Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Wireless Network Connection, Media State: Disconnected.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Wireless Network Connection, Media State: Disconnected. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Please help! Cant connect with a linksis router. Able to connect with a dongle modem. Os: vista sp1 Adapter: broadcom


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2013, 09:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista, SP1


Question

Please help!

Cant connect with a linksis router. Able to connect with a dongle modem.

Os: vista sp1
Adapter: broadcom 802.11g
Signal strength: EXCELLENT
Error: "windows cannot connect to..." This network is marked as "hidden" network and is either not in range of this computer or the wireless settings saved on this computer do not match the settings of the networK.
Steps done:
Router is broadcasted. Changed router security type from tkip (wpa) to aes(wpa2). Restarted. Weird thng is (which im not sure) if i type ipconfig /all at cmd, id doesnt show its mac and ip addresses and almost all media are disconnected. Tried other possible ts on the web but still no good. :(

Hope someone could give me a fix.

Thanks!

__________________
Phil.Exo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:03 AM   #2
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,225
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil.Exo View Post
Please help!

Weird thng is (which im not sure) if i type ipconfig /all at cmd, id doesnt show its mac and ip addresses and almost all media are disconnected. Tried other possible ts on the web but still no good. :(

Hope someone could give me a fix.

Thanks!
If you see "Media Disconnected" it means that your adapater has not been recognised.
What adapter is it? You said Broadcom 802.11G. If this is a USB dongle then try it in a different USB socket.

Also if you have many USB devices connected there may not be enough current to initialise your device. Try unplugging other USB devices and then insert your USB dongle.

If its recognised there is normally a beep from PC speaker and typing ipconfig at a prompt should tell you thr adpaters name. If you can see this then you can configure your network.

__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
OS: Windows 7



when you try to connect to your network does it ask for the password?
if it doesn't try clearing the network profile from "manage wireless networks" window and than reconnect
__________________
bezumnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:29 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista, SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by hal8000 View Post
If you see "Media Disconnected" it means that your adapater has not been recognised.
What adapter is it? You said Broadcom 802.11G. If this is a USB dongle then try it in a different USB socket.

Also if you have many USB devices connected there may not be enough current to initialise your device. Try unplugging other USB devices and then insert your USB dongle.

If its recognised there is normally a beep from PC speaker and typing ipconfig at a prompt should tell you thr adpaters name. If you can see this then you can configure your network.
No, its not a dongle. Its installed already and listed on wlan adapter as shown on the dm.
__________________
Phil.Exo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista, SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by bezumnik View Post
when you try to connect to your network does it ask for the password?
if it doesn't try clearing the network profile from "manage wireless networks" window and than reconnect
No, it doesn't ask for password either. For a period of second it will try to connect then there's the error prompt.
__________________
Phil.Exo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista, SP1


Grin

......
__________________
Phil.Exo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Vista, SP1


Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by bezumnik View Post
if it doesn't try clearing the network profile from "manage wireless networks" window and than reconnect
THANK YOU VERY MUCH! It WORKED PERFECTLY! You might do not know how much important for me is my connection! Thank you and God bless you and your family!

__________________
Phil.Exo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet is connected, browser will not load Windows Vista
So my girlfriend gave me her laptop with what I assumed would be an easy fix. She has an older HP Vista laptop that connects to the internet just fine (including downloading updates, connecting to messenger clients, etc.), but it will not connect to any of her browsers... I can't figure it out for...
waddlecaudle Networking Support 7 09-15-2012 07:49 PM
Wireless Network Issue
Requested Info ISP: AOL UK (Bought by talktalk some time ago I believe). Broadband type: DSL Router: Netgear DGN2000 Affected Computer adapter: 802.11 n WLAN (A generic wireless dongle) Affected Computer Anti-virus: Avast & Windows firewall Xirrus: Attatched ipconfig /all: Attatched...
fudgeandmutley Networking Support 0 06-17-2012 06:38 AM
no internet connection at home
My pc will connect everywhere else but my house and my brothers laptop will connect at my house. I have no green light on my Ethernet cable, when I try to see my ip address it says media disconnected. I've uninstalled and reinstated my driver. I've also tried a few things that I've read on here...
danpull Networking Support 28 09-08-2011 10:14 AM
No Internet Connection after removing Norton
Hi There, I have been unable to connect to the internet since removing all the Norton files from my laptop (6 months). Any help will be deeply appreciated. The following is what I got from the ipconfig/all on the command prompt window, hope this helps to identify the problem: Tunnel...
Tower34 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 10 07-09-2011 05:54 PM
Internet Keeps Dropping
Hi guys, I'm new to this forum, anyways I have a connection problem with my internet. Let me explain: My wireless internet keeps disconnecting for a constant period of 3-5 minutes, and I have to connect all over again. It gets really annoying, especially when I play online MMO's. Sometimes the...
CheeseLuvas Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 4 05-08-2011 04:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts