Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

unable to contact dhcp server

This is a discussion on unable to contact dhcp server within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've been chasing this problem on and off for about three months with limited results. I lost my internet connection,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2011, 07:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3


Cry

I've been chasing this problem on and off for about three months with limited results.
I lost my internet connection, and I get the following message, "unable to contact your DHCP server".
This occurred after a system reboot and I have been unable to get this computer back online since that time.
At the time it went down my security software was reporting a virus that it could not remove, but that had been going on for a week or so and it didn't seem to be causing any system problems.
I later took the computer to a professional who scanned and cleaned it, and replaced the security program with a different one, AVG 9.0.
At the time I lost connection I contacted my DSL provider, after performing some service tests the tech pronounced the problem to be on my end.
At that point I got out my backup computer, which also runs on WinXP SP3 on a somewhat older platform, and it connected with no problem.
I than swapped the hard drives between the two computers. The backup drive, now in the computer which origanily had been giving me trouble, connected without a problem.
It was at this time, I took the infected drive to be scanned.
Since that time I have been following threads on various forums without much luck.
I have only gotten a connection twice. The first time was before I got the router, I was swapping the cable from one computer to the other and I got connection but it only lasted until I did a reboot. I decided
the Bad Boy had hijacked the IP address that had been assigned to the other computer.
Shortly after adding the router I was able to get online again, this time through the router, after reinstalling the Ethernet Adapter I was able to get online for 4 or 5 hours and did several reboots as I was trying to establish home sharing for Itunes and also printer sharing, I was unsuccessful with both, The only significant event on the last reboot was that Windows installed a bunch of updates. That was three weeks ago.
Since than I have had no luck whatsoever. The system can't find the router nor will it connect directly through the modem either.

Some of the things I have tried are as follows:
swapped cables around
bought a new modem
changed to a different NIC
ran netsh int ip reset
ran netsh winsock reset
ran LSPfix
ran winsockxpfix
pinged 127.0.0.1 (results below)
uninstalled and reinstalled Ethernet Services
tried safe start with network services
tried partial clean boot (probably same as above)
checked all settings suggested in the threads
compaired settings and registry keys to working computer
I'm at my wits end on this any help would be appreciated.
system info:
WinXP SP3 Home Edition running on a Pentium D 3.4GHz Duo Core
Modem: Motorola 2210 DSL-wired connection
Router: Linksys befsr41-wired connection
Via Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
IP service is DHL running on ppoe protocol
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VIOLA
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 11:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EC-24-2E-6B
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.104.7
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
C:\Documents and Settings\Default>ipconfig /release
Windows IP Configuration
 
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 11:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
C:\Documents and Settings\Default>ipconfig /renew
Windows IP Configuration
An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection 11 : unable to contact your DHCP se
rver. Request has timed out.
C:\Documents and Settings\Default>
 
C:\Documents and Settings\Default>ping 127.0.0.1
Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Default>
WinSock Diagnostic
WinSock status
info
All base service provider entries are present in the Winsock catalog.
info
The Winsock Service provider chains are valid.
info
Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [TCP/IP] passed the loopback communication test.
info
Provider entry MSAFD Tcpip [UDP/IP] passed the loopback communication test.
info
Provider entry RSVP UDP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test.
info
Provider entry RSVP TCP Service Provider passed the loopback communication test.
info
Connectivity is valid for all Winsock service providers.
Network Adapter Diagnostic
Network location detection
info
Using home Internet connection
Network adapter identification
info
Network connection: Name=Local Area Connection 9, Device=VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter #3,
MediaType=LAN,
SubMediaType=LAN
info
Ethernet connection selected
Network adapter status
info
Network connection status: Connected
HTTP, HTTPS, FTP Diagnostic
HTTP, HTTPS, FTP connectivity
warn
HTTP: Error 12007 connecting to Microsoft Corporation The server name or address could not be resolved
warn
HTTPS: Error 12007 connecting to Microsoft Corporation The server name or address could not be resolved
warn
FTP (Passive): Error 12007 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
warn
HTTP: Error 12007 connecting to Sign In The server name or address could not be resolved
warn
HTTPS: Error 12007 connecting to www.passport.net: The server name or address could not be resolved
warn
FTP (Active): Error 12007 connecting to ftp.microsoft.com: The server name or address could not be resolved
error
Could not make an HTTP connection.
error
Could not make an HTTPS connection.
error
Could not make an FTP connection.
 

__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 09:13 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Go into Control Panel and right click on your local area network connection, go to Properties, double click TCP/IP. Make sure Obtain IP address automatically & Obtain DNS automatically are checked off. Under Alternate Config tab, select Automatic Private IP Address.

Click Advanced on the General tab Under IP Address do you see DHCP enabled?

In Device Manager under Network Adapters - any exclamations or more than one NC listed?

Have you power cycled the modem & router? Considered resetting the router to defaults?

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 06:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Double checked and confirmed, these are the settings I have been using.
I currently two NIC's listed neither has ever reported a problem.
The second one, I recently added in case the on-board one had some kind of unreported problem. The on-board is currently disabled.
As I stated in my original post I was able once to get online by reinstalling the NIC. That was when I was using the on-board NIC, I have since been unable to repeat that success.
Thanks for your input.
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:02 AM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



connect directly to the modem. do you get a ip?

If not, and considering the history I would proceed to a repair install of xp
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:15 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Re; Wand3r3r
No won't connect directly through the modem.
I have been considering that option, can a repair install be done without wiping the drive?
Thanks for the input.
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 07:56 AM   #6
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



Yes that is the whole point of a repair install. It leaves the data intact but refreshes the OS file system. You will need to do all of the service pack updates after doing the repair.

I would suggest you web search xp repair install for the step by step how to.

Good luck!
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Re: Wand3r3r
Did as suggested in process right now will let you know outcome.
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 10:15 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



<P>No Joy!</P>
<P>Finished the xp repair install and I am&nbsp;still getting a 169 address, release and renew produced the same result, "unable to contact your dhcp server".</P>
<P>Ran&nbsp;network wizard&nbsp;then checked tcp/ip settings the'ir OK, reports, &nbsp;"limited or no connectivity".</P>
<P>Ran LinkSys router installation disk, reports, "unable to find router".</P>
<P>Am really a loss on what to do next.</P>
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 10:20 AM   #9
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Have you connected directly to the modem as Wanderer suggested? Power off the modem for 10 seconds then power it back on. When all lights are go, connect your PC.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 10:46 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Re: Fred Garvin
No go!
I tried the procedure first through the router, than repeated it connected directly to the modem.
Still get the same results, a 169 address.
Thanks for your input.
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 11:07 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



When I ping I get the following results;
Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
I take this to mean that I have connectivity.
Would that be correct?
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 11:29 AM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by knrobe View Post
Re: Fred Garvin
No go!
I tried the procedure first through the router, than repeated it connected directly to the modem.
Still get the same results, a 169 address.
Thanks for your input.
And just to make sure, after restarting the modem and connecting your PC, you did an IPconfig /renew, correct?

I would start from scratch. Connect another computer directly to modem to verify modem works. If any errors, verify DOCIS version of modem with protocol your ISP is using.

Completely uninstall all network cards, reboot, download latest drivers for a known working card with another PC and start over. Remove any unnecessary networking protocols.

Test one of these cards in another box or take a known working card from a different PC.

Forget the router and do all tests connected directly to the modem.

Try again in Safe Mode with Networking.

Try booting to a bootable CD like a Linux disc or Wndows UBCD. Both can enable basic networking functions and connect you online, bypassing WinXP all together.

Turn off all antivirus, firewalls, peer blocks, check your hosts file for rogue entries.

Lastly, are you sure your system is clean of viruses and malware?

My gut tells me the error is software/settings related in XP, but that's hard to tell from here.
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:35 PM   #13
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



pinging the loopback does not mean you have connectivity. It just means the tcp/ip stack bound to the card is working.

You have tried different cables?
You do see the lights light at both ends of the cable [nic port/modem port]?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 03:07 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



<P>Re: Fred Garvin:<BR></P>
<P>1st? Yes a couple of times.<BR>&nbsp;<BR>2nd? I am currently using the modem through the router from my backup computer, I have had uninterrupted Internet from this computer both before and after the addition of the router. I added the router to avoid the hassle of swapping cables back and forth.<BR>&nbsp;<BR>3rd? I have reinstalled drivers several times, I have even gong in and deleted all copies of the drivers from the system to insure win didn't just retain the same driver. make that one more time I loaded from the disk I got with the motherboard.&nbsp;note (this platform worked flawlessly for about a month when I had the hard drive from my backup computer in it). As for the protocols tell me where to find and identify them and I will remove them.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>4th? See above.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>5th? I've pretty much done all that, I worked this problem for weeks before I had the router.&nbsp;As for the router I know it is good and the settings are correct, it should be easy to connect to, yet the problem box can't do it even without the other computer connected.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>6th? I tried&nbsp;again safe mode with networking. No luck.&nbsp;</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>7th? Don't&nbsp;any&nbsp;OS disks to do that with at this time.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>8th? i've turned off antivirus and firewalls, not sure about peer blocks and hosts, but am looking for new ideas here, tell me where to look and what look for and I'll&nbsp;do it.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>Lastly, No I'm not sure, it was clear my last antivirus program wasn't it's job, but</P>
<P>the guy that swept it thought it was. He recommend AVG and loaded it on the hard drive since then&nbsp;it has been online twice and both times&nbsp;I updated AVG.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>I think your gut is right. The question is where is it hiding. But remember I do have a working computer also running XP I can make comparison checks&nbsp;if I know where to look.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>Thanks for your time;</P>
<P>Ken&nbsp;</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 03:19 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Don't know what I am doing wrong it looked fine until I posted it hope you can read it.
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 03:35 PM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Click the Start button then right click on My Computer and Select Manage. Scroll down to Services and look for DHCP Client on the right side. Status should be started and set to Automatic.

I would do all testing connected directly to the modem so as to rule out any interference with the router.

I think you did this already, but, at a command prompt type netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt and hit enter.

Did you check the back of your NIC to look for lights as Wanderer suggested?
__________________

Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 03:50 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



For the sake of clearity I'll try that last post again.
Re: Fred Garvin:

1st? Yes a couple of times.

2nd? I am currently using the modem through the router from my backup computer, I have had uninterrupted Internet from this computer both before and after the addition of the router. I added the router to avoid the hassle of swapping cables back and forth.

3rd? I have reinstalled drivers several times, I have even gone in and deleted all copies of the drivers from the system to insure Win didn't just install the same driver. make that one more time I loaded from the disk I got with the motherboard this time; note (this platform worked flawlessly for about a month when I had the hard drive from my backup computer in it). As for the protocols tell me where to find and identify them and I will remove them.

4th? See above.

5th? I've pretty much done all that, I worked this problem for weeks before I had the router. As for the router I know it is good and the settings are correct, it should be easy to connect to, yet the problem box can't do it even without the other computer connected.

6th? I tried again safe mode with networking. No luck.

7th? Don't have any OS disks to do that with at this time.

8th? I've turned off antivirus and firewalls, not sure about peer blocks and hosts, but am looking for new ideas here, tell me where to look and what look for and I'll do it.
Lastly, No I'm not sure, it was clear my last antivirus program wasn't doing it's job, but the guy that swept it thought it was. He recommend AVG and loaded it on the hard drive since then it has been online twice and both times I updated AVG.

I think your gut is right. The question is where is it hiding. But remember I do have a working computer also running XP I can make comparison checks if I know where to look.

Thanks for your time;
Ken
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 06:23 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Re: Fred Gavin & Wand3r3r:
DHCP Client is started and set to Automatic
Connected directly to modem and ran netsh and rebooted, no go.
There are two lights next to the onboard lan connector on the back of the computer, the top is yellow bottom is green.
Can't find any info on them in the mother board manual.
The mother board is a ECS P4M800PRO-M
All the lights on the modem and router are green.
Yes I've swapped cables around so much it's a wonder I havn't worn the ends off them, but essentially all the cables in use now are well proven.
Thanks for hanging with me on this, am going to put it up for the night.
Lost my connection on the working computer after the last test yesterday, but I'm back up this morning.
Ken
__________________
knrobe is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 08:16 AM   #19
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,428
OS: Vista/Win7



on the router what is the dhcp scope set to[Start ip and end ip]?

post the results of a ipconfig /all from the working pc to review.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 09:51 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
OS: winxp sp3



Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\ken>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KENNETH
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-BE-42-CF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, March 11, 2011 7:57:56 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 12, 2011 7:57:56 AM
C:\Documents and Settings\ken>

__________________
knrobe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD, atikmpag.sys
Hi! Since I installed Win7 on my new computersystem, i get these BSOD every first time on a day i start my computer. first some specs · OS - Windows 7 Ultimate · x86 · Windows 7 Ultimate · OEM · 1/2 year
emddummi BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2011 02:55 AM
BSOD Problems, IQRL_Not_Less_Or_Equal; PFN_List_Corrupt; Ntfs.sys etc.
Over the past 2 months I've been having problems with BSOD's. First I tought it was just a one time thing but after five times I started to think different. I used Ccleaner and Comodo cleaner to clean up the registry but nothing helped. The one thing I did noticed was that the BSOD's were different...
Pytrik BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 02-28-2011 04:41 AM
Browser Redirect Issue
I have been having an issue with both IE and Firefox redirecting Google search results a majority of the time. I had done a scan with Spybot Search & Destroy prior to posting here and "Fraud.WindowsProtectionSuite" (15 entries) and "Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts" (3 entries) were the only...
bob2881 Resolved HJT Threads 21 02-21-2011 06:48 PM
Windows 7, BSOD issue.
Hello! I have in the last ~3 months been having a problem with my computer, it seems to go to BSOD every now and then, when I run several programs at the time (such as: Heroes of Newerth, iTunes, Spotify, Windows Media Player & Mozilla Firefox). The error message I get is: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL...
capslacK- BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 01-12-2011 06:00 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts