Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Unable to ping Windows 7 machine on LAN

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Unable to ping Windows 7 machine on LAN within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've trawled the web trying to find a solution but I'm not getting anywhere so here I am, I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2011, 11:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Hi, I've trawled the web trying to find a solution but I'm not getting anywhere so here I am, I am trying to set up a home network between my macbook and a Windows 7 machine.

This is what I have as a setup:

  • BT Home Hub wifi router
  • PC with Windows 7 Home premium connected via ethernet
  • Macbook Pro with OSX10.6 connected via wifi

It feels like i've tried everything to get this working. As far as I can see the settings are all ok but I've noticed that I can't ping the PC from the mac although I can ping with success the other way around. I tried traceroute from the macbook and it gives me this so it is able to see it somehow...
Code:
traceroute to 192.168.1.66 (192.168.1.66), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  alistair-pc.home (192.168.1.66)  1.724 ms *  1.151 ms
Not sure where to go from here. I think discovering that ping is failing is a good start to diagnose but need advice on what is next.

Thanks for reading
regards, Ali

__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 01:32 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 905
OS: Vista,XP, Windows 7, Server 2003, Server 2008 R2 and Linux.



Check windows firewall on windows 7 machine. Firewall can stop ping replies.

Maz

__________________
Certified: A+, N+, Security+, BSc CNE, MCTS
Maz_- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Hey Maz, should have mentioned that I've disabled the firewall on my Windows machine, on my Macbook and also the router's firewall too
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:49 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello ayepod,

Please compare your current setup with this link and to troubleshoot your issue please see this link.

Post your progress update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Thanks a lot. I followed instructions in your first post to make sure it was set up correctly. Just to make sure I changed the workgroup name back to WORKGROUP as I had altered it and somehow this managed to fix it. I was able to connect both ways and could view machines. This was great for about 10 minutes, then I don't know what happened but it lost connection.

At this point, I could still connect and browse files PC to mac but not mac to PC. It still had the PC in the network list but would time out when attempting to browse.

I moved onto your second post and started to follow a fix somebody posted. The instructions started talking abut things that I couldn't see. Anyway, I discovered that these options aren't available to Home Premium edition users. I thought about upgrading but searched google and found a solution (fingers crossed). It describes a registry fix that solves the same problem. I'm just going to try it now!

This thread took me on to here.

You've been a great help. Will post any updates. Delighted to make some kind of progress
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 01:33 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Have just restarted both machines and now it appears that I've taken a step backwards. Here is the state of play...
  • I can still see my wifi printer and access the memory card no probs on both machines network
  • I can see my macbook listed in the PC Network but I fear that it's cached data because it doesn't update if I add folders etc
  • My macbook lists the PC also but when trying to open it it times out while attempting connection
Guess for now I shall try removing that registry string for now and see if I can get it back to where I was?
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 02:28 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Update, I've removed the registry entry as it now works the same way with or without it it.

just now I can't see the macbook in the network folder but I CAN access it by typing "\\macbook" into start menu run. On the mac, the PC seems to invisible on the network.

Just going round in circles now, sorry if it's getting confusing. Please advise if you have any ideas, cheers
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 02:37 PM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



No problem....also, did you create Identical UserNames and Passwords on both machines.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 02:45 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



no I didn't, is that necessary? I'll try it now
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 03:13 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



I've created a new account on my macbook. Now both user accounts are named the same and there isn't a password on either but it's the same situation as before
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 03:16 PM   #11
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Can you try accessing the Windows C folder from the Mac by typing the IP Address and vice versa? \\IPAddress\C or \\IPAddress\C$

Please update us with results.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 04:38 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



now connecting fine PC to mac but no luck Mac to PC. I tried as you suggested with IP but it eventually times out
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:00 PM   #13
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Please the Node Type of your Windows O/S by doing ipconfig /all, the only thing that you should worry is, if it's on Peer to Peer.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:07 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



ipconig /all says Node Type is
Code:
hybrid
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:10 PM   #15
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Can you pls. post the entire ipconfig /all of the Mac and Windows machines for review?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:34 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium





here it is, let me know once you seen it and i'll take em offline. On the mac I think en1 is the relevant stuff
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 05:58 PM   #17
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Go ahead and remove them if you want, I'll have to get back with you later on and do some research to troubleshoot your issue.

You might get feedbacks as well from others.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:03 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium


Thanks 2xg, massively appreciate your time and support
__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 07:35 PM   #19
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Okay, I'm back....

Disable password protected sharing in Windows 7.

Can you try to ping Windows 7 computer again from your Mac?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:20 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 13
OS: Mac OSX 10.6 + Windows Home Premium



Hi. I had the already disabled password protect sharing and i still can't ping 192.168.1.66 from my mac

__________________
ayepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM
Browser Redirect Issue
I have been having an issue with both IE and Firefox redirecting Google search results a majority of the time. I had done a scan with Spybot Search & Destroy prior to posting here and "Fraud.WindowsProtectionSuite" (15 entries) and "Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts" (3 entries) were the only...
bob2881 Resolved HJT Threads 21 02-21-2011 06:48 PM
stepped in it ..Again :{
I clicked on a photo yesterday on a google search results screen when a notice popped up saying that there was a potential virus, initially I thought it was a waring from my Verizon Security Suite, so I clicked on Quarenteen...in hind sight, I think this warning was somthing different. Now, my...
scotlb Resolved HJT Threads 14 01-23-2011 07:47 PM
Random popups and site redirecting virus
Hello, I'm new to the forum and my problem is that I'm being redirected to unwanted sites like Tazinga or Binkx. I'm running Windows XP and my laptop is about 7 years old. Any help would be great! Here are the Hijack specc UNLESS SPECIFICALLY INSTRUCTED, DO NOT POST THIS LOG. IF REQUESTED,...
Hexamus Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 01-11-2011 07:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts