Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Android OS

Possible to install Win on Android tablet

This is a discussion on Possible to install Win on Android tablet within the Android OS forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, newbie here to ask help. Hope post at right place. Got a tablet recently, but found most Win apps


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2011, 03:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
OS: xp



Hi, newbie here to ask help. Hope post at right place.
Got a tablet recently, but found most Win apps have no compatible version to run on tablet. So, I want to reboot the tablet pc and install a Win 7 version because also noticed there are some Win tablet. It would work in the way, isnt' it?
The tablet got from a chinese online store, the link to the item is here.

__________________
Windyfly is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,229
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Hi and welcome to TSF

I would say no, your system only meets the minium requirements to run Win7.

Download the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor :

Free Download PC Upgrade Advisor Windows 7 Hardware Programs Issues

BG

__________________

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 12:27 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
OS: xp



Thanks Basementgeek, really appreciated.
I will download and see it work or not.
Also contact the manufacturer, they said probably would not support the Window os due to the hardware spec., is so? are these Android Tablet all can't run Window os?
__________________
Windyfly is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 05:08 AM   #4
Team Manager
-Microsoft Support
-Home Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 13,954
OS: Windows 8.1



Hello Windyfly,

I would recommend reading over this website to be able to find a tablet that would run Win7:

Windows Tablet
__________________


"Motivation is what gets you started, Habit is what keeps you going"
Go The Power is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 04:41 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



The android tablets run the Android OS.

Windows tablets run Windows OS.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 02-18-2011, 12:17 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
OS: WINDOWS XP



Windows usually comes inbuilt on the tablet.
__________________
Sarah Newton is offline  
Old 02-18-2011, 08:45 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah Newton View Post
Windows usually comes inbuilt on the tablet.
If it's a Windows tablet. The tablet he linked to clearly says Android OS.

So it comes inbuilt with Android.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 02-19-2011, 01:16 AM   #8
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


I have Googled 'Windows on Android' and found many people asking the same question. I could not find any replies saying yes or detailing how it is done.

I can only presume that it is not possible
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 12:05 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
pharoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5,516
OS: Windows 7 pro 64 bit

My System

I have heard of android being ported to x86,but not the other way around.also the hardware on most android tablets couldn't handle windows

Sent from my augen gentouch78 android tablet via tapatalk
pharoah is offline  
Old 02-22-2011, 07:06 AM   #10
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


Thanks for that Pharoah - It sort of confirms that windows is a no-no on Android machines

__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Can't install win Xp PRO sp2 or sp3[FRESH HD]
I have both windows sp2 and 3 and I can't install them on a pc with new hard disk. I format it and the setup successfully copies all the files. After the reboot windows loading, and then I see a light blue color screen and a mouse pointer which I can move. If I restart it, I get message " Setup is...
DarioGi Windows XP Support 10 01-15-2011 07:46 AM
How do install both win 7 and server 2003 OS in sony notebook ?
Hi Friends, I bought new Sony 64bit with win7 notebook recently (which I can back up the OS ). Now I need to install server 2003 as additional OS. When I do partition and installing 2003, not able to open win 7, it’s missing. Hope as per my understanding, bootable files are overweighting with...
sri_01 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 01-02-2011 11:50 PM
How can I perform a complete format of c: drive for a new install of win 7 ultimate?
I would like to know if someone could tell me how to do a complete format of the c: drive. I want to completely clean up this drive to allow a completely new install of windows 7 ultimate. Most of the drives on a Dell, HP, Compaq, etc have proprietary software installed that is difficult to erase...
rocknroller Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 01-02-2011 09:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts