Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Uninstalled My Wireless Adaptor How Do I Get It Back Can't Connect To Intern

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Uninstalled My Wireless Adaptor How Do I Get It Back Can't Connect To Intern within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, Was cleaning my dads laptop and uninstalled a program called Ralink, Which I think was his wifi / wireless


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2011, 12:43 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Hello,

Was cleaning my dads laptop and uninstalled a program called Ralink, Which I think was his wifi / wireless network adapter I'm not clued up on networking etc so not sure what I need to connect his laptop back up to our network. Any efficient method will do as it's only needed temporarily as he doesn't live here and uses a contract dongle to connect up to the Internet

Any help is appreciated

thanks

Additional details:

laptop manufacturer: Advent
Operating System: Windows XP (Professional) Service pack 3

__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:45 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



You should be able to download the wireless card driver from the Advent Support site

__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:53 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Thanks for the reply, But how do I know which version etc is the correct one.

And do I need Ralinks to connect laptop to Internet.. Is their a windows xp version to connect my laptop I will try looking on advent site but no doubt hard to find

Here's what I have in device manager

Modems
Motorola SM56 Data Fax Modem

Network adapters
Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:55 PM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



When you put in the model number, it will likely only present one driver for the wireless card
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 12:59 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



I think this is the make.. Advent 7113 Can you link me to the website please

hmm I'm completely lost, Not sure what it is I'm actually seeking to download

Is it a Wireless network adaptor, I can't find the make of my wireless card.. just know I must of used Ralinks to connect the laptop in the 1st place using the network key on the back off my Sky Router.

What is the hardware called that searchs/scans for wireless networks ? And do I need same manufacture as my wireless card sorry to quick fire 100 questions but trying to quickly reconnect before he finds out
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:10 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



This is the specs for your laptop: UKT Support - Advent 7113 Laptop

Your wireless card is MSI-6877 (RaLink RT2500) Wireless Network Card

Try this driver: Download Ralink RT2500 Wireless LAN Card 2.2.1.0 Free - Ralink RT2500 Wireless LAN Card: The RT2560 is a highly integrated MAC/baseband processor to support IEEE 802.11a/b/g wireless LAN Standards. The processor is part of Ralink chip set RT2500 (2.4
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:15 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Hmm Server error download is missing and having trouble finding another download through Google

I will further look thanks for your help I appreciate it
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:18 PM   #8
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



Good luck . . Advent support seems to be virtually non-exesitent
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:19 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Oh, Well that sucks is there another method cause all links appear dead Ive tried 7 or 8 links :( omg panics

Ok so I think I finally found one..

Ralink RT2500 Wireless LAN Card_ 3.02.00.0010

Is this correct ? Can you assist me in setting it up there's no install just

rt61.inf (Setup Information) 70KB
rt61.sys (System file) 489KB
RT61.CAT (Security Catalog)
RT2500inf (Security Catalog) 14KB
RT2500.sys (System fle) 233KB
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:28 PM   #10
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



Looks like the one
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:39 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Edit: ok so I'm restarting computer maybe that should help

Which .inf file should I install or do I install both and if so which one 1st ?

Edit: So I right clicked on both files (Separately) and clicked installed the desktop refreshed and nothing happened so what happens now ?

rt61.inf (Setup Information) 70KB
rt61.sys (System file) 489KB
RT61.CAT (Security Catalog)
RT2500inf (Security Catalog) 14KB
RT2500.sys (System fle) 233KB
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:56 PM   #12
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,423
OS: XP, Win 7



Right click on the card in Device manager and select update driver . . navigate to the RT2500inf file and see if it will install
__________________
Rich




Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:59 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rich View Post
Right click on the card in Device manager and select update driver . . navigate to the RT2500inf file and see if it will install
Which card ? I can only see Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Etherent NIC in Network adapter tab


Restarted laptop dialog box came up dam it just disappeared .. ok just waiting for it to restart again

Dialog

select netware logon

user name: John

(0) preferred server

preferred server: [none]

default tree and context

Tree: [ Greyed out]
context [greyed out]

run login script

OK CANCEL HELP

^ Is this information from the .inf I installed it was not there before thanks should I cut my losses and do a system restore I'm not to familar with system restore but know enough to carry it through i hope would this bring back my wireless adaptor card plenty of formats in my time
__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:40 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 24
OS: Windows Xp



Carried out a system restore, Hopefully all is well.. the Dialog box at start up has now gone so looking good although the laptop is slower then usual and nothing is displaying on the desktop just the desktop background :Gulp: :(

only 17 processes running where as before there was 53 ?

Edit: Hmm.. whoop things are slowly reemerging I'll see if Ralinks has been restored then report back

Connected back to the Internet can mark thread as solved thanks for your help and this was my 1st ever system restore so proud lol just feel stupid cause I spent over 3hours when I could of restored to an earlier point now I wasted 6hours in total cause everything I cleared has now been restored oh well

Thanks

__________________
staceyparish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Networks detected but can't connect
Hey guys I have a frustrating problem. I haven't had internet in a couple of months until recently when I got cable broadband and a TP-Link wireless router. The setup works fine with a ADSL cable but I can't get my laptop to connect to any wireless networks including my new router. If I run a...
tig5 Networking Support 5 07-28-2011 04:52 PM
HP settings/Vista and Wireless Routers
Ok I have a HP Pavillion Laptop with Vista. I purchases a lynksys wireless router. I followed all the connection instructions and tried to get it to work for many hours. After calling Lynkskys and tried troubleshooting for an hour over the phone they said it was not compatiable with Atheros 5700. I...
trulysims Cabling and Network Cards 1 04-08-2011 06:59 AM
Problem with wired and wireless internet
Hi everybody, Im new to this forum so please dont be harsh if i make mistakes. I have 2 problems. As i mentioned i have problem with wired internet: 1.When i start computer i get error no internet access. 2.After router restart or wire reconnection it doesnt work. 3.After re-pluging power...
Speedx3x Networking Support 8 02-21-2011 04:56 PM
[SOLVED] Unable to connect to the internet
Hey, I've been having loads of problems getting my PS3 to properly connect to the internet. I've been spending hours trying to figure it out, with solutions on the internet, to fix it but I just can't and I'm severely pissed off with my PS3. The thing is, the internet test tells me my...
Arcee Console Gaming Support 2 01-02-2011 01:14 PM
Wireless LAN connected but can't browse the internet.
I have a Satellite A105 laptop computer with windows xp pro. Previously i can browse the internet either using the internet explorer or mozilla firefox. For the past weeks, my computer can connect to my wireless router but if i will open my internet explorer it shows that the computer is not...
irflo106 Networking Support 1 01-02-2011 12:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts