Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Unable to print to Network printer after upgrading router to dual-band

This is a discussion on Unable to print to Network printer after upgrading router to dual-band within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I recently upgraded my d-link router DI-524 for Netgear N600 WNDR3700v3 and every component (wired or wireless) is working


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Hello,

I recently upgraded my d-link router DI-524 for Netgear N600 WNDR3700v3 and every component (wired or wireless) is working except network printer. I have it wired directly to the router and all pcs on the home network can see it, however when i select to do a test print, nothing prints to the printer and i get error. I had this setup using the d-link router with both the printer and the XP PC wired directly to the router and using the XP PC as a network pc sharing the printer to other pcs (Vista / Windows 7) on the home network.

The printer is a Toshiba e-studio 160 series.. I re-added the print drivers for XP and still not able to print. Is there anything else I can try?

Any assistance here would be most appreciated..

__________________
techwiz49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:38 PM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,772
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit


Is the printer setup for dhcp? Have you power cycled the printer?

The old dlink router used a address of 192.168.0.x (by default anyway), and the netgear uses a 192.168.1.x range.

If the printer had a static address then it will need to be changed to be able to grab the new address range, both in the printer itself, as well as in the properties for the printer on each computer in the port settings.

__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Thanks Shekka,

I do not currently have the printer setup for dhcp as i have it setup as static with the new network ip - 192.168.1.x replacing the 192.168.0.x from the d-link. I have power cycled the printer, left it off for 20 sec, power cycled router with printer off, then turned printer back on and still nothing. The XP PC tpc port was also changed to same IP 192.168.1.x. I can ping the printer from the XP PC but cannot send prints to the printer.
__________________
techwiz49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:11 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello techwiz49,

I'd try resseting the printer to the factory setting and start fresh.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:18 PM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,772
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



I would try what 2xg suggested next, or go through all the network settings and verify. Did you change the gateway in the printer as well to reflect the ip change?

Qucik question: did you just change the port properties or create a new tcp port? Creating a new tcp port in the printer properties is best then applying and clicking ok.
__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP



I deleted the old tcp port from the dlink and created a whole new port.

i will reset printer to default values and start fresh..

Thanks again !!
__________________
techwiz49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:55 PM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Please keep us posted.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:28 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Ok I was able to start from scratch and get the XP PC to send prints to the printer.. Also my Vista laptop can see XP PC and send test print to printer using the XP PC Shared Printer setup. How can I get the windows 7 desktop to see it on the same network.. Do you know if this printer is compatible with windows 7?

Regards,
__________________
techwiz49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:19 AM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



You should be able to download the Win7 printer driver from the Toshiba site.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:42 AM   #10
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,772
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit


If there is no driver for win7 see if windows can auto detect the printer in the add printer window (don't pick the shared printer, you will want to use the printer ip) and auto search for a driver.

__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Dell Studio 1558 display fades to white.
My Dell Studio 1558 display fades to white. If I press on the screen bezel to the lower right of the display it will come back clearly, but eventually fade again. The programs will run, so it's not freezing up. I have opened it up and made sure the display cable connections are solid, no...
Wolverdog Laptop Support 9 11-08-2012 05:58 PM
Network not working
Hi My internet fails. My father has just bought a new router, because the other one broke. But now the internet on my computer does not work. I connect to the wireless network. After some time it says limited access, but when i then click on the network icon on the bottom right corner and wait...
skinkipatta Networking Support 37 04-10-2012 11:46 PM
home network security
Is there any way to spy on a computer in your home network (asking so I know if it can be done to me... not because I want to spy) and see the activity (email content, passwords etc...) by logging home network activity only. Nobody has admin rights or physical access to my computer. But they do...
needinfo General Computer Security 3 03-08-2012 07:22 AM
AD issue joining win7 to domain
My AD at work is not working on Windows 7 box. It's working on all other workstation just not my W7 machine. When trying to create hostname in any OU I am getting "not implemented" error. I dowloaded the following file Download: AD LDS for Windows7 - Microsoft Download Center - Download...
SupermanCK Windows Servers 10 03-07-2012 08:59 PM
printer not communicating with computer
After an electrical outage, my wireless hp photosmart C6100 does not receive print commands from my hp laptop/notebook. I have turned off both devices and restarted. I have deleted old printer driver and added new (i think?) Computer print command does work with my Epson Artisan 810, also...
libertybelle2 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-03-2012 05:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts