Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Universal Wireless Repeater random disconnects

This is a discussion on Universal Wireless Repeater random disconnects within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 09:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Ok so as the title explains I'm getting random disconnects from the internet so online gaming is impossible .

I will supply all my info so you guys can help me !

ISP Name : Telmex (which is a mexican company ).
Router : Linksys Wrt54g
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 (05/24/08) micro
Time: 05:33:01 up 16 min, load average: 0.21, 0.11, 0.03
WAN IP: 192.168.1.64
Connection type: Universal Wireless repeater, so..wireless :P
Wireless encryption : WEP (0000000000 << thats the key)

Im using windows vista home if that helps.


Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.

Ok so I'm on the internet and randomly i get disconnected and the icon on the lower right corner says ''local only'' for about 30 seconds and then i get reconnected, this may be because of interference or because the router is not getting a good wireless signal.

I suspect the router cant connect itself to the main wireless connection since its pretty far away, i dont really know how far away it is , i will provide screenshots of my dd-wrt configuration so maybe you could catch mistakes I made or could make some recommendations and suggestions.



1.If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?-
No, since the router is far away and i have a desktop, maybe ill try later.
2.For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?-
Yes and the problem persists.
3.Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
Nope, read nr.1.
4.If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
Yes all computers on the house get disconnected and are without internet for around 30 seconds and then get reconnected again.

INFO::

Microsoft Windows [Versión 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Reservados todos los derechos.

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping www.google.com

Haciendo ping a www.l.google.com [74.125.45.147] con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 74.125.45.147: bytes=32 tiempo=114ms TTL=55
Respuesta desde 74.125.45.147: bytes=32 tiempo=112ms TTL=55
Respuesta desde 74.125.45.147: bytes=32 tiempo=112ms TTL=55
Respuesta desde 74.125.45.147: bytes=32 tiempo=113ms TTL=55

Estadísticas de ping para 74.125.45.147:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 112ms, Máximo = 114ms, Media = 112ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping www.worldofwarcraft.com

Haciendo ping a worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.242.22] con 32 bytes de datos:

Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.

Estadísticas de ping para 12.129.242.22:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 0, perdidos = 4
(100% perdidos),

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping www.worldofwarcraft.com

Haciendo ping a worldofwarcraft.com [12.129.242.22] con 32 bytes de datos:

Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.

Estadísticas de ping para 12.129.242.22:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 0, perdidos = 4
(100% perdidos),

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping 10.0.0.142

Haciendo ping a 10.0.0.142 con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 10.0.0.142: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.142: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.142: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.142: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=128

Estadísticas de ping para 10.0.0.142:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 0ms, Máximo = 0ms, Media = 0ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping 10.0.0.1

Haciendo ping a 10.0.0.1 con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 tiempo=2ms TTL=64
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=64
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=64
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=64

Estadísticas de ping para 10.0.0.1:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 1ms, Máximo = 2ms, Media = 1ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping www.google.com

Haciendo ping a www.l.google.com [74.125.67.103] con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 74.125.67.103: bytes=32 tiempo=113ms TTL=55
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.

Estadísticas de ping para 74.125.67.103:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 1, perdidos = 3
(75% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 113ms, Máximo = 113ms, Media = 113ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping 10.0.0.141

Haciendo ping a 10.0.0.141 con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 10.0.0.141: bytes=32 tiempo=513ms TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.141: bytes=32 tiempo=4ms TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.141: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=128
Respuesta desde 10.0.0.141: bytes=32 tiempo=1ms TTL=128

Estadísticas de ping para 10.0.0.141:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 1ms, Máximo = 513ms, Media = 129ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping -s 100 www.google.com
Valor incorrecto para la opción -s, el intervalo válido es de 1 a 4.

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping -s 5
Valor incorrecto para la opción -s, el intervalo válido es de 1 a 4.

C:\Users\Kroenen>
C:\Users\Kroenen>ping 206.190.60.37

Haciendo ping a 206.190.60.37 con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 tiempo=126ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 tiempo=124ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 tiempo=124ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 tiempo=123ms TTL=47

Estadísticas de ping para 206.190.60.37:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 123ms, Máximo = 126ms, Media = 124ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>ping yahoo.com

Haciendo ping a yahoo.com [69.147.114.224] con 32 bytes de datos:

Respuesta desde 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 tiempo=128ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 tiempo=125ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 tiempo=124ms TTL=47
Respuesta desde 69.147.114.224: bytes=32 tiempo=124ms TTL=47

Estadísticas de ping para 69.147.114.224:
Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
(0% perdidos),
Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
Mínimo = 124ms, Máximo = 128ms, Media = 125ms

C:\Users\Kroenen>NBTSTAT -n

Conexión de área local:
Dirección IP del nodo: [0.0.0.0] Id. de ámbito : []

No hay nombres en la caché

Conexión de red inalámbrica:
Dirección IP del nodo: [10.0.0.142] Id. de ámbito : []

Tabla de nombres locales NetBIOS

Nombre Tipo Estado
---------------------------------------------
ELITE <00> Unico Registrado
WORKGROUP <00> Grupo Registrado
WORKGROUP <1E> Grupo Registrado
ELITE <20> Unico Registrado

C:\Users\Kroenen>IPCONFIG /ALL

Configuración IP de Windows

Nombre de host. . . . . . . . . : Elite
Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . :
Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . : híbrido
Enrutamiento IP habilitado. . . : no
Proxy WINS habilitado . . . . . : no

Adaptador LAN inalámbrico Conexión de red inalámbrica:

Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g
54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-CA-1B-47-34
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : sí
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí
Vínculo: dirección IPv6 local. . . : fe80::f591:9266:fb7f:cd12%10(Preferido)

Dirección IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.142(Preferido)
Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Concesión obtenida. . . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 02, 2010 8:43:0
1 PM
La concesión expira . . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 03, 2010 10:34:24
PM
Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 218153162
Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS sobre TCP/IP. . . . . . . . . . . : habilitado

Adaptador de Ethernet Conexión de área local:

Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controll
er
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-25-83-61-25
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : sí
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí

Adaptador de túnel Conexión de área local*:

Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{403FD81B-9927-460A-AEEB-2
F6E778CC299}
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí

Adaptador de túnel Conexión de área local* 2:

Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Adaptador ISATAP de Microsoft #2
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí
Vínculo: dirección IPv6 local. . . : fe80::5efe:10.0.0.142%19(Preferido)
Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . :
Servidores DNS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
NetBIOS sobre TCP/IP. . . . . . . . . . . : deshabilitado

Adaptador de túnel Conexión de área local* 3:

Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí

Adaptador de túnel Conexión de área local* 6:

Estado de los medios. . . . . . . . . . . : medios desconectados
Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
Descripción . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Dirección física. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP habilitado . . . . . . . . . . . . . : no
Configuración automática habilitada . . . : sí

C:\Users\Kroenen>


Sorry about my cmd being in spanish, cant help it, if you want I can translate, also excuse me for my very messy post, its late at night, cant help it, ill fix it tomorrow.

Also heres the links to image 3 and 4 of my routers config: http://yfrog.com/41prob3j
http://yfrog.com/89prob4j



Thanks guys!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prob1.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	143.9 KB
ID:	63014   Click image for larger version

Name:	prob2.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	134.2 KB
ID:	63015  

__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 10:18 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello and welcome to TSF!

You may try changing the WEP TO WAP security. See if this helps.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 10:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xgrump View Post
Hello and welcome to TSF!

You may try changing the WEP TO WAP security. See if this helps.
Hello and thanks!

I tried changing it to WPA security I guess you meant that?

I couldnt access the network no matter how hard i tried, the 5 computers on the house couldnt either I dont know why? So I had to reset the router

Maybe the problem gets fixed? Anyway I configured the router again to how it was before and I forgot to mention I built a parabolic out of paper and tin foil? :P

The router catches the INFINITUM4414 (the main wireless signal) with double the potency, I hope that will help.
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 08:41 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



oops...thanks for catching that, yes..I meant WEP to WPA Security.

Pls. let us know if you still need help.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Yes I still need help.
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:32 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



After resetting the router, the problem still persist, correct? How did you reset the router, if I may ask?

Are you able to get in to the Admin Console of the Router and type in the default router IP of 10.0.0.1 and re-configured everything?

Have you tried updating the router's firmware?

Have you tried contacting your ISP? They might be help you on this, maybe send out a Tech in your house and do some fixing on the wirings. Since the problem is not just on 1 computer, but every single computer in your house.

Please update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xgrump View Post
After resetting the router, the problem still persist, correct? How did you reset the router, if I may ask?

Are you able to get in to the Admin Console of the Router and type in the default router IP of 10.0.0.1 and re-configured everything?

Have you tried updating the router's firmware?

Have you tried contacting your ISP? They might be help you on this, maybe send out a Tech in your house and do some fixing on the wirings. Since the problem is not just on 1 computer, but every single computer in your house.

Please update.
1. Yes, even after reseting the problem is still there, I reset it with the reset button on the back of the router.

2.Yes, I asked about advice on my configuration, so if you have any please inform me.

3.No, I thought v24 micro was the latest dd wrt firmware or am I missing something?

4. Not possible, since I'm using a different router than the one that my isp provides me with, My warranty doesnt cover it also I'm in mexico so the customer support is super sucky not to mention its very costly and very very uneffective.

Thanks again,
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:22 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



Alright, well, that's frustrating, it'll cost you to contact your ISP and provide you a solution. We'll see if we can help you here, it can be a bit lengthy to troubleshoot.

To get the latest firmware of your router, go to the Manufacturer's website and locate the make and model of your router and compare to what you currently have. You may google search to get to the Manufacturer's website.

At this time, I would advice you not to put any encryption or security just to resolve your issue.

Pls. post update.

and You're Welcome!
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:39 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Ok so i'm updated to the latest ddwrt firmware and I will try to disable the encryption tomorrow morning, will keep you guys updated.

Thanks
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:44 PM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



Will await for the results.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:32 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Ok so I disable WEP security and bam! works like a charm! Still gets about 3 or 4 random disconnects during the day but this is way better than how it was before.

Thanks !!
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:44 PM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



Very nice to hear that, appreciate the update. Keep an eye on it for a couple of days, then everything still the same try applying a Security, use WPA.

and You're quite Welcome!
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:10 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Vista Home



Lately the wireless connection has breen dropping again, my only assumption is that something is causing the interference possibly another computer, this random disconnects only happens at nighttime so maybe theres someone connected to the main router at night and that causes the interference.

Unfortunately I cant change my wep key or open network to wpa since it will give me an error (i've tested) quote from dd-wrt: ''You may choose from Disable, WEP, WPA Personal, WPA Enterprise, or RADIUS. All devices on your network must use the same security mode.'' so thats why it aint possible to do that, but i doubt that has to do with anything please clarify.

Any suggestions, ideas, theories, etc etc. all welcome, thanks>!
__________________
vyraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:13 PM   #14
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,910
OS: Windows O/S'es



If it happens only at night, there might be something going on. You may try these Public DNS's and see if it works, here's the link and instruction as well => http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts