Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Wired desktop can't connect to the internet.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Wired desktop can't connect to the internet. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just got a custom computer tower yesterday and I've been trying to connect to the internet ever since but


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2012, 07:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
OS: win7 64-bit. sp1



I just got a custom computer tower yesterday and I've been trying to connect to the internet ever since but it keeps telling me to restart my modem/router which doesn't fix my problem. Troubleshoot then proceeds to show "Local internet connection doesn't have a valid IP address" as a problem.

My laptop and phone can connect to the internet via wireless, but the computer which is wired gets an unidentified network- no network access. I have a Belkin 54g router and a Siemens speedstream 4200 modem and my computer is windows 7 64-bit with sp1.

I've tried calling my ISP, ipconfig /release & renew but they don't work. I also have tried uninstalling and reinstalling my network adapter which also doesn't work. The only thing that seemed to get rid of the "Local Internet connection doesn't have a valid ip configuration" was manually changing the IPv4 address, but then I still wouldn't be able to connect to the internet because I'd still have an unidentified network with no access

Here's my ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : com16-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 8C-89-A5-A4-F9-07
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a978:6b53:4747:2a3f%16(Preferred
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.42.63(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 277645733
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-21-1C-95-8C-89-A5-A4-F9

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{8BB1CC36-29E7-4303-869D-A2F51D2EE6D2}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


I've also tried ipconfig release and get this

Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while releasing interface Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1 : The sy
stem cannot find the file specified.


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a978:6b53:4747:2a3f%16
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.42.63
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.{8BB1CC36-29E7-4303-869D-A2F51D2EE6D2}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :



I also have tried ipconfig /renew which gives me this:



Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection : unable to con
tact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.
An error occurred while releasing interface Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1 : The sy
stem cannot find the file specified.




__________________
imapness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:55 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 4,998
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



how old is the tower ?
have you a trial version of security suite like Norton or mcafee etc
try this a few things
1) a tcp/ip reset - if that does not work
2) safemode with networking
3) We may need to see the services (dhcp client) and others that are running - but lets get these results first -

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Safemode with networking
with a cable connected from PC to router
check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works
------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne
I will not be online from Monday 14th to Thursday 17th April 2014
etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
OS: win7 64-bit. sp1



The tower is brand new and there's no firewall or anything installed on it yet.

the tcp/ip rest hasn't worked but these are the results:

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
Reseting Interface, OK!
Restart the computer to complete this action.


As for safe mode with networking, it doesn't seem to help. There is only a green light on the end of the cable which is connected to the computer, but no light on the end connected to the router. Also, if I directly connect the computer to the modem the internet works fine, but when the computer is wired to the router only the wireless works.
__________________
imapness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:54 PM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,771
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



Have you tried a different ethernet cable?
__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:55 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,754
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi imapness,

In addition, please run un the Network Troubleshooter tool from your Windows 7 computer.
Using the Network troubleshooter in Windows 7

Also try moving the network cable to a different router LAN or ethernet slot.

Please give us an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
OS: win7 64-bit. sp1



Quote:
Originally Posted by Shekka View Post
Have you tried a different ethernet cable?

Turns out my old ethernet cable was broken. Thanks everyone so much for your help! :) I feel like such an idiot for overlooking something so simple .
__________________
imapness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:59 PM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,771
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



No worries, it happens to all of us!

You can mark this thread as solved by using the thread tools link at the top of the screen.

__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts