Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] No network connection with Wireless Laptop

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] No network connection with Wireless Laptop within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been able to connect to the internet with 5 desktop computers but I am unable to connect wireless


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2012, 09:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
tekkyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 44
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



I have been able to connect to the internet with 5 desktop computers but I am unable to connect wireless laptop. This happens to all Laptop which prompts to enter a 8 digit number to setup new router. I believe the 8 digit are meant to be found on the router but it's no where to be found. I found the 8 digit key by accessing my router setting under "WPS"
I entered the 8 digit key and set the display name for the network but after clicking next to configure the settings, a message appeared "The network set up was unsuccessful.

Normal laptops do not work but Macbook Pro works fine for some reason. Phones and Tablet can connect after 8 attempts. There's really something wrong with this router... but i figured that it needs to be setup.

Router - BILLION - BiPAC 6404VGP R3

__________________
tekkyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:33 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,025
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi tekkyhead,

Perhaps you are referring it to the pass-phrase or network security key. Usually you may find this from the original package of the your router or a sticker at the bottom of your router. My Netgear Dual band router is pre-configured by I preferred and manually change the SSID (wireless network name) and pass-phrase. You may also do this by logging in to your router's setting by opening up a browser then type in the router or gateway's IP.

Here's your router's default LogIn:
BiPAC 6404VGP R3 Default IP: 192.168.1.254
BiPAC 6404VGP R3 Default Password: admin
BiPAC 6404VGP R3 Default Username: admin

If you are still encoutering issue, I would suggest a reset to the factory default setting, find the reset the button on your router, find a pen or paperclip then push/hold it for 15 seconds or so, that should reset your router to the factory setting then reconfigure all, I would suggest a manual configuration.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 11:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
tekkyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 44
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Thanks for replying 2xg,

I am still unable to find the network security key on the original package of the router or the bottom of the router.
I have also tried changing the SSID on the routers setting and reset to factory setting.
__________________
tekkyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:01 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,025
OS: Windows O/S'es



You have also mentioned it happens to 'all laptops', so not just one laptop is affected?

What's the Operating Systems of the affected computers?

We will need some information from one affected laptop by following the guidelines from this Sticky to better assist you.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ts-573730.html
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
tekkyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 44
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



2xg,

Happens to all laptops, tablets and phones.

I just got my laptop connected to the internet 2xg. Like I mentioned above regarding the phone and tablets, I have to connect and disconnect the connection with my wireless network. I successfully got it connected after 3-4 attempts. Would like to get this resolved without going through that.

All running windows 7... now that i think about it, the macbook also have to do the same with the disconnect and reconnecting
__________________
tekkyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:05 AM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,025
OS: Windows O/S'es



How's your connection if it's wired directly to the Modem?

Is the issue both wired and wireless on the Billion router?

Have you updated the firmware of your new router? You might want to check the manufacturer's site and see if there's a new firmware available then manually install it.

Please post a Xirrus snapshot coming from one of your wireless computers. See this instruction from the Networking Sticky.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ts-573730.html

Also, please try not to overlook any of the suggestions that I have given you, it is important that you follow our advice.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 12:15 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
tekkyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 44
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit



Problem is resolved.
I have tried looking for the latest firmware for the router (for australia only) and i managed to find it. Had to google the router's name with "australia" in the search bar, installed the driver and now having no issues connecting with wireless. Appreciate with all your help guys :)
__________________
tekkyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 09:56 AM   #8
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,025
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for the update tekkyhead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekkyhead View Post
Problem is resolved.
I have tried looking for the latest firmware for the router (for australia only) and i managed to find it. Had to google the router's name with "australia" in the search bar, installed the driver and now having no issues connecting with wireless. Appreciate with all your help guys :)
You're Welcome.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Laptop Hard Drive Connection Help
Hello, first post. I have a question... My old laptop finally died and I removed the hard drive, and pretty much everything else just for fun, and as an educational venture. I'm wanting to know what type of connection the hard drive from my laptop has, because it isn't the same as another hard...
FxTrader Hard Drive Support 4 03-19-2012 08:39 PM
[SOLVED] HP Laptop on vacation
I am leaving for 3wks, and not taking my HP laptop. How should I leave my computer, plugged in and charging? Thanks for your help!
fl.beauty Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 03-19-2012 11:59 AM
Netgear Wireless Router
I am running Windows XP Pro on a Dell PC which is hardwired to a Netgear WGT624 wireless router and then to a broadband (Time Warner Roadrunner) modem. My router periodically drops the internet while I am gaming (Company of Heroes), not every time, but frequently. Most of the time, the connection...
FredBrisendine Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 03-18-2012 11:56 PM
SATA to eSATA enclosure possible with this external drive?
Hi guys, I have an old external hard drive. I have stopped using it because of a socket connection problem. However it can easily be solved by just changing the enclosure. This is the specs for my external hard drive, according to Firmware Search SEAGATE ST9320320AS 320.0GB Hard Drive...
venn Hard Drive Support 2 03-18-2012 08:36 PM
2 out of 3 computers on network slow, 1 full speed
Comcast, brand new Linksys E1200 router. We've got 4 comptuers (I haven't tested one yet) on this network, and one is running what seems to be full speed (8-15 mb/s when I run speedtest.net) The other two that I've tested are running like 0.5 mb/s for some reason. AND, when I run passmark's...
barwick11 Networking Support 3 03-18-2012 06:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts