Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Music and videos take too long to buffer

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Music and videos take too long to buffer within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I use to could be able to watch videos and listen to music, and download at optimal speeds, I could


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2012, 04:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



I use to could be able to watch videos and listen to music, and download at optimal speeds, I could even watch HD if I wanted to, but now all of a sudden (starting at least 3 weeks ago) videos, downloads, and music seem to run super slow no matter what quality I have it on. It takes 5 minutes to buffer a 3 min video, and if I want to watch a show, it take like 2 or 3 hours to fully buffer. My internet still goes fast, and I have trendmicro antivirus, as well as ccleaner, i updated my drivers, i have ie9 and adobe flashhplayer 11.1, i updated everything in windows update, i unplugged the modem for awhile and shut down more often, and opened it up and blew all the dust out. I don't know what else to do. I do have a cisco E2000 wireless router if that's a problem, and both my ps3 and my computer are on the connection, but my computer was working fine with both on the same connection for a year. I go on the http:192.168.1.1 cisco place, and i renewed ip settings, and nothing worked. WHAT ELSE CAN I DO TO FIX IT!!!?

__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



Go into the command prompt and type in tracert google.com. Post the results.

__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



C:\Users\Kim>tracert google.com
Tracing route to google.com [173.194.43.8]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms CISCO38065 [192.168.1.1]
2 12 ms 10 ms 20 ms 10.10.104.1
3 11 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.10.25.1
4 8 ms 18 ms 17 ms wsip-174-77-93-177.hr.hr.cox.net [174.77.93.177]
5 38 ms 9 ms 12 ms 172.21.230.69
6 11 ms 9 ms 12 ms ip-216-54-33-22.coxfiber.net [216.54.33.22]
7 26 ms 23 ms 27 ms nyrkbprj02-ae2.0.rd.ny.cox.net [68.1.2.241]
8 28 ms 29 ms 31 ms 209.85.255.68
9 24 ms 26 ms 23 ms 72.14.237.252
10 20 ms 26 ms 26 ms lga15s34-in-f8.1e100.net [173.194.43.8]
Trace complete.
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:34 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



When you meant that the internet still goes fast you meant the surfing/browsing correct? Do a speed test. If it's not to par with your subscription plan then remove the router and connect a computer to the modem and do another speed test, test the video/downloading as well. Give an update.
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:38 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



my connection grade was an F+ 16, i don't understand what to do next
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 06:39 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



i know its obiously awful, but what can i do about it, i mean my modem is wired to my computer because my computer seems to have a problem detecting wireless connections for some reason, but my ps3 finds with ease. im confused.
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

Please post your speedtest results on your next post while wired to your router.
Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

Also, you have to be aware that if there are other computers in your home that are sharing the broadband connection and they are also hogging bandwidth such as video streaming, heavy gaming, downloading huge files, etc....your internet connection will slow down.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:19 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



2/24/2012 11:17 AM GMT174.77.93.1792.10 Mb/s0.47 Mb/s25 msWashington, DC~ 150 mi
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



I mean do you believe my ps3 all of sudden is probably a culprit in my problem? I mean I obviously don't play the game and watch videos at the same time. Sometimes my mom's laptop is connected to the same connection, but even when she's gone and most likely connected to another source, it still is the same.
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 03:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



Oh yeah today when I did the test the grade went up to D- (22%)as a national grade and d (33%) as a global grade.
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 02:30 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



Who's your ISP provider?
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:36 PM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Try prioritizing the videos in your router's setting called QoS. See if it helps.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 05:59 PM   #13
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Please try connecting direct to modem via ethernet cable from your computer see if your speeds improve if they do:

1 Update wireles nic and Lan nic card drivers from the manufacturer's website.

2. Update the firmware on the Linksys router.

3. Change DNS servers to:googles public dns servers - Google Search
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:23 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



C:\Users\Kim>tracert -d 8.8.8.8
Tracing route to 8.8.8.8 over a maximum of 30 hops
1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 10.10.104.1
3 8 ms 8 ms 10 ms 10.10.25.1
4 14 ms 7 ms 8 ms 174.77.93.177
5 10 ms 12 ms 11 ms 172.21.230.69
6 10 ms 14 ms 13 ms 216.54.33.58
7 20 ms 21 ms 24 ms 68.1.2.241
8 26 ms 39 ms 23 ms 209.85.255.68
9 23 ms 23 ms 24 ms 209.85.251.37
10 37 ms 28 ms 31 ms 72.14.239.93
11 27 ms 27 ms 31 ms 72.14.236.200
12 31 ms 34 ms 35 ms 72.14.232.21
13 30 ms 29 ms 28 ms 8.8.8.8
Trace complete.
I switched them over is that it?
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:35 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 548
OS: windows 7



You switched what over? Ignore the tracert as there's no need for it at this point. What's the status with the computer connected to the modem (not the router)? And please follow the rest of the steps on post #13.
__________________
Certified: A+, Network+
this-IT-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:13 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



Ok i got everything settled on google public dns, the results made my internet faster, and my vieos are a bit faster, but still too slow to watch a video comfortably (without waiting a min or two for it to buffer)(shows take 30 min). Is there any hope?
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:24 PM   #17
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Upgrade to a higher bandwidth?
Quote:
Is there any hope?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 02:01 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 66
OS: windows vista



I live in an apartment so I don't speak directly to cox and verizon, so I talked to the office dudes, and they said they don't know what's the problem. They said that the problem could be super easy to fix (loose cord in the office or under the carpet where the wires flow) or it could be really difficult ( like pay so nerd $500 and hour to fix.) Why is this happening to me? I just wanna watch hulu, youtube, and listen to some good rap songs.
__________________
talion2595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 04:06 PM   #19
Moderator - Networking
 
Shekka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,772
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



Have you recently upgraded the RAM in your system? or made any other changes to the virtual memory? If your virtual memory is set to a incorrect size it could affect the play back and buffering speeds..

You can follow the steps here to check. Who knows it might help.
__________________

Computers help us fix problems that we would not have without them...

Shekka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:42 PM   #20
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by talion2595 View Post
Ok i got everything settled on google public dns, the results made my internet faster, and my vieos are a bit faster, but still too slow to watch a video comfortably (without waiting a min or two for it to buffer)(shows take 30 min). Is there any hope?
Did you try connecting to the modem directly to see if the speed improved just as a test.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Company and Why?
I realize that this may turn into some fanboy-ism, but I believe everyone here enjoys an intelegent conversion. Not that I can spell correctly, even with autocorrect. Let's start with CPUs. Now we all know the i5 2500k is the king of all gaming processors. It is a quad core with hyperthreading,...
PoWn3d_0704 Gaming Discussion 15 03-18-2012 05:43 PM
[SOLVED] Drive failing to spin up (with audio) :-( what to do?
Hey guys, When I plug in my Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB hard drive it makes this noise: if you guys have any advice before I go ahead and RMA this old beast and loose all my data ( :cry:) I'd be EXTREMELY apreciative!! Thanks everyone :) -Mike
MikeBusuttil Hard Drive Support 5 02-27-2012 06:53 AM
Microsoft Mouse and keyboard are not detected from time to time.
Hello guys: I have an issue with my P8P67 PRO (Rev 3.1). Mouse but mainly keyboard (both Microsoft) are not detected during the cold boot from time to time, i suspect the BIOS is the one to blame i have the latest version, what can i do? Both are USB. Please help! is the MOBO...
smorrissey Motherboards, Bios & CPU 6 02-23-2012 03:34 PM
[SOLVED] Youtube logo and search button magnifying glass not showing
I'm trying to figure out why the youtube logo and the search button magnifying glass not showing, other websites show normally. Is there something wrong with my computer or youtube changed the design again.
Sanjit61 Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 4 02-23-2012 02:38 PM
Will I experience a noticeable differenece between a 4ft. cat 5e and a 50ft.?
Hi, all. The title is pretty much self explanatory. Will I notice much of a difference on an internet connection over a 50 ft. cat 5e cable compared to that of a 4 ft. cat 5e cable? Thanks a lot for any of your help!
cpu1 Cabling and Network Cards 1 02-23-2012 02:21 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts