Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Wireless range extender disconnecting

This is a discussion on Wireless range extender disconnecting within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2012, 12:31 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



So, I've bough a Sitecom Wireless Range Extender "300N WL-330" because I live in the basement and our router is two floors above me so that the signal just barely reaches me but isn't strong enough for me to connect.

The problem is that I do get an Internet connection, but whenever I download something (such as a game patch) or watch a video in high quality, the extender will disconnect from the router (I am connected to it, but I don't have an Internet connection). I've tried the suggestions in this thread: Sitecom | Product | Range extenders & Access points | Wireless Range Extender 300N WL-330, but that doesn't change anything for me.

Here's the print of ipconfig /all: (sorry its in german, I've highlighted the relevant section)
Windows-IP-Konfiguration

Hostname . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sebastian-PC
Primäres DNS-Suffix . . . . . . . :
Knotentyp . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP-Routing aktiviert . . . . . . : Nein
WINS-Proxy aktiviert . . . . . . : Nein
DNS-Suffixsuchliste . . . . . . . : Speedport_W_700V

Ethernet-Adapter LAN-Verbindung 5:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix: Speedport_W_700V
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82577LC Gigabit Network Connecti
on
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-26-B9-63-A8-48
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Ja
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Ethernet-Adapter Bluetooth-Netzwerkverbindung:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth-Gerät (PAN)
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 70-1A-04-59-2E-88
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Ja
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Drahtlos-LAN-Adapter Drahtlosnetzwerkverbindung:

Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix: Speedport_W_700V
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5300 AGN
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-21-6A-7E-61-84
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Ja
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja
Verbindungslokale IPv6-Adresse . : fe80::54b3:21f0:db5b:5d27%10(Bevorzugt)
IPv4-Adresse . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.112(Bevorzugt)
Subnetzmaske . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease erhalten. . . . . . . . . . : Sonntag, 29. Juli 2012 21:16:10
Lease läuft ab. . . . . . . . . . : Donnerstag, 2. August 2012 21:16:09
Standardgateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP-Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

DHCPv6-IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184557930
DHCPv6-Client-DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-D1-6E-5D-00-21-6A-7E-61-84

DNS-Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
NetBIOS über TCP/IP . . . . . . . : Aktiviert


Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 11:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {C4F7E838-D718-4A18-84C2-D781B6736B40}:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #2
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter isatap.Speedport_W_700V:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #3
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter isatap.key.chillispot.info:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #6
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 15:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #7
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 16:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #8
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {73A9CCB4-3BBE-4AAB-9E9F-34943E288C54}:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #9
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 14:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #10
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 18:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #11
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter isatap.{AA12CBB9-ABBD-4A86-9AD3-911CD7F55932}:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #13
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 19:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #14
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {2DE91D19-465B-4564-BEC0-74F34993AAD5}:

Medienstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : Medium getrennt
Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix: Speedport_W_700V
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft-ISATAP-Adapter #15
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja

Tunneladapter LAN-Verbindung* 20:

Verbindungsspezifisches DNS-Suffix:
Beschreibung. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physikalische Adresse . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP aktiviert. . . . . . . . . . : Nein
Autokonfiguration aktiviert . . . : Ja
IPv6-Adresse. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:461:258c:3f57:fd8f(Bevor
zugt)
Verbindungslokale IPv6-Adresse . : fe80::461:258c:3f57:fd8f%30(Bevorzugt)
Standardgateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS über TCP/IP . . . . . . . : Deaktiviert


The default gateway, DHCP, and DNS seem to be 192.168.2.1, but whenever I set the default gateway to 1192.168.2.1 It tells me its this:
"Invalid gateway address!\nIt should be located in the same subnet of current IP address".
Hope these screenshots help:

http://i.imgur.com/K7miM.png
http://i.imgur.com/zLlHT.png
http://i.imgur.com/R7Ezw.png

I do have a long ethernet cable leading down into the basement and into the extender, which is why I've set it to "accesspoint" instead of "universal repeater". Hope that was the correct thing to do .

Any help appreciated and I'll be glad to post more information if you need it.

__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:18 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Can you post a Xirrus snip? Please see instruction here:
Pre-posting Requirements - for both Wired and Wireless Connectivity Issues

Also, please post your speedtest result.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Okay, soI just did all of the tests on Xirrus:

Speedtest.net:
-ping: 51 ms
-downspeed: 5.70 Mbps
-upspeed: 0.52 Mbps

Pintest.net:
-packet loss: 88%
-ping: 42 ms
-jitter: 6 ms
-overall grade: F

Connection Test:
http://i.imgur.com/fy03s.png

hope this helps
__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:43 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



You will need to post a screen capture of Xirrus by following the instruction link that I supplied to you.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 01:46 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Here's the Xirrus screen. Don't worry about the missing encryption, I just couldn't be bothered to set up a password everytime I reset the extender (which I've done quite a few times). Was away, so sorry for the delayed reply
__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:21 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for the snip capture and the signal looks good. If you have done resets on the extender a few times there's one thing that we can conclude - perhaps a faulty extender?
Please see this Thread for a possible resolution to your issue.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 03:47 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Well, thats another weird issue. Whenever I do a reset with the button on the device (which I haven't done anymore lately since its stable except for the disconnects which seem to be under load). Whenever I reset it, I can access the extender with IP 192.168.0.234, but once I change the settings once, the decive reboots and I can't get back in. So the main reason I reset it so many times is that I found some settings that didn't work and I couldn't get back in th device to change them.

Do you think that is because the main router is giving it a different IP in the 192.168.2 range which I can only obtain by reconnecting to the network? That would explain why I can't log into the damn thing and what happens during those disconnects.

I'd really like to know what's going wrong rather than just saying "it's broken, lets replace it"
__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 03:45 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



Please follow the Tutorial from this youtube video. Is this how you configured your wireless extender?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 04:23 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Kind of, but not quite. Is it really necessary to connect via cable and is it necessary to disable the wireless adapter? (I really don't understand why it would be). And then I have it plugged into the 2nd LAN port of my router with a huge cable leading down into my basement, so I chose accesspoint instead of universal repeater under the basic settings. Hope that was the right thing to do . The rest is the same except that I didn't access the settings via cable.
__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 04:36 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yes please I would suggest for you to follow the youtube tutorial to successfully setup your wireless extender.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:33 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Finally got to re-setup but as expected, same problems. I don't see how connecting to the extender wirelessly or via cable makes any difference in setting it up. If I'm correct, disabling the wireless adapter forces the computer to access IP 192.268.0.234 in the extender rather than any other network it might be connected to which is kind of unnecessary if I chose the extender as my network anyway.

I'm not sure whats faulty, the extender itself or my settings. It can't be DHCP servers interfering because I've disabled it in the extender. The only thing I could think of is the routers DHCP server giving the extender a new IP, which means that I lose connection for a while because the IP my computer was previously contacting is now invalid. What confuses me though is why it disconnects under load and not periodically (new IPs). I tried a simple http download and it broke after 21 MB. Might pingtest's reported 88% packet loss play a role in the DCs?

Do you think, getting a regular hub and wiring everything up will get rid of the problem?

-Sorry if I post a lot of text; I just want to get all of my questions out of the way so I can understand what the problem is rather than fixing it blindly
__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 03:41 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
OS: Win7 Porfessional, Service Pack 1



Okay, update. I've just gone into the router's settings and found a point that disallows repeaters. I've enabled that, but I was still getting disconnects. it's DHCP function allows IPs from 192.168.2.100 to 192.168.2.199 with lease time 4 days, so I changed the IP of the extender to 192.168.2.150 and the default gateway to 192.168.2.1. It seems to be stable now but I would like to stress test that. Also, if I have to give it an IP in the router's DHCP range, wouldn't that change after 4 days? Kind of worried about that but otherwise, it's okay.

PS: Do you know stress testing tools for networks?

__________________
GiantCookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Card Detected, But No Internet in 2nd PCI Slot
Hello there, Hope this is the right forum. I have an interesting problem, though quite frustrating. I've found that my wireless card does not access internet in the "2nd" pci slot. After much perusing of forum threads, I've tried many things before posting and will list all my attempts...
SaigoChan Cabling and Network Cards 6 09-05-2012 04:19 PM
Wifi range extender from Advantech. N*G.WISP SP9012
Was looking for Micronet Wisp SP9012 to extend range from a Vodafone pocket Wifi modem. This led me to Advantech who advised that their EK1-6311N was the same device. I paid $358-00 for it and it does not extend range. Advantech offered to refund a return but now they will not answer...
kingsgully Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 0 10-03-2011 07:39 PM
Internet connection keeps disconnecting / WAS can't view wireless networks..
I promised myself I'd find the solution to this.. and I think I did, but my laptop is not cooperating..So b4 I keep going , I thought I'd ask :D... Although my laptop Dell Vostro running XP would connect with no problem to my belkyn wireless router with no problem. I couldn't find wireless...
collector Windows XP Support 2 03-30-2011 10:12 AM
wireless connection kept disconnecting
Hi all, new to the forum and looking for some help please. My fathers laptop (packard bell easynote r1935) has been running pretty poorly for some time so I decided I would save all his documents and format the hard drive. The final straw being when his wireless connection kept disconnecting....
benjicorb Networking Support 1 01-01-2011 12:02 PM
sitecom range extender cant connect to the internet
I bought the Sitecom WL-130 range extender to extend my home network. I too had patch connectivity to the internet. The only way I fixed it was to buy a Sitecom ADSL wireless router to replace my aging BT unit. Now I have good connectivity 100% with security enabled. One of the probs i had...
philpugh Networking Support 0 09-24-2008 12:46 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts