Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Smart Devices > Apple iOS

[SOLVED] My iPod Touch 2G is literally useless now?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] My iPod Touch 2G is literally useless now? within the Apple iOS forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have an iPod Touch 2G (iOS 4.2.1) and every time I want an app, it says that the app


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2012, 01:20 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I have an iPod Touch 2G (iOS 4.2.1) and every time I want an app, it says that the app only supports iOS 4.3. Now I know that the second generation of iPod Touch can only go up to iOS 4.2.1 but does that necessarily make my iPod useless? Is there any sort of workaround to get these apps to work? Is there a website where I can download the older versions of these apps (the ones which support iOS 4.2.1)?

Also, whenever I open Maps and click the arrow button on the bottom of my screen, I get a message saying that my location could not be determined, although Location Services are turned on in Settings. I can still browse other locations using Maps, but it just won't detect my current location.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2012, 10:17 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Unfortunately this is one of the many downsides of owning an Apple product.

Apple won't allow you to update to the latest iOS and they leave you behind. The reason for doing so is so you go out and buy a new iPod.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:53 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Damn :(
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:52 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



you can jailbreak it and see if there are apps from sources other than apple. however if the touch is anything like my iphone 2g, it will be slow.
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:11 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I'm encountering a problem with jailbreaking. Can you help me out or should I look for another forum?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:30 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


What program did you use to jailbreak? What error showed?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:29 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I've tried using Green Poison, Snowbreeze as well as Redsnow but none of them worked.

NOTE: I have iOS 4.2.1 and an MC model and Windows XP SP3 on my system

1. Green poision: I got the Loader app on my iPod and when I started it, it began downloading Cydia. But when the download reached 49% it suddenly started 'Extracting files' and then I got a warning saying that the drive space on my iPod is low and I should delete some photos and videos. But iTunes shows that 6.73 GB of space is still free (i.e. it's absolutely empty). After the warning, I got the Cydia app on my home screen too. I restarted my iPod and then when I opened Cydia, I got a message saying 'Initializing Filesystem' and then it crashed and my iPod got locked.

2. Redsnow - Gets stuck on the 'Exploiting using steak4uce' function. I used Redsnow version 0.9.14b2.

3. Snowbreeze - It created custom firmware after detecting my device and iOS but when I try Shift + Restore and choose that custom firmware, iTunes gives me Error 3194
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 05:23 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


The normal thing to do is to do a factory reset of the ipod before you go to jailbreak it.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:55 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Okay I finally did by following the instructions in this video: how to jailbreak ipod touch 2g MC MODEL!! (redsn0w) - YouTube
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:47 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


But most apps like Dtunes or Bossprefs Safari DL control crash as soon as I open them?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:35 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


It may be a problem with Cydia since your iPod is so old.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:12 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Is there a place where I can get older versions of apps so that I can get them to work with my iPod? Too bad Installous shut down :(
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 01:52 PM   #13
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Installous is a illgeal service and it is recommended not to use it.

Most app makers do not make a back-dated app. So no.

For your next buy I highly recommend buying a Samsung Galaxy Player.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:24 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Are there any restrictions and downsides to using an Android phone? Restrictions that would cause problems similar to the one I'm facing with my iPod Touch?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:53 AM   #15
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


The only restrictions I would see if not being able to update to the latest and greatest OS.

But the stock one will work for years to come and still support apps.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:42 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


But what about this guide here:

How to manually upgrade an Android smartphone or tablet - PC Advisor ?
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:00 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


And whenever I open maps and press the arrow on the bottom left side of the screen, I get an error saying 'Cannot determine location' but my Location Services are on and I can navigate and use the map.
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 12:17 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
Akshay Dwivedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 583
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I'm thinking of going for this mobile:

Karbonn A30 - Karbonn: Flipkart.com
Akshay Dwivedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 09:23 AM   #19
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 36,026
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


That will work. Its better then anything Apple makes
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating iPod Touch 4 to iOS 5 - Lost Media
I went to install iOS 5 on my iPod Touch 4, but when I got the message, "All your media and other data will be erased, and the newest version of the iPod software will be installed," I hit the cancel button. Then I noticed on the screen of my iPod Touch was the iTunes logo with the USB cable and an...
myopix Apple iOS 2 11-08-2011 09:31 PM
[SOLVED] iPod Touch not recognizing computers
For about a week now, my third gen. iPod Touch hasn't been reacting in any way when connected to a computer. I tried two different computers and it always appears as "unknown device" in the device manager. I tried after resetting the iPod, still no reaction from the iPod touch. I even tried both...
Veke Apple iOS 1 04-13-2011 10:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com