Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Vista laptop looses connection

This is a discussion on Vista laptop looses connection within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, SOS! I have a vista HP Pavillion dv9000 laptop that looses connection all of a sudden. I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2010, 07:29 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System

Question

Hi guys,

SOS! I have a vista HP Pavillion dv9000 laptop that looses connection all of a sudden.

I have narrowed it down to it loosing "network" while I have my other laptop (anXP EeePC) on and next to it. I can't recall where I read that it might have to do with the configuration of it being an ad hoc or.... something else (can't recall the term).

Assistance in resolving this problem will be GREATLY appreciated!!

Cheers

__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 07:36 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, az
Posts: 7,308
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Does the wireless simply drop to "local only"?

1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 07:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


yup! Just on the vista laptop. When i search networks in rance it returns a 0 list
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 07:45 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, az
Posts: 7,308
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


I would plug it in to an Ethernet and do windows updates , this is a vista problem (google vista local only and you get over 1,000,000 results) I had the same issue with my asus laptop, i reinstalled vista no luck. I ended up putting windows 7 on it and now it works great.
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 07:47 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


even though it has donde its regular windows updates?
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 07:52 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


Do I still have to plug it in directly even though it does regular windows updates?

on its own it is OK and it doesn't disconnect as long as I have the other machines turned off. The problem begins when I turn the other machine; within 5 min i loose the connection
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 05:38 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
1 g0t 0wn3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, az
Posts: 7,308
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


I was under the impression that it went to local only immediately. That sounds like a network problem (maybe an ip issue) i would head over to the networking section and see if they can help you. Sorry i can't be of more help i am taking my networking class net semester.
1 g0t 0wn3d is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 05:53 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

I can definitely move this to Networking Forums and we'll assist you over there.

=================
Please provide an IPCONFIG ALL of your computer:
Click on Start => in search box type cmd press enter. From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen or Command prompt then choose Select All and Paste the results here.

=================
You might be having an IP conflict from the other computer.
Press on Win + R keyboard keys. Type in Cmd into the Open textbox.
Hit OK or press Enter.

type ipconfig /release then press enter
type ipconfig /renew then press enter

Please give us an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:08 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


OK so here's the ipconfig from the NORMAL XP Eepcc:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Aracely>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MiniMe
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-43-5F-0B-C9
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
128.86.163.242
128.86.163.243
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 19, 2010 10:47:07 A
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 4:14:07 AM


C:\Documents and Settings\Aracely>
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:12 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


And this is theipconfig/all from the vista that is giving me problems:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Arcy>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection :

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-D1-8C-C2
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a103:c5da:589d:d81e%26(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 18 October 2010 7:58:30 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 25 November 2146 5:35:35 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 553654738
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0E-3F-F6-B6-00-1B-24-2C-5B-66

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
128.86.163.242
128.86.163.243
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection #
2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-F1-E0-02
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-6B-6F-C7-73
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:1ced:22a4:3f57:fdfb(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1ced:22a4:3f57:fdfb%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{EC858A6B-FD87-4F2B-940B-A1ABCF460
733}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{A5ECFD01-1D82-42BA-9453-1B7A00DD4
433}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 23:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.Belkin
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Arcy>
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 09:00 AM   #11
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



I don't see any IP conflicts and both ipconfig/ all shows good connection.

Let's do a Power Cycle of your Router and Modem:
1. Save all your current work, close all open applications, then shut down your computer. Wait for a minute.
2. First, turn your Router off and wait for a couple of minutes.
3. Turn off your modem.
4. Disconnect all the ethernet cables that are connected to the router and modem and the PC.
5. Reconnect them and ensure that there are no loose connections in between them.
6. Now, switch on your PC and let it boot.
7. Switch on the modem first and after it gets initialized, switch on the router.

=======================
I would also update your router's firmware to the latest by downloading from the manufacturer's site.

Please post an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 04:38 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


2xg

After I did the release/renew it seems to be working well. So far, it has not dropped the connection all day!!

i am not doing the victory dance just yet though. I will see how I go tomorrow and follow the above instructions.

I will report with an updat!

Thanks for your patience =)
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 04:59 PM   #13
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



Alright....we'll be right here for your next update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:47 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


bleh the HP was doing so good today until now =(

The above recommendation did not work (router has latest firmware installed) ...

sigh
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:52 AM   #15
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



No worries, we'll move on to more tasks:

From your wireless computer pls. run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Here's a more detail guide => Double click on the xirrus icon on your desktop of if you have one running in a corner, just click on it. Tap the Printscreen key on your keyboard, open up Paint then choose Edit from the Menu and select Paste, then SAVE it. Upload and attached it here, click on Go Advanced and locate Manage Attachments Tab and attached the file.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:57 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


just to be clear I do the above mentioned on the computer that I am having issues with?
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:04 AM   #17
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



Yes...please
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcybarrios View Post
just to be clear I do the above mentioned on the computer that I am having issues with?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:27 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


ok here ya go
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wifi inspector.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	80534  
__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:29 AM   #19
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,959
OS: Windows O/S'es



That's very helpful and it doesn't look very good. Do you have access to the router's control panel page to make some changes. For now please change the Channel to 11, test your connection after, then change the Network Security to WPA.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:32 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
arcybarrios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
OS: Win XP with SP3

My System


yay we are getting somewhere!

ok so by accessing routers page does that mean going into the http://192.168.2.1 ?

Edit ... ok so I changed the channel. Should I wait and see if I continue to have problems or do you suggest I change to WPA now?

Edit #2 call me stupid but what does "default authentication" mean exatly? Mine says open and others show the WPA/PSK

__________________
arcybarrios is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts