Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Wifi not working for my gateway laptop.

This is a discussion on Wifi not working for my gateway laptop. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So here is what happened, it started two days ago. I use a wifi connection at work, it's an unsecure


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2011, 08:44 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista



So here is what happened, it started two days ago. I use a wifi connection at work, it's an unsecure wifi and I don't know where it comes from. But I am able to get on here at work and do stuff... two days ago I tried and it let me on like normal, but then I couldn't get on websites, it said local access only...

so I was like mmm that's odd and the little CD looking thing wasn't there it was just two computers on the bottom right hand corner of the screen. So I restarted after attempting a few times... same problem, finally after a while it let me online but it was very slow and kept kicking me off. When I would try to reconnect sometimes it wouldn't let me and it would give me the option to diagnose the problem or try a new network, I'd move around and finally get on.

I restored back to a day when it was working fine, I did a disc clean up, I used my CCleaner, I defragged my laptop. Still the same problem, my laptop is a Gateway computer running on Windows Vista... so today at first my wifi wouldn't work unless I was standing and holding it... which I found the higher in the air the better it stays connected it seems sometimes.

I chatted with gateway and they gave me a few links to download which failed to download once they got to like 30% or so, so I am all out of options I downloaded the wifi link here Download free driver for notebook Gateway ML3109 (Windows 7, XP, Vista) - DriverPack Solutio since that is my laptop

So far I don't think it worked, but I may have to restart to see... right now if I move my computer it will kick me off, I have to keep it perfectly still hanging over the edge a little off the desk here. I am all out of options, can it really be my laptop or did the wifi I get the signal from mess up?

Also another thing that crossed my mind, if the bandwidth went over the limit, could it make it slower and harder to get on?

Any help? thanks

__________________
Eagleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:32 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Vista



No replies? :( I thought I'd add this, if I move my laptop I lose all connections and when I go to reconnect it shows the wifi I get on, and I click connect and it says it can not so I refresh and it is gone and there are no signals around that can be picked up so I keep refreshing, same message. Then if I close out of it, and open it back up it shows the signal I always use as being there unless I refresh again then it goes away again. So I keep playing with it until I find the perfect spot for it to connect, but then again if I even move it one inch it disconnects and sometimes it won't stay connected long even if I don't move it.

Also it runs very slowly compared to before, This all started Friday before that it was perfect.

Last thing to mention, it always had 1 bar and still does... so it is a weak signal to connect to, but once connected it usually goes up to 2 or 3 even now that it is broken... please someone, any advice?

__________________
Eagleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:45 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 905
OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.



Hi,

Do you have access to the wireless router? From your 1st post it seems that you dont access to the router. If thats the case then there is not much you can do to troubleshoot.

Have you tried updating your wireless network card drivers?

Maz
__________________
Certified: A+, N+, Security+, BSc CNE, MCTS
Maz_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] No sound from gateway laptop
I have a gateway 400 VTX laptop. IE/Windows XP. While trying to play a video I had downloaded from facebook, I lost all sound and haven't been able to get it back. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the driver (version 5.10.0.0.0.3722) for the SigmaTel C-Major Audio device, but still have no...
arnold113 Sound Cards 34 03-25-2011 08:55 AM
Seagate External HD stopped working with one laptop, still works with other.
Hi. My harddrive. I have had it for almost 2 years and it has worked fine with no previous problems. It is Seagate, 1TB, and the model number is ST310005EXD101-RK. I also have an older laptop, an Acer with windows XP, about 4 years old, and a new Acer laptop, about 3 months old on Windows 7. I...
Will86 Hard Drive Support 13 03-17-2011 07:33 AM
XP Internet Connectivity Issue... Please help!
Okay... so, I've had this cheap laptop for a year and a half. It's actually been great so far, and I've never had any issues with it. Unfortunately, I am now posting from my desktop, in the hopes that one of you fantastic tech support gurus can help me. :pray: I'm having an issue connecting...
MCBeef Windows XP Support 1 03-14-2011 05:56 PM
Laptop keyboard and mouse not working??
Hello I have a friends laptop here which previously had a bad virus on it, so i went to re install the OS which went ok, but the keyboard and mouse doesn't work anymore? Something makes me think that it's something to do with the wifi driver, but then again i've taken out the wifi card and the...
joesquire Laptop Support 0 02-19-2011 07:56 PM
Gateway hard drive in Compaq laptop; only works in Safe Mode
My Compaq laptop hard drive failed. The Gateway laptop motherboard failed. So, I put the Gateway hard drive (Vista) in the Compaq laptop (XP). The laptop will work in Safe Mode with Networking and has access online. It will not boot up regularly and the audio is not working. What drivers...
lobrien1216 Laptop Support 3 01-10-2011 04:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts