Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Stuck on "Attempting to authenticate"

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Stuck on "Attempting to authenticate" within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My daughter's laptop has Windows 7. We have a wireless network in our home, so she uses her computer all


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2011, 05:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
OS: Win XP



My daughter's laptop has Windows 7. We have a wireless network in our home, so she uses her computer all over the house. Today she was on the internet and then stopped for a while to charge her battery. When she went to use it again, she was not able to connect to the internet. When I go to Network Connections, our home network is there with full signal, but it won't connect. Of course, after trying to diagnose, I get the "Windows cannot resolve your wireless connectivity issue". It does tell me I have a "Problem with wireless adapter or access point". I noticed when I go to Network Connections, my Wireless Network Connection site just says "Attempting to authenticate".

My adapter is Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can't figure out why it worked fine and then all of a sudden it's like it gets stuck on "Attempting to authenticate".

__________________
Dteachmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 04:31 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,447
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



i would try a few things
1) do a system restore to before the issue started - start>programs>accessories>system tools>system restore - choose a date before the issue

2) remove any wireless profiles on the PC and reconnect and re-enter the passkey for the wireless
------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to remove Wireless Profiles
Removing an existing wireless "profile"
------------------------------------------------------------------------

3) carry out a PowerCycle - see details below

4) post back an ipconfig /all , device manager and xirrus screen shot - see details below

------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to power cycle
“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 30 seconds.
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for it to settle - all lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and the allow the lights to become stabile.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

Xirrus: The Leader in High Performance Wi-Fi - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Direct link to the program is here Xirrus: The Leader in High Performance Wi-Fi - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here TSG Posting a Screenshot - TSG Library of Knowledge

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Device Manager}
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
Full details are here TSG Posting a Screenshot - TSG Library of Knowledge
------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 03:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
OS: Win XP



Strangest thing. Went to go through the steps you outlined. Turned the computer on and it connected to my wireless network. I didn't do a thing.

I guess we'll see how long this lasts before it does it again. Maybe the old girl just needed a little rest.


Thanks anyway! If it does it again, I'll let you know.
__________________
Dteachmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 06:09 AM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,447
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



excellent - thanks for letting us know you can mark the thread solved - from the dropdown " thread tools" at the top of the page - choose "Mark Solved"
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP-Computer stuck on black screen with blinking white cursor
One day i switched off my computer as normal and the next time i switched it back on, i experienced this problem. I havnt made any changes to my system recently-software, hardware or otherwise. I would say my computing skills are at an intermediate level, but im really stuck with this problem. ...
thisisoracle Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 03-08-2011 10:15 AM
Vista Stuck on Load Screen, Tried Everything..Help
Hey everybody, I'm a new user here..I hope you can help me out with this problem... Here's a quick breakdown of my problem: 1. Laptop Model is Toshiba L305-S5955
Chapelle Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 02-16-2011 12:30 AM
Stuck read receipts in Outlook 2010
HI, I have been experiencing problems sending messages with Outlook 2010. Many messages could not be sent and stuck in the Outbox. There was another problem. Outlook was trying to send out messages from Outbox though the Outbox was empty. It looks like (not quite sure though) I’ve found the...
vertical123 Microsoft Office support 0 02-10-2011 03:18 PM
[SOLVED] Stuck At Idle Clocks
Hey again. Have another problem with my new 6870. My GPU clock is stuck at 300MHz. The memory clock is stuck at 1150, and won't go down to idle speeds and won't go up to where I have it overclocked. It happened after I installed AMD's Overdrive utility for the CPU. I've already tried...
Krow147 Video Card Support 3 02-03-2011 01:22 AM
[SOLVED] Vista stuck at loading screen
Recently my Computer won't start because it gets stuck at the loading bar of vista... the bar just keeps going and going but nothing loads. At first it just happened like rarely and a reset would help but now the computer doesn't pass the loading screen at all Now it always asks me how I want...
crimsongod Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 01-05-2011 08:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts