Novo button. It gives me an option menu like this.

When I hit System Recovery, I get error 0xc000000e, unexpected error has occurred.
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 07:52 PM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 11,828
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I think you will have to run checkdisk on the hard drive.
Follow earlier instructions to get to "Repair Your Computer" and choose the cmd prompt and then point to "c" drive and enter c:\, and click Next
Write the following command and press Enter afterwards: chkdsk C: /r
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 09:41 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



On, F12, boot from USB, repair computer, cmd, then

C:\>chkdsk C: /r gives:

The type of file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk may run if this volume is dismounted first. ALL OPENED HANDLES TO THIS VOLUME WOULD THEN BE INVALID. Would you like to force a dismount on this volume?
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 07:57 AM   #14
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 11,828
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Yes you have to dismount it first to do so.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 10:15 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



OK dismounted. Chkdsk seemed to proceed normally.

I'm not going to type all of that unless someone specifically needs it. The last bit says "Windows has scanned the file system and found no problems" and "0 KB in bad sectors" and "Failed to transfer logged messages to the event log with status 50".

Should I restart at this point?
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 12:59 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Yes, restart and see how it goes.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 01:41 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



Same error on restart (0xc000000e). Booted back to USB.

After making changes, I don't need to go back to the default UEFI settings for restarting, correct? I can leave it on Legacy mode?
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 01:56 PM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36,462
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Yes, Looks like you will have to reinstall Windows
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 02:09 PM   #19
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 11,828
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Yeah I leave all mine on legacy, too much of a pain to set back and I don't feel it makes anything difficult except for the user trying to fix it.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 03:01 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
OS: Windows 10



OK so I went into install Windows, formatted the SSD partition where the previous Windows installation should have been and then started the install. The computer restarted itself at some point during the installation and I got the same error when it rebooted on its own.

After another restart, and just for kicks, I selected the Windows Boot Manager as the boot source. This gave me a black screen and the following:
"BIInitializeLibrary failed 0xc00000bb".

Back into boot from USB, there is an option to "Use another operating system". This indicates that there are 2 Windows 10 installations on Disk 0 (SSD), Volume 3. Trying to boot from either one of these gives me the same error.

Couple of questions here...
1. could this be some sort of communication issue with the SSD? Or an outright failure? This is an M.2 in a 1 year old computer...
2. If I installed Windows on D: (currently just data), is that going to wipe the contents of that drive (there is plenty of free space on D:)
leftworld88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESET threats
In earlier message, and in continuation of another thread on another conmuter I started a thread stating that having tried ESET it had found a number of threats which i will mention at the end. meanwhile I ran DDS abnd will add the the logs. Gmer found rootkit activity but when I ran the scan on...
qimqim Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 12-13-2013 07:22 PM
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
happili.com virus
Hi, I wrote yesterday that believe i have the happili.com virus and cannot remove it. I was told to follow the pre-post instructions. However, I could not run dds.scr. It would open ans tell me to wait. It said the scan should not last more than 3 minutes. But it never ended and I could not close...
sharkfan12 Resolved HJT Threads 23 04-17-2012 12:38 PM
Probably Phished; Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while"verifying startup pr
Hi there, E here. Probably got Phished while signing into redbox.com located via google search vice saved link :( Multiple Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while "verifying startup programs" forcing reboot; linking attach.zip to post also froze pc requiring reboot. 2nd attempt at...
ebernheisel Resolved HJT Threads 50 09-29-2011 11:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com