Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

wifi stopped working on my laptop

This is a discussion on wifi stopped working on my laptop within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi, I've gone through a few steps here to make sure I had no virus problem... gradually the built-in wifi


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2011, 07:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



hi,
I've gone through a few steps here to make sure I had no virus problem... gradually the built-in wifi stopped working on my hp laptop (same router, cable internet and the little netbook I also use at home has no problems connecting wirelessly). I thought maybe there was some software that needed updating and updated the "bios" off the hp site which seemed to work for a day or two then the problem came back. the wifi modem does not "see" my home network. "view available networks" shows several nearby wifi but not my own.

I also uninstalled and reinstalled the panda security system thinking maybe that was the problem-then it could see the wireless for a couple of times then was disconnecting on me while I was surfing the internet-soon as I shut down the computer and restart-no more home wireless is visible.

Any ideas of what to do next?

__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 08:24 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Phou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA-RI
Posts: 607
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



I would check HP support/driver site for a updated WiFi driver. I would go ahead and reinstall it.

Also have you tried turning off the WiFi security and just leaving it open, see if the issue goes away?

__________________
Phou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 11:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



thanks...
I did update the driver off the hp site (but there were several to choose from so I wasn't completely sure I had the right one). I haven't tried turning off the wifi security. funny thing is, the wifi seems to have sporadic problem. I just left the computer alone this morning, came back, and the wifi mysteriously connected while I was gone. I can try the second option and see what happens. However, it doesn't explain why the other computer is able to log on without any problems (both hp portables).
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 11:27 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Disable the problematic Network Adapter's power saving mode from Device Manager, locate the Network Adapter=> Properties=> Power Management Tab, in here you may disable any Power Save mode options by unchecking them off.

Install and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
Click on the 'Show Networks' to display all wireless networks on the xirrus icon on your desktop of if you have one running in a corner. Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:19 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



well, there may be a problem so far... when i get to device manager-network adapter-there is no "properties" option- but I have 3 adapters (i do recall i uploaded 2 others when I was trying to update my driver from the hp site- so now I have: 1394 net adapter (the original one- i think); intel(r) prowireless 2200bg network connection; realtek RTL8139/810xm family fast ethernet NIC.

i think i need to delete a couple of these, right? now, note that the wifi was goofy even before i added these redundant drivers. actually, I was able to go into the 2 other wireless drivers and "unable" the driver "power management" box. I am not sure if I should go ahead and run the Xirrus inspector until I determine if i need to uninstall the redundant drivers. sorry for the confusion...
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:32 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Do me a favor please....take a snap shot of network adapter's expanded from Device Manager and post it here for review.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



sorry, I am not able to do the print-screen and save to paint--the paint program keeps freezing up on me. any other options?
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:26 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



You may paste it to Wordpad or MS Word.
Quote:
Originally Posted by novicegiek View Post
sorry, I am not able to do the print-screen and save to paint--the paint program keeps freezing up on me. any other options?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



here's my next attempt to satisfy your request...
[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/VICTOR%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image002.jpg[/IMG]
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:23 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



i had to put it as an an attachment, best I could do... hope this works.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp network adapters.bmp (691.4 KB, 138 views)
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 08:47 PM   #11
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Very good and you have made it....
Quote:
Originally Posted by novicegiek View Post
i had to put it as an an attachment, best I could do... hope this works.
Now go back to the Device Manager leave Network Adapters expanded and right click on the Intel adapter then choose Properties, you'll see Power Management Tab, then uncheck the boxes.

We'll make it easier for you to update your Intel driver. Click here to automatically update all your Intel drivers including the Wi-Fi adapter if there's any new updated driver. Click on 'Check your system for the latest updates' then let it detect and install the driver for you.

Please post another update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



well, the wifi seems to be working... so far

but now I get a new error message every time computer is restarted-which I have never seen before:

jpeg attached..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	error message.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	94610  
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:31 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



one more thing... i found some "hotfix" on the panda site for that particular error message and so far (knock on wood) the error message is gone, the wifi connected on it's own... and i think things seem to be back to "normal". if not, i guess i'll be back. but, if all is well, and in either case, many many thanks!! :-D
__________________
novicegiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 12:44 PM   #14
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



novicegiek - that's great news.

Please let us know if your issue comes back, let's hope not.

You're Welcome.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:10 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
OS: xp


Cry

My laptops internet doesnt work too!!!
is there a way i can fix mine??
its windows XP and its also HP!!
i tried the instructions you said but mine wont work...
__________________
momobuta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:26 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 80
OS: Windows 7



Hi,
Best to start a new topic to get help, but before you do make sure that wifi is enabled (switched on) on your laptop, there's usually a switch or a button to do this or possibly a function key on your laptop keyboard. Also try plugging a ethernet cable from your router to the laptop to eliminate any possible problems with the router wireless settings or the internet connection and post your results on a new topic.
__________________
sevep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:17 AM   #17
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by momobuta View Post
My laptops internet doesnt work too!!!
is there a way i can fix mine??
its windows XP and its also HP!!
i tried the instructions you said but mine wont work...

momobuta please create your own thread on your issues you are having as it is against the rules to ask for help in an existing thread it is a

Please see forum rules

Thank you for your co-operation.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost WiFi connection on OEM cheap mini laptop
I am actually able to have fun surfing on the Net with this toy computer, provided I don't expect to watch videos or listen to music or download anything. I bought it for a few Euros in France where it is known as the "SurfOne mini PC Ref. INOS1CE"; I think it is the same as the Chinese "OEM mini...
katzenjammer Networking Support 1 06-03-2011 06:58 PM
USB ports stopped working
HP ZV6131us laptop xp pro svs pk 3 . USB has stopped working; 4 ports: 1 rear, ! right side (neither has worked since I inherited this laptop. 2 on left side have always worked well untill 1 week ago.Now showing device not recognized for ipod and wireless mouse (logitech). I also have attached...
6131US Windows XP Support 2 04-17-2011 12:21 PM
Laptop keyboard and mouse not working??
Hello I have a friends laptop here which previously had a bad virus on it, so i went to re install the OS which went ok, but the keyboard and mouse doesn't work anymore? Something makes me think that it's something to do with the wifi driver, but then again i've taken out the wifi card and the...
joesquire Laptop Support 0 02-19-2011 06:56 PM
USB keyboards stopped working
I'm using Windows XP and I have a Microsoft comfort curve 2000 USB keyboard which recently stopped working. The keyboard itself does work on other computers. I tried other USB keyboards and it seems no USB keyboards will work or even show up in device manager. My computer has no other keyboard...
ZevLupus Other Hardware Support 5 01-26-2011 05:31 PM
WMIservi application stopped working and was closed
Hello, Laptop is Acer with OS Vista SP1. Problems arose on a startup when message (Acer epower management dmc has stopped working). I went into windows defender to disable the acer program because the message kept popping up for 5 mins solidly. Then now I get (WMIservi application stopped...
luckyrabbit24 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 01-07-2011 02:54 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts