Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Wireless Network, Laptop loses connection, won't re-connect

This is a discussion on Wireless Network, Laptop loses connection, won't re-connect within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Hope you can help me and this is posted in the right section. I'm not very technical so forgive

Old 04-27-2008, 03:56 PM   #1
Registered Member

Hi

Hope you can help me and this is posted in the right section.

I'm not very technical so forgive the simple explanantion.

I'm on Vista Home Basic and this is, I think, a Vista/laptop issue.

My laptop connects fine to my Netgear wireless router and works no issue.

Then for no reason it loses the connection (maybe linked to inactivity)

Then it won't re-connect and says it can't find any networks. My network is shown as found and working in 'manage wireless networks' (it's the only network set up in that list) but there's no way I can get the computer to find it to re-connect.

All this time the router is working fine and connecting to my other computer no problems which works fine all through this episode.

Restarting the laptop sorts the problem and it all works fine until the next drop-out.

Any ideas?

Cheers

R

Old 04-27-2008, 04:25 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team

rogthedodge,

Do these disconnects happen after a period of inactivity on your laptop? Are you closing your laptop then opening it back up? Laptops have lots of power-saving features that turn off devices after periods of inactivity. These features are designed to save battery life. Check out this post:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928152/en-us

Scroll down to the section titled "Modify the default power saving power plan".