Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] wireless adapter can't connect to dhcp

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] wireless adapter can't connect to dhcp within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Last night the power either blinked or had a surge and I lost the internet on both of my computers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2011, 09:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



Last night the power either blinked or had a surge and I lost the internet on both of my computers. After restarting the Hughesnet modem and Netgear WNR3500L router, I now have internet service back on my laptop computer. However, I can't get it to work on my desktop. I have an HP Desktop running Windows XP (actually both computers are XP) using a Netgear Wireless-G USB 2.0 Adapter. Everything worked fine until today. Since then, it seems that the desktop sees the network, but can't connect to the internet. I've looked at a lot of forums and instructions and it sounds to me that the router will not assign the adapter an IP address, but really I have no idea what I'm doing here, so any help is greatly appreciated.
My wireless network connections have aegis protocol and tcp/ip selected, with obtain and ip address and dns server address automatically selected. I've uninstalled the adapter and reinstalled it and even done a system recovery on my computer in hopes to reset it, but nothing has worked. As you can see below I've tried most of the suggestions I've found online to no avail. I've also done the winsock and t something stack commands.
I also don't know how to access my router b/c it's not connected to a computer. I could access it with my laptop, but I'm not sure how since it was setup with my desktop which required my entire desk to be physically moved at the time. If I need to do this, I'm going to need instructions.

Thanks for the help.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-15-BF-F6

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WG111v2 54Mbps Wireless USB
2.0 Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 30-46-9A-2A-7F-54
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.95.126
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 127.0.0.1

Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /release

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
sconnected.
An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection 2 : unabl
e to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

__________________
networknewbie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:48 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,550
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



lets see an xirrus screen shot from the desktop

also did the tcp/ip work - or did you get any admin errors ? - see fullset of instructions below

what firewall do you have on the pc or ever had on pc - like norton or mcafee etc

can you post back the status of the services - see below


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

Xirrus: The Leader in High Performance Wi-Fi - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Direct link to the program is here Xirrus: The Leader in High Performance Wi-Fi - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here TSG Posting a Screenshot - TSG Library of Knowledge

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Services}
post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration ( XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig ( Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
etaf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



Ok, I think I’ve done everything on the list. The window shot of Xirrus is attached. It looks like my connection is only -52, is that bad?
Here is everything else. Thanks for helping me out. I can't really download anything else until later tonight b/c I've almost used up my allotment for the day. Isn't satellite internet great?
I have Norton Security.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog


No result after netsh int ip reset.log
Winsock catalog reset successful
(Sorry no screen pic. I restarted before I thought about it.)
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) started/manual
  • Computer Browser started/automatic
  • DHCP Client started/automatic
  • DNS Client started/automatic
  • Network Connections started/automatic
  • Network Location Awareness started/manual
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC) started/automatic
  • Server started/automatic
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper started/automatic
  • Wireless Zero Configuration ( XP wireless configurations only) started/automatic
  • WLAN AutoConfig ( Vista wireless configurations only) N/A
  • Workstation started/automatic
Looking at the event log there are a number of errors:
I see where I reset the router when I got home yesterday b/c it says it’s lost the connection but then finds it again. A warning message after that says : Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DCHP server) for the Network Card with network address 30469a2a7f54. The following error occurred: The semaphore timeout period has expired. Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server. Then the next warning says The server could not bind to the transport/Device/NetBT)Tcpip_ and then a long number/code. The next warning message is your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 30469A2A7F54. The IP address being used is 169.254.95.126. There are also a lot of errors regarding win32, something about finding the time and the time not being synchronized properly. Is that related?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xirrus screen.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	135.2 KB
ID:	88320  
__________________
networknewbie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:07 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



I also just did the connection test in Xirrus and it says:
DNS lookup - no IP address returned - Fail: DNS lookup failure
Internet Reachable - Fail: No IP available
__________________
networknewbie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:09 PM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,550
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



the adapter can at least see the wireless signal
log into the router and remove the wireless security and see if you can connect with no wireless security

Norton could be blocking - are you paying a subscription to norton
try switching norton off

try removing the wireless profiles and re enter the password on connection
------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to remove Wireless Profiles
Removing an existing wireless "profile"
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
etaf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 05:08 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



HOw do I turn off the security on the router?

It looks like the router doesn't see the adapter, b/c it's no longer listed in attached devices. The space for it is there, but the only thing it shows is the MAC address for it.

In the router log, it does say something about "time syncronized with NTP server." It looks successfu, so I'm assuming it means its for the laptop with the working internet. When I looked at the computer's event log there were a lot of errors from W32Time stating "Time Provider NtpClient: An error occurred during DNS lookup of the manually configured peer 'time.windows.com,0x1'. NtpClient will try the DNS lookup again in 120minutes. The error was: A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host. I don't know what this means, but it sounds like they are related.

I uninstalled the adapter and reinstalled it and it didn't fix the problem. What if I were to uninstall it and delete all of the network settings I have on the desktop and then try to start from scratch again?
__________________
networknewbie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 05:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



I figured out how to turn off the router security and once I did that I could connect to the internet on the desktop that wasn't working, but then I lost the internet on the laptop I was working on. After a few minutes of panic I figured out how to get it back on both computers. I then turned the security back on using the laptop and then lost the internet on the desktop again, so I knew it had something to do with the security settings. Once I figured that out I double checked my password in my router settings and apparently I didn't have it right on my desktop. Once I put the right password in, the internet started right up. I have no idea how the password got changed on the desktop in the first place, but at least now it's fixed. Who would have thought it would have taken this much work to figure out the password wasn't right. Now I feel like a complete idiot. Thanks so much for your time and help. If it weren't for your advice, I never would have figured it out.
__________________
networknewbie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:30 AM   #8
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,550
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2


Thumbs Up

glad you have it all sorted now, I've seen a couple of issues with passwords just recently which have taken some time to resolve.

You can mark the thread solved - at the top of the post you will see "thread tools" click on the dropdown and select " mark solved "

__________________
etaf is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access to Internet lost
Hi guys, I'm working on a home network where quite regularly the internet connection drops and requires the router to be restarted. I know this is something that can happen from time to time but this is happening every few days. For this reason we swapped the modem/router for a new one to see if...
PaoloPanella Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 9 03-11-2011 05:55 AM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM
[SOLVED] Internet (Browsing) only works in safe mode
Hi all, Yesterday I picked up a laptop of a friend of mine which had some problems with the Internet connectivity. Turns out, Internet only works when booted in Safe Mode, however, it does ping in Normal Mode so there is connectivity. Tried IE and Firefox, both do not work in Normal Mode and do...
swriezebos Networking Support 2 01-25-2011 07:49 AM
[SOLVED] Can't connect to internet at home
I have a Dell Inspiron 14 with a Dell wireless1397 WLAN mini-card. I can't connect to the wireless internet at home but my roomates are all able to. Additionally, I went to campus as well as a local McDonalds and was able to connect at those places just fine. Our network is showing up and my...
sloshedstud Networking Support 30 01-12-2011 02:48 PM
A quick question...
First. I am running three routers at home, one as the gateway/router one as an access point and the third as a bridge/repeater. The Gateway/router and the bridge have matching SSIDs and security settings. The WAP has a different SSID and security settings. I want to be able to seamelessly switch...
GZ Networking Support 12 01-11-2011 04:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts