Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

WRT160nv3 router wireless connectivity problems

This is a discussion on WRT160nv3 router wireless connectivity problems within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Today, my connection started acting funny and now it stopped working. I can use when I use it with ethernet


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



Today, my connection started acting funny and now it stopped working. I can use when I use it with ethernet cable but doesn't work when I connected it wirelessly. I tried resetting the router and have been trying many solutions but cannot solve this problem. I have a WRt160nv3 router with v3.0.0.02 firmware. Please reply ASAP with some suggestions I can try out

__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:11 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi dipalp95 - Welcome to TSF,

Have you tried to Power Cycle your devices?

Are you using a 3rd party software to wireless connect?

Please remove all wireless profiles stored from your computer and re-connect to her wireless network, make sure that you have the correct encryption needed if your wireless is secured. Here's a complete guide.

If none of the above works pls. provide an ipconfig /all:
Click on Start => in run or search box type cmd , Run as Admin and press enter. From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen or Command prompt then choose Select All and Paste the results here.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



I have used this router for 2 years and had minor problems but not one big like this. :(

here's the info...

C:\Users\DipaL>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dipal-HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte
r
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-E9-2B-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-EB-69-00-68-70
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4981:7157:b8e5:bf68%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 04, 2011 6:44:28 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 06, 2011 6:44:28 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 247990953
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-E2-EA-BD-60-EB-69-00-68-70

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
68.87.71.230
68.87.73.246
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:10e9:1ff0:b83f:a878(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10e9:1ff0:b83f:a878%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{1E922D7F-C69C-4AD7-A561-EDD823D659F2}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{A9E69046-4B35-4ED2-BFB6-2CF003180388}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:26 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for the ipconfig /all info.
Have you also tried my initial recommedations in Post# 2, all of them?

And your answer regarding this - 'Are you using a 3rd party software to wireless connect?'

Is this a laptop or desktop? There's an issue here, - a 'Media Disconnected' issue
Quote:
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-E9-2B-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:28 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



i tried your suggestions already and this is a laptop, since i can't connect wirelessly I am currently on my ethernet cable
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:29 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for verifying.

Does the laptop has an On/Off switch on the side to activate the wireless connection?

Have you tried the combination FN key + either F1, F2 or F8 to activate the wireless?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:30 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



yep there is on and off wireless key and currently it is on and I don't think the problem is in the computer because, my xbox 360 doesn't connect either...
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:33 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



From your initial post, you have mentioned this 'I tried resetting the router'. Did you mean RESET to factory default and reconfigure everything?

Is your network encrypted? If it is, please remove it for now.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:35 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



yes I did the hard 30-30-30 reset and reconfigured everything... are you asking me to change to no security?
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:41 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yes, change to No Security for now. While you're on the router's Control Panel, verify that your Wireless is enabled and SSID is broadcasting.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



yes I did as you said
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:49 PM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



From your wireless computer pls. install and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
Click on the 'Show Networks' to display all wireless networks on the xirrus icon on your desktop of if you have one running in a corner. Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.

Also, is there another laptop that you can try to wireless connect to your router?

Do you have the latest firmware for your router?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:59 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



I don't have another laptop to connect from but I can confidently say that the problem is in the router.

I don't know if I have the latest firmware, I probably don't because I never downloaded one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	network.JPG
Views:	32
Size:	179.1 KB
ID:	87846  
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:05 PM   #14
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



Is Linksys your SSID? so it's broadcasting. It's better to change your SSID other than the name of your router for security reason. You may go ahead and put the WPA2 back to secure your network.

I would highly recommend for you to download the most current firmware from Linksys site and manually install it. This might possibly resolve your issue.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:18 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 7



well, I looked up some firmware from DD-WRT. I saw this following post...

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...973117c1b8c5d5

a lot of them suggest a wide variety of firmwares, which one do you think should I use, answer if you want to or its ok if you don't :)
__________________
dipalp95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:46 PM   #16
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,762
OS: Windows O/S'es



I'll leave it up to you then. Usually updating the firmware helps resolves wireless issue.

Keep us updated.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netbook with wireless connectivity problems
Hello! I have recently installed a Tenda W311R+ router, and I have problems connecting to the internet through my netbook. My dad's netbook seems to work just fine, and he can access the web with no problems. The router is wired to my desktop pc, where again things work just fine. I've tried...
Keyra Networking Support 12 03-05-2011 06:09 PM
"Windows was unable to connect"
Hi, I'am having problems when connecting to the internet. I'am running Win7 64-bit and i have Belkin USB wireless adapter( Belkin surf N150) When i first bought the adapter it didnt connect to internet, so i throught it is not working and i got it replaced. I got the same problem with the...
Cyprus_boy12 Networking Support 17 03-02-2011 03:56 PM
Linksys WRT54G Wireless Router problems
Hello i have the Linksys WRT54G Wireless Router, when i hook my at&t modem to the modem port on the router the wireless portion of the router works, when i plug any pc into the ethernet ports it doesnt work! If i plug the modem into the ethernet port and plug other pcs into the other existing...
kentuckynet Networking Support 1 02-01-2011 03:08 PM
[SOLVED] Laptop wireless connection problems after bought new router
My sister's laptop is not connecting to the internet via wireless. This occurred after we bought a new router. It would say that she is currently connected to the router, but it would be unidentified network and access is local only. Connection via wired works just fine. I have tried to...
takamini5 Networking Support 6 01-07-2011 08:39 PM
Wireless Router Problems
Hi there everyone! I could really use some help, I've been having troubles with setting up a wireless network in my flat, I hope somebody will be able to help out, or if not point me in the right direction! My thanks in advance for taking the time to read my problem! Internet access in...
johnwheeler Networking Support 1 01-05-2011 03:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts