Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

TinyChat webcam/mic problem

This is a discussion on TinyChat webcam/mic problem within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I believe a networking problem has tampered with my ability to broadcast my webcam/ sound. I have a Laptop


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2010, 06:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Hi I believe a networking problem has tampered with my ability to broadcast my webcam/ sound.

I have a Laptop with builtin Webcam, Motorolla SBG900 modem, Comcast is my ISP.

The problem is that when I am on Tinychat and trying to broadcast, I can see my own image but others cannot see me. Even when I try to broadcast 'sound only' nothing is broadcasted to my viewers.

The problem only arose when my roommate attempted to achieve a new IP and left our modem unplugged overnight.

Before that, I was able to successfully broadcast my webcam/ sound with no problems. Otherwise, I am sure nothing is wrong with my webcam/mic.

I read somewhere it could do with port forwarding or such. I don't know exactly the problem the only thing I know is it only arose when the modem was left unplugged overnight.

Thanks.

__________________
elitemeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 07:24 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


If you public IP address changed, perhaps the remote users can't find you anymore. Do you use something like NO-IP or DynDNS to map a URL to the dynamic public IP address?

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 11:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
If you public IP address changed, perhaps the remote users can't find you anymore. Do you use something like NO-IP or DynDNS to map a URL to the dynamic public IP address?

I have no idea what you just asked. So the answer is probably No?

Also, just found out I can use the webcam on other sites (ustream,tokbox, etc.) and people can see me just fine. So the problem is definitely with tinychat.
__________________
elitemeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 01:38 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


If you're using it on other sites, perhaps the site you're trying to use has the problem.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 07:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
If you're using it on other sites, perhaps the site you're trying to use has the problem.
Yea someone told me it had to do with my computer not communicating right with the site.

The site is working because I can see other people's cams etc. Just my cam won't broadcast.
__________________
elitemeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 07:16 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Sounds like a site-specific configuration issue.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts