Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

VPN help

This is a discussion on VPN help within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm new to the forums, and I am having a hell of a time getting a successful VPN connection


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Hi,

I'm new to the forums, and I am having a hell of a time getting a successful VPN connection from my school to my home.

My home is set up like this: I have a linksys e2500 router, a computer (not the VPN server) is connected by Ethernet cord from the router. My windows XP computer, a Dell Dimension 4550 desktop, is connected by a wireless adapter to said router. This computer is what I am using as the VPN server. I am using this computer, which has no way to be directly wired to my modem for internet access, because it is always on, and it only makes sense to have this as the server.

I have a VPN correctly configured on the Dell computer. I am able to connect FROM this computer TO a VPN server set up from my laptop (Windows 7 Ultimate), but I am unable to connect from my laptop to the home desktop. I get the error 800 code.

However, I am able to connect from my laptop to my home VPN server only while connected to the same internet. When I was able to do this I thought that I had everything set up correctly only to find out when I got to school that it did not work. Although I am still able to connect to my laptop VPN from my home computer while I am at school.

Both computers use Norton 360. I have tried to disable the smart firewall, still unable to connect. I have unblocked stealth ports, still unable to connect. I even set up a firewall rule for ports 1723, 500, and 1701, and I'm still unable to connect.

I am pretty sure that I have everything set up correctly as far as my router goes. I have VPN passthrough allowed. I have set rules in the 'Port Range Forwarding" Port 500, Port 500, port 47, and port 1723.

I have used the PortQuery program to check ports. If I use the home computer to check ports on my laptop, everything is successful. But from my laptop to my home computer, I usually get "Not Listening" or "Filtered."

Please help!

__________________
Hoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:26 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 48,643
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF I have moved you to networking for further help

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



Perhaps this quide will help

How to Create a Windows XP VPN server

You can't have port 1723 pointing to the xp pc and the laptop at the same time.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
You can't have port 1723 pointing to the xp pc and the laptop at the same time.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. On my home router I have port 1723 set to both TCP/UDP, in the guide you posted it has TCP 1723 and then port 500 UDP. Could this be my problem, or part of my problem?


Also, I'm unsure as to what exactly is happening in this step:

http://www.oakdome.com/lab/wp-conten...-addresses.gif

I have a range put in that has 11 different options that have the same first 3 numbers of my home IP(192.168.1.xxx). My school IP address is 139.83.64.xxx so when trying to connect to my home VPN do I really need my IP address from my laptop?
__________________
Hoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



"I'm not sure what you mean by this."

You can't have the following
port 1723----->192.168.1.10 pc1
port 1723----->192.168.1.20 pc2

Your link is showing a choice of either using dhcp or a manual range. If choosing a manual range you only need one or two ips not 51.

To be on your home network you need a ip address in the home network. Once you establish the vpn connection this will give you a ip address so you can talk to your home network.

From here you can see 1723 tcp is the vpn port. Port 500 udp is L2PT
Which ports do you need to open on a firewall to allow PPTP and L2TP over IPSec VPN tunnels?

I have seen routers that didn't haver protocol 47 but the connection still worked.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN routing to branch office
Hello, I am trying to set our VPN connection to route to our branch office from a VPN Client. So far I did not succeed and hope someone here could assist me because at this point I am stuck. At our office we have a VPN Server which enables VPN Clients to connect to our main office with an...
DotMedia Networking Support 10 04-20-2012 08:10 AM
[SOLVED] Cisco IPSec VPN - Logged in with iPhone and now can't log in at all!
Hello! New member here. I appreciate all of your expertise in advance. I use the Cisco IPSec VPN to connect to my company's VPN. My work computer (A MacBook Pro) came set up with the VPN. I set up the VPN information on my iPhone and was able to connect to my work VPN. After a couple minutes...
GoNoles Networking Support 5 01-28-2012 08:55 AM
Windows 7 , PPTP VPN error 807 and 800
Dear Experts Please don't steer the topic from PPTP to IPsec and other types of VPN which is more secure than PPTP,,,,etc I have got this scenario windows 7 is acting as vpn client at home and windows XP is acting as vpn server at work. At home (LAN address is 192.168.10.x/24)And I...
zillah Networking Support 3 08-29-2011 09:25 AM
VPN Tunnel Recommendations
Hi All, I have 5 stores across Puerto Rico and I want to create a VPN Connection between each one. In 4 stores I only have Thin Clients that connect to our Central Office via Remote Desktop Connection. Users do everything on the Central Store which is where the servers are hosted. On each of the...
wilito92 Networking Support 0 07-29-2011 05:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts