Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Unable to connect to router via Ethernet cable.

This is a discussion on Unable to connect to router via Ethernet cable. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone, as it is evident, this is my first time posting ^^.. Okay here goes, I've recently bought a


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2009, 12:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp, home edition, ver.2002, SP3



Hi everyone, as it is evident, this is my first time posting ^^..
Okay here goes,

I've recently bought a new router and tried to set up internet connectivity for my desktop and 2 laptops.

Prior to putting the router in between, i connect the phoneline to the modem, and an Ethernet cable from the modem to my computer, and its a PPPoE broadband connection thing where i'd have to enter my username and password to connect to the internet.

so thats :

phoneline --> modem --> computer (login)

So, following the instruction sheet that came with the router, I connected the modem to the router, and my computer to one of the gray ports in the router, so its now (in theory) :

....................................................wireless to laptop 1................
.................................................../..........................................
phoneline --> modem --> router (login) --> cable to desktop computer
...................................................\..........................................
....................................................wireless to laptop 2................

Alright, so the problem is this, only the desktop computer's connection doesn't work properly. It seems to get "Limited or no connectivity".
Also, at ipconfig /all, my Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3 shows :

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dimension
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-E0-3B-60
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.233.148
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


So umm, no Default Gateway... normal?

When i choose to "Repair" my connection, it says :

"Windows is taking the following action : Renewing your IP address"
and this goes on for some amount of time, after which it fails because
"The following action cannot be completed : Renewing your IP address"

after renewing (and failing), I tried a suggestion from one of the other threads saying to do "ipconfig /release" then "ipconfig /renew" in the cmdprompt.
/release works fine and IPs et al gets resetted
/renew takes some amount of time and comes up with :

Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection 3 : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

I have a USB wireless adapter as well, and i tried using that to connect the Desktop computer to the Internet via that, and at first it didnt work, but after fiddling with it all night I got it to work, it involved rightclicking some icon that appeared sporatically in the "Network Connections" folder and asking it to connect =/
So yeah now that works, but it didnt work earlier.

Ive tried the same ethernet cable thats used for the Desktop on the other laptops, it works fine, so I've ruled out the cable as being faulty culprit.

Furthermore, without the router, in the first arrangement i described, where my computer is connected to the modem and logs into the connection, i can sustain a connection well, so does that mean that the NIC is working fine? I'm unsure of this.

So could this be conflicting configurations somewhere within my system?

My hardware and stuff is as follows:
Modem : ZTE ZXDSK 831
(If this is incomplete let me know and i'll hunt down the packaging)
Router : Belkin N Wireless Router, Model : F5D8236-4 v1
ISP : TMnet Streamyx (Broadband)
The problem computer is running on XP Home Edition, Ver. 2002, SP3

Yeah, so thats about it I guess, sorry about the long post, i'm not too knowing of these networking stuff so I'm unsure what data to provide you guys, some other threads say something about /ping -ing but im not sure what to ping and such ^^.. so feel free to tell me what to do =P... thanks in advance =)

p.s. I didnt know where to mention this but it might be something important, I can't access the router's web console via 192.168.2.1 on my desktop, i needed to log into that to put in the username and pass for the router to connect to my ISP, right? So, how i got the internet to work was, from when testing the cables with the laptop, I entered the console there to insert the username and pass required for the PPPoE thing. But as i said, before, and also after inserting the password, i cannot access the internet nor the web console of the router with the Desktop computer. Hope this helps somehow..

also, sometimes the ipconfig /all gives this :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-E0-3B-60
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

Thanks again in advance =)

__________________
testblank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:49 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Run ipconfig /all when you have the wireless connected and working and post the results

Windows XP
Open up a command prompt (Start > Run > CMD)

Type these commands in the command prompt window:

Reset TCP/IP Stack: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries: netsh winsock reset catalog

When finished reboot

__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:51 PM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.



If it still doesn't work, let's see this.


Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
  • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 03:41 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp, home edition, ver.2002, SP3



Thanks for replying!

Here's the "ipconfig /all" when the wireless connection is up and running :

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dimension
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-E0-3B-60
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.233.148
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-FF-72-5F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 4:51:09 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM

After resetting TCP/IP stack and WINSOCK to installation defaults and rebooting the machine, it still doesn't work so here's the "ipconfig /all" after the resetting:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dimension
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-E0-3B-60
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.233.148
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-FF-72-5F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 5:11:19 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM

All the services are started and all their startup types are set to manual/automatic.

Thanks again!

P.S. Strange thing just happened, the Local Area Connection 3 suddenly became connected as I was typing this =/ and I took like 20 mins to type this =P due to checking the dependencies and all. I'll try restarting my computer to see if im still connected =) I'll update on the status again once more after that. Thanks again guys. ^^..

The ipconfig /all with both connections in tact is as follows:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dimension
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V 10/100 Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-E0-3B-60
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 5:30:41 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-F4-FF-72-5F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 5:11:19 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM
__________________
testblank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp, home edition, ver.2002, SP3



Okay, so its gone again =P

Also, I'd like to note that while the Local Area Connection was up, and when I disabled the Wireless one, it worked, but it was slower, then after 5 minutes of testing with google randomly searching terms, I got a page cannot be displayed and it got disconnected, so yeah, ive restarted my machine once more as well now =) still not there =P

Oh also, remember I said I originally couldn't connect to it via wireless as well? and the process that got it to work, it involved rightclicking some icon that appeared sporatically in the "Network Connections" folder and asking it to connect? Well, it still works, but the icon is back =P and I caught its name this time, and its status is somehow "Disconnected" for some reason. Anyhow, the name :

WAN Connection on F5D8236-4v1
(Its listed as an Internet Gateway and is the only one there ^^)

Rightclicking it has only the "Properties" and "Connect" option so when i click "Connect" it somehow restarts the router or something (the lights go out then come back on while my Local Area Connection and Wireless connection tried to reacquire IPs.. and then it produces an error message "Connection Failed!".. Then the icon disappears for a while then it comes back into view @_@)
Dont know if this helps but oh well ^^ =P

Googling F5D8236-4v1 got me to some page about some people talking about firmware version so I went to look that up, its v1.00.02~
Also its apparently a virtual network or something? ionno too well about it all but perhaps its unrelated to the problem eh? =P pardon my overflooding of redundant info it thats the case =P thanks again!~

__________________
testblank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts