Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

Three of my browsers won't load secure/https pages...

This is a discussion on Three of my browsers won't load secure/https pages... within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi TechSupport people, I'm running Windows Vista on a HP laptop. I use a wireless connection with a TalkTalk router


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar
Mistake

Hi TechSupport people,

I'm running Windows Vista on a HP laptop. I use a wireless connection with a TalkTalk router which I started using a couple of months ago. My AV is avast! and I'm also running Lavasoft Ad-aware and Windows Security Centre (Firewall, Defender, etc.)

When I switched to TalkTalk back in April/May I initially had some issues...it's a bit hazy now but I had some poor guy from their tech support on the phone for over an hour while he tried to get my laptop to connect wirelessly (worked fine with the cable plugged in). But eventually it got sorted out and everything seemed to be working fine.

But now I'm having a really irritating problem with most of my web browsers. I have four installed (IE, Firefox, Opera and Safari), for situations like this and also to check how coding looks in different browsers etc. I'm pretty sure that all of them are the latest versions.

My problem is that all of them except Opera (which I hate using, because sometimes it doesn't load pages fully/properly) are refusing to load any pages that begin with https:// so I can't log into most websites (Facebook, eBay, etc.). They start to load and then within a second I get some sort of Page Cannot Be Displayed message, e.g.:

Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at {website}.
Safari can’t connect to the server.


If I click 'Diagnose Connection Problems' in IE, I either get a message saying that there are no problems or, occasionally, something about a DNS error.


OTHER PROBLEMS THAT MIGHT BE RELATED TO THE ABOVE:
- It seems that I can no longer upload items using those 'faulty' browsers, although I can in Opera.

- Video link websites such as Omegle Video etc. no longer seem to be working, in any browser, including Opera. My own webcam loads just fine but I don't get a connection to the other party and I don't see their webcam. It just stays on 'Loading' or 'Entering' or similar. I haven't tried a video call e.g. over Skype yet so I don't know if that works.

- Someone suggested installing Chrome but the installer for that won't work either. I've downloaded and saved the installer but when I run it, it behaves as though I'm not connected to the Internet.

- Non-browser programs that require a connection to the Internet are behaving as though I'm not connected, so they won't update. For example, avast! (AV) says 'Cannot connect to server' when I'm trying to update the software, and games with auto/manual updaters such as The Sims 3 don't seem to be able to tell me that my game is out of date; my EA Download Manager thinks I'm offline. As for Windows Update, it seems that some stuff is getting through but some isn't.


HOW/WHEN IT STARTED:
Not entirely sure. With some things, like the EA Download Manager thinking I'm offline, I'm semi-sure it has always done that, but I installed it just before/after I switched to TalkTalk, so if the problem is with my ISP/router/something then...yeah.

I was messing around with online proxy servers not long ago, but I don't think the problems started immediately after this. I could be wrong but I'm pretty sure.

I actually thought it started when Firefox installed its latest update and suddenly stopped loading pages altogether. My other browsers then stopped loading pages too, all except good old (!) Opera. But after a day or so they all started working again...with the exception of not loading https pages.


WHAT I'VE TRIED: (willing to try any of the following again because I'm desperate now!)
- Clearing the cache, via each individual browser
- Virus and spyware scans (came back clean)
- Reinstalling Firefox
- Going back to using a cable connection directly to the router (didn't make a difference)
- Trying different proxy settings in Firefox (I've actually tried it on all the different settings even though I'm pretty sure I never touched them in the first place)
- Just deleting the 's' from https addresses and trying to reload them! (lol, doesn't work)
- Checking the Exceptions list in Windows Firewall. As far as I can tell it looks like all of the programs that I'm having trouble with are on the Exceptions list, and I've tried removing them and adding them again. I've never had to manually add anything to this list before, in the past I've just clicked 'Allow' when the dialogue box comes up asking if I want to allow the program to connect to the Internet. But that isn't coming up with, e.g. the Google Chrome installer. The installer just says it can't connect, but it's on the firewall Exceptions list.
- Disabling the firewall temporarily
- Disabling avast! shields temporarily

...nothing worked! I'm out of my depth here but brief Google searches have led me to believe that it's either a firewall issue or a proxy issue. I've checked and checked the firewall (and didn't mess with it in the first place, so I don't know why it would suddenly start being a jacka**), and I really know nothing about proxies!

I hope I've given you enough info here. If there's anything else you want to know, anything you'd like me to post or screencap, just let me know. The most irritating thing is not being able to use my regular browser (Firefox).

I don't know if the other stuff (software not updating, etc.) is related. It's still annoying for sure but I can live with it for now...but if anyone has any ideas, please let me know.

__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 12:06 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Connect with a wired connection, and boot in Safe Mode with Networking. Please report what works and doesn't work in that mode.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 03:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
Connect with a wired connection, and boot in Safe Mode with Networking. Please report what works and doesn't work in that mode.
Hi,

Thanks for your quick reply. I did what you said and could only get a 'Local Only' connection in Safe Mode with Networking. I tried it both with and without a wired connection and the result was the same, just Local Only with no programs able to access the Internet whatsoever.

Booted up in normal mode again and everything is still the same.

__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 04:34 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Let's see this booted in Safe Mode with Networking and a wired connection, then again do the same thing in Normal Mode with a wired connection.


Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.


IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 06:04 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

Here are the pings in Safe Mode with Networking, with ethernet cable connected... (I turned the wireless off on my laptop while doing this, I hope that's okay). Unfortunately it didn't give me anything for Default Gateway and I don't think the DNS Server is valid!


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\29.3.08>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 29308-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth PAN Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-72-D2-C8-B9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-79-B0-7B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-27-02-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5df4:d578:aa7f:11d2%8(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.17.210(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201333540
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-6A-12-FB-00-1E-68-27-02-3F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6C1607AC-E191-46F3-B221-46FEE2ED0
72F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.520b.com
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F7524860-5D29-45D9-86E9-F12CF1DD4
680}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING 169.254.17.210

Pinging 169.254.17.210 with 32 bytes of data:
General failure.
General failure.
General failure.
General failure.

Ping statistics for 169.254.17.210:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1

Pinging fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1 with 32 bytes of data:
PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

Ping statistics for fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\29.3.08>
__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 06:07 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

And here's the same in Normal mode...


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\29.3.08>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 29308-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 520b.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth PAN Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-72-D2-C8-B9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3A-79-B0-7B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-27-02-3F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5df4:d578:aa7f:11d2%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 16 July 2010 13:40:18
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 July 2010 13:40:18
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201333540
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-6A-12-FB-00-1E-68-27-02-3F

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6C1607AC-E191-46F3-B221-46FEE2ED0
72F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.520b.com
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.3%28(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73bc:3ca4:1bb:3f57:fefc(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3ca4:1bb:3f57:fefc%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F7524860-5D29-45D9-86E9-F12CF1DD4
680}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING 192.168.1.3

Pinging 192.168.1.3 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.3: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.3:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING 74.125.45.100

Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=129ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 128ms, Maximum = 129ms, Average = 128ms

C:\Users\29.3.08>PING yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [67.195.160.76] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=51
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=114ms TTL=51

Ping statistics for 67.195.160.76:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 113ms, Maximum = 114ms, Average = 113ms

C:\Users\29.3.08>
__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 06:23 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, that's as odd as it can be! It's far more usual for Safe Mode to work and Normal Mode to fail!

This almost sounds like Malware has gotten you. Open IE and go to Tools, Internet Options, Connections, and click on LAN Settings. Make sure the Proxy Server is not checked.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 02:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

Nope, proxy server option isn't checked. I've started another Ad-aware scan but seen as I can't update the definitions database, maybe it's missing something?
__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,953
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Have you also verified and remove your Proxy settings in Firefox?
Quote:
- Trying different proxy settings in Firefox (I've actually tried it on all the different settings even though I'm pretty sure I never touched them in the first place)
============
I wonder if you connect to any unsecured wireless connection that you're able to duplicate your issue.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 11:49 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xg View Post
Hello,

Have you also verified and remove your Proxy settings in Firefox?


============
I wonder if you connect to any unsecured wireless connection that you're able to duplicate your issue.

Yes, I've tried various proxy settings in Firefox (including No Proxy, which I guess is what it's supposed to be...), and none of them work.

Unfortunately there are no unsecured wireless networks around here. None that seem to be working, anyway.
__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-18-2010, 12:00 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista


Send a message via MSN to baroquestar Send a message via Yahoo to baroquestar Send a message via Skype™ to baroquestar

I don't know if this is significant, but when I go on ip-lookup.net (using a wireless connection), I get a different IP address to when I run the IPCONFIG /ALL command.

When I try to ping this IP address (either via ip-lookup.net or via command prompt) it fails. I get 'Ping failed. Host may be protected by a firewall or may not be active.' on the website and 'Request timed out' in command prompt.
__________________
baroquestar is offline  
Old 07-19-2010, 09:39 AM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,953
OS: Windows O/S'es



It's not significant to your issue. That's your WAN IP given by your ISP. The ipconfig/ all IP is your IP auto assigned from your Router.

See if Public DNS's helps.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:27 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Alright, I'm having this same problem
I have both Chrome and IE browsers installed and neither of them will load any https:// websites. I've tried everything previously mentioned in this thread and nothing has worked. However, everything worked fine when I booted in safe mode with networking. It also works when I use the Guest account.
If anyone here could help me solve this problem, I would greatly appreciate it.
__________________
7h3C4k3154L13 is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 01:31 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Please start your own thread and don't tag onto an old thread here.

Closed.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts