Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Vista Drops connection and loses router!

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Vista Drops connection and loses router! within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. In my life, i've dealt with a few networking errors. This is by far the strangest. I purchased this computer


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2007, 01:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 80
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



In my life, i've dealt with a few networking errors. This is by far the strangest.

I purchased this computer 3 days ago, fresh with vista home premium.

I've got a broadcom 802.11a/b/g network adapter and a linksys wrt54g router secured with a WEP.

Now for the problem

On fresh powerup, I can detect my home network just fine, but (it seems that) if I leave my computer idle, it drops the connection. When I search for wireless networks, it can't even find my router!

It's not only when the computer is idle though, as i have been playing games on it only to have it drop the connection while i'm playing.

A restart, or a sleepmode immeadiately remedies the problem...temporarally, which leads to my other problem. HP can't really help me. As soon as I restart my computer and tell them that my connection is back, they get all excited like they did something.

So now I turn to you guys (you've helped me in the past).

I'm more than happy to give you any info that you'd like

thanks for your time
KFJ

__________________
kungfujoe is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Have you checked in the power properties of the wireless NIC and unchecked the power saving options for the wireless adapter?

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 05:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 80
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1





I've only been using vista for a couple days. Ironically, on top of that, i've been a desktop my whole life too, so idk much about laptops.

so basically, I don't know what you just said.

But I guessed, and checked my power options, went into advanced, went to the wireless, and set "unplugged" to Maximum Performance (as opposed to Maximum powersave). Plugged in was already set to that, but my laptop is plugged in 99% of the time anyway, and the errors have occured while it is plugged in

Thanks for the quick reply.
__________________
kungfujoe is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:15 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
OS: Vista, Ubuntu



Sounds alot like the problem I am having also so I will listen in. I too am using Vista and when i idled or played games it would drop from 200+mbps to just 1... and then its impossible to get it going again.
__________________
madeinchina is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:06 AM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


madeinchina, please don't start posting about your issue in this thread, you already have on going for your issue.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:08 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


How long do you leave it idle before the connection drops? Is there any indication that the connection is gone? You say it's idle when it drops, but then you mention playing games? Are these strictly local games and not on-line?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:46 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 80
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



Yes, it's when i play non-online games it seems. So basicly it seems that if I'm not actively using the connection for...idk, at least 20 minutes, maybe up to an hour, it drops the connection. There are indications...such as it saying "you are not connected to a wireless network" (the icon in the bottom right bar for wireless networks). When I click it, it offers me "connect to a network", and if I do that, it cant find any networks in range. Unless I restart my computer, or go into sleep mode.
__________________
kungfujoe is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:56 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


That has all the earmarks of the computer turning off the wireless adapter to save power. In Device Manager, Network Adapters, look at the properties of the wireless NIC. Turn off any power saving options there.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 02:19 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 80
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1



A) You were right! The power saver options were on...BUT

But I haven't been able (as of yet) to verify or if my computer drops connections still. I'll repost if it does, and if it doesn't for awhile (later today i'll have time to test that theory), i'll post as resolved.

B) Last night, while playing an online game, it did the connection drop, right in the middle of me playing, which could theoretically put a weird spin on the issue. If that didn't resolve my problem, maybe this is some decent evidence worth using

Either way, i'll post back
__________________
kungfujoe is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 09:43 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Posts: 80
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1





It seems to be working.

I left it idle for upwards of 3 hours and it's still connected.

You are a god at this stuff

If it pops up again, i'll reopen this post, but, considering that it seems to be fixed, I dub this issue

Solved...Thank god

Ever so sincerely
KFJ

__________________
kungfujoe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts