Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell Laptop Windows XP The Local connection works fine but my wireless connection doesn't get through my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2012, 01:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP


Cry

I have a Dell Laptop Windows XP

The Local connection works fine but my wireless connection doesn't get through my laptop. The wireless works since it goes through my PS3 and my sister's laptop perfectly.

When I repair it'll say:
Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed: Renewing your IP address

I have used in cmd command:
ipconfig/renew
It'll say a message:
No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its media disconnected.

Please help

__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:22 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



start here
http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ts-573730.html

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP



Dell Laptop Windows XP SP3 - Intel Celeron M processor 1.40GHz, 512MB Ram, ATI MOBILIT RADEON 9000

Who is your Internet Service Provider (ISP)?
Optimum Online


What type of broadband are you using?
Cable

What is the exact Make and Model of your Modem, Router or Modem/Router
Linksys E1000 Router (works perfectly with my sis laptop and the PS3. But not on my laptop)

What is the Name of the Anti-Virus, Security or Firewall Software installed from the problematic computer
Windows XP firewall and windows Essencials

Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector not working, maybe because I'm running in local connection? (wireless is not working, that is why I'm here )

in cmd ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt
Nothing happens.
__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:39 PM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



"in cmd ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt
Nothing happens. "

Actually it did. It created the file ipconfig.txt which you would then either post as an attachment here or you would open it and copy/paste the contents into a post here.

What do you mean xirrus isn't working? Did it install successfully? You don't get a screen when it comes up? Or does it say no wireless adapter found?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP



Xirrus doesn't do anything and would it help identify a problem with the wireless when I'm using local connection?
__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:54 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,651
OS: XP, Win 7



Xirrus will report information about the wireless connection . . are you useing a wireless connection?
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:01 PM   #7
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



yes it will identify the wifi even if you are not using it.

Starting to sound like you have no wifi. Go to device manager and the network section. Do you see your wifi card listed here?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:04 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP



Strange just now. I connected with an outside "open" wireless connection that was picked up. But it still doesn't connect to my router... Which I unplug to restart. What should I do now? :(
__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:13 PM   #9
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,651
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then:

Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.

How to Remove Stored Wireless Network Profiles for XP, Vista, and Windows 7

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found here's how.

Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type type the following command: IPCONFIG /ALL


Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter. Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

then please Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP



1. Restarted Router
2. Remove all the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network again.
3. I checked my browser's settings for proxy settings. All cleared.
(All above didn't help )
IPCONFIG /ALL

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Yudelquis>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : YUDELQUIS
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Car
d
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A4-19-08-9B

C:\Documents and Settings\Yudelquis>

Working on Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector again But, Again I'm on Local connection. Not wireless. Since wireless connection to my router is not working on my laptop but it is on other devices.
__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:44 PM   #11
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,651
OS: XP, Win 7



Please post a screenshot of Network Connections . . and a screenshot of Device Manager with the Network Adaptor group expanded.

See the link in my signature for how
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 04:21 PM   #12
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,911
OS: Vista/Win7



Your ipconfig isn't showing a wired adapter at all.

BTW ipconfig/all works just like ipconfig /all does. Guess MS got tired of people making mistakes with the command so they reprogrammed it.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 10:18 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
OS: windows XP


Grin

It works now! Thanks to a helper's advice YAY!

I went to the setup page for Linksys on browser by going to http://192.168.1.1

My wireless security mode was under WPA2/WPA mixed mode. I disable the security making it open to test if it'll work. And it did!!

Since leaving it open isn't good, I figure out another option that works. WPA2 Personal worked to!

Thank you so much for trying to help you guys. Didn't think it was due to this that I couldn't use my wireless. No wonder my other devices could go through my wireless with no problem but my laptop in the other hand couldn't. Now everything works
__________________
star260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 02:22 PM   #14
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,651
OS: XP, Win 7



Thanks for posting back!!

__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2
Hi Everybody, I have this issue with my computer: Rootkit TR/Sirefef.BP.1 and Rootkit.Gen2 have been detected by Antivir and, though removed, reappear at the PC reboot. Avira RealTime Protection keeps sending alerts, detecting unspecified viruses with access denied. Several of the directories...
beppe1968 Resolved HJT Threads 81 03-15-2012 12:19 PM
virus removal help
:smile::smile: thanks in advance for any help you can provide. i have been a member on the forum for a number of yrs, and you have helped me in the past. i started to see my pc slow down so i did all the standard (cleaning, delete all tmp files, etc) it did not help. then i notice that i was...
stroh Resolved HJT Threads 50 03-04-2012 08:06 AM
Suspected Malware In Neighbors Computer
I originally went to fix his printer but I think that is being affected by malware. The things I think are fishy is whitesmoke toolbar and something called yontoo. I ran his antivirus and cleaned up what it found. Windows install CD is a no for now, I have asked him if he has it and but he is...
kmssd Resolved HJT Threads 20 01-03-2012 08:44 PM
ALL files hidden. XP REPAIR "16375588.exe"
Hit a nasty link last nite and noticed Java icon pop up in the task bar. Hit Ctrl-Alt-Del to bring up task manager and it said disabled by administrator which is me and I did not do. Soon all files were hidden and only option on screen was "XP Repair" pop up. I only seem to get control in safe...
mrfurrypants Resolved HJT Threads 13 07-07-2011 07:16 PM
Computer infected with malware;possibly a virus.
I performed a scan with Avira. It located two things: EXP/Javi.B and TR/Trash.Gen I also performed a Malwarebytes scan.It found Trojan.Hiloti The malware disabled my entire computer sound system. It takes literally 5 minutes to launch either of my browsers.I have IE8 & Firefox. The only way I...
fanny1234 Inactive Malware Help Topics 34 05-07-2011 08:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts