Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Wireless Cell Phone can't connect to internet thru router

This is a discussion on Wireless Cell Phone can't connect to internet thru router within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Samsung Omnia i910 cell phone and have used it to connect to the internet via its wireless


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2009, 05:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



I have a Samsung Omnia i910 cell phone and have used it to connect to the internet via its wireless connection at various hot spots. No problems with the phone, its with the Linksys WRT54G wireless router I purchased second hand, have reset the router to default settings.

Running on internet thru a dialup modem. No problem connecting with the router from the computer at all. Get message on cell phone that it "Can not locate Remote Server." Using Opera browser and runs Windows Mobile 6.1. Phone does see and connect with router. Its settings for Wi-Fi are:

Network: Linksys
Connects: Internet
Authentication: Open
Data Encryption: Disabled

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : michaels
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL PCI Fast Ethernet Adaper
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-87-A5-B8
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 22, 2009 7:47:56 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:47:56 AM


PPP adapter EconoISP:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.24.25.40
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 64.24.25.40
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.136.173.8
64.136.164.66
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>

Enter 192.168.1.1 on cell phone when in Opera I get the router menu, so it does talk to the router. But, not the internet.

Use Comodo Firewall v3.12. Have turned off firewall and it makes no difference. What setting is wrong on my computer?

__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I'm at a loss as to what we're seeing here. You're talking about a cell phone and showing us an IPCONFIG for XP.

What problem are we looking to solve?

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
I'm at a loss as to what we're seeing here. You're talking about a cell phone and showing us an IPCONFIG for XP.

What problem are we looking to solve?
Sorry if I did not state clearly what is wrong.

My problem is that I can not reach the internet thru wireless router using Wi-Fi connection from the cell phone. Some setting must be wrong in the computer or router. I know that the Wi-Fi on the cell phone works correctly. Can connect with the router onboard firmware program both by Wi-Fi connection on the cell phone and by ethernet cable from the computer to the router. Just can not reach the internet using Wi-Fi connection, something is blocking it. Have turned off firewall and it still does not work. I think something is set wrong, but I am a novice at this. Please help!

Note that I am using a dial-up modem, so their is no dsl or broadband modem connected to the router. And please think of the cell phone as Wireless Laptop that is known to work correctly.
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 08:20 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Now I'm really lost! You don't have broadband, so exactly how is the router fitting into the picture?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 06:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



I use the wireless part of the router to talk to the cell phone, so I can get on the internet via my dial-up modem. It worked when I first hooked it up, but I must of changed something on the computer and now it doesn't.

Please help. Thank you.
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 10:32 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2


Exclamation

No one knows what is wrong?

Again, I am using a dial-up modem to access the internet and have a Linksys WRT54G wireless router to allow wireless cell phone to connect to the internet thru the dial-up router. It seems that I can enter 192.168.1.1 either on my computers browser (Firefox) or on the cell phone browser (Opera) and get the router setup screen just fine. Does not matter if the firewall is on or off. Can not get to the internet from the cell phone thru the wireless router at all! My computer can get to the internet via the dial-up modem just fine.

Please note the first time I installed the wireless router it worked fine. I then wanted to set up security and it stopped working.

Now I have been playing with settings on the computer and now see a internet gateway when I look at network status in addition to my dial-up modem and the Local Area Network.

Please help me to fix this problem. Thank you in advance.
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 11:34 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, you have a dial-up to connect to the Internet, so I'm assuming you've configured ICS on that machine to allow the router connection.

Reset the router to factory defaults, make sure that ICS is properly configured on the Internet connected machine, and see if a wired connection to the router works. If so, then you can configure the wireless section of the router to your desires.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 03:02 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
Well, you have a dial-up to connect to the Internet, so I'm assuming you've configured ICS on that machine to allow the router connection.

Reset the router to factory defaults, make sure that ICS is properly configured on the Internet connected machine, and see if a wired connection to the router works. If so, then you can configure the wireless section of the router to your desires.
Thank you for your help.

I guess ICS is configured, but I do not know if it is correct. Just a novice at this, networking is new to me.

How do I check that it is correct and where?

I have the router connected to the computer from the network card to the second connection on the router, the first being for a cable modem.

Router has been reset to factory defaults; I can talk to it thru the wired and wireless sides. By typing 192.168.1.1 in the browser address line in either the computer or the cell phone. Something is preventing the wireless device (in this case a cell phone) from talking to the internet. Note that the firewall (csf) and Comodo firewall software has been turned off and it makes no difference at all!
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:53 AM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


On the machine with the dial-up, please post this when it has a good connection to the Internet.


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 05:23 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Here is what you wanted:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : michaels
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-87-A5-B8
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.127
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1

PPP adapter EconoISP:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 72.251.57.42
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 72.251.57.42
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.136.173.5
64.136.164.77
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 09:19 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, you do not have ICS enabled, so nothing connected to that wired connection is going to have Internet access.


Take a look at this Microsoft ICS (Internet Connection Sharing tutorial.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 02:02 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
Well, you do not have ICS enabled, so nothing connected to that wired connection is going to have Internet access.


Take a look at this Microsoft ICS (Internet Connection Sharing tutorial.

Read the tutorial and followed it to this page: http://www.practicallynetworked.com/...rverdialup.htm

Its on manual server setup for dial-up. Do not have any menus like those shown.

What do I do now?

PS Once in awhile getting screen saying explorer being blocked and do I wanted to unblock or continue to block. It looks like it is coming from the built-in Windows firewall program.
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Have shared connection showing for modem, but still cannot connect to internet using wireless connection on the router.

ipconfig/all shows the following:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : michaels
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200WL PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-87-A5-B8
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 4:47:05 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 4:47:05
PM

PPP adapter EconoISP:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 72.251.57.71
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 72.251.57.71
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 64.136.173.5
64.136.164.77
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Michael>

I can see the Internet Gateway when displaying the Network connections, but can not enable it. When I bring its properties up, a screen comes up that says that to connect to internet using internet connection. It has a settings button. That brings up a screen to enter services. Do not know what to do with that.

Also, configured Internet Explorer under Tools - Internet Connection - Connections - Lan Settings - set to automatic.

Have I have everything set correctly?

Also, here is a picture of the screen that keep poping up:



I hope that if I configured correctly the Internet Explorer - Internet connection, this will stop.

So, what do I do now please?
__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 07:25 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 30
OS: Windows XP SP2



Sorry image got deleted somehow.



Also, have this warning.

__________________
Overmyhead16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 12:44 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
alice901212's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I have the router connected to the computer from the network card to the second connection on the router, the first being for a cable modem.

__________________
alice901212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts