Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

XP computer won't connect to an existing network/internet/router.

This is a discussion on XP computer won't connect to an existing network/internet/router. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just reformatted my computer that was already connected to the same network. Wired into the back of the router.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2009, 02:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
OS: XP SP2



I just reformatted my computer that was already connected to the same network. Wired into the back of the router.

Now when I go to set up the network with the same workgroup connecting exactly the same to the old network like it was before. It does nothing. It acts as though it completes but it shows no computers in the workgroup and doesn't connect to the internet.

Running XP SP2.

I don't understand because nothing has changed since last time.

Router is Netcomm NB5Plus 4W.
There are 2 wired PC's both running XP SP2.
AND several wireless notebooks 2 running Vista and one MAC.

__________________
Ashh_RA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 03:58 AM   #2
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,322
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


You don't state it so we have to ask.
Does the interface card show up, correct and enabled, in device manager? If not, reinstall the driver.

Open a command prompt and type: ipconfig /all and post the results here.

__________________
gcavan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 01:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
OS: XP SP2



The network adaptor 1394 net adaptor appears to be fine and installed. Is that the interface card. There is nothing else that appears relevant in device manager.

Ipconfig/all returns:

Windows ip configuration





And that's all it's blank under that. Just those three words.
__________________
Ashh_RA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 06:18 AM   #4
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,322
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Quote:
The network adaptor 1394 net adaptor appears to be fine and installed. Is that the interface card. .
No this is your onboard firewire adapter

In device manager, do you see several 'unknown devices' or some such?

After you reinstalled Windows, did you reinstall your motherboard drivers?
__________________
gcavan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts