Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Hard wired from Router - no internet connection

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Hard wired from Router - no internet connection within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been fighting a probablly simple problem. I an connecting a compaq desk top using a hard wire to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2011, 11:42 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Mistake

I have been fighting a probablly simple problem. I an connecting a compaq desk top using a hard wire to a router ( the computer that the router is hooked up is able to access the internet). I have run a hard line from one of the routers ports to the compaq. The computer seems to detect the LAN connection when I do the diag/repair connection, but I am unable to connect to the the Internet. I took the computer to another hook up area(different router), plugged it in the different router port and instant internet access.? Any Ideas

__________________
joemeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:08 PM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,672
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



can we see an ipconfig /all from the working PC on the router that does not appear to work
and then again from the faulty pc connected to the same router


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 06:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Grin

Problem solved- I switched the router cable. I went to the computer that was accessing the internet and used that cable on the application that was not working, and presto a internet connection. Looks like a new cable is in order. Thanks for your help.
__________________
joemeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Reverting to a wired internet connection.
I need help reverting to a wired internet connection on a desktop running XP Home SP3. I had moved the computer and intended to use a wireless connection on my existing Linksys router. I had gone so far as to install a driver for a USB adapter and seemed to be connected OK although the machine was...
kortmann Networking Support 7 10-11-2011 03:39 AM
Wired Internet Connection Dropping Out
Hey Guys, Recently I've been having alot of trouble with my wired internet connection. Before I describe my specs, I'll just explain what the problem is. Basically for no apparent reason one day when I came home several weeks ago my wired internet connection has become almost unuseable. The...
dandaman208 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 07-15-2011 04:42 PM
Connection Interrupted on PS3, but still have hard wired 12M Inet speed
I've had 12Meg Charter Wireless Inet for the last 2 weeks and it works great except for when I'm gaming online. Charter hooked up a single device that works as the modem and router. The cable from the wall connects in the back, and then the ethernet cable connects from modem/router to the PS3. I...
AKH4740 Online/Network Gaming Support 3 05-28-2011 05:27 AM
Possible Virus/Trojan?
I'm having issues with ZoneAlarm not being able to activate anti-virus/anti-spyware. I've updated the a.v. database as well as the app itself to the latest versions but still cannot get av/as to activate. It remains disabled and the option to turn it on is grayed out. I'm also unable to get...
Dan V. Resolved HJT Threads 35 03-28-2011 09:29 AM
[SOLVED] Error Code: C00D1197 OR 0xC00D1197
Hello ....don't know if this is right forum I listen to a online football station for my home team. Just recently it has stopped working in IE 8 32 bit. I can log in but can't play any content in the windows media player it uses. However it will work in IE 64 bit and Firefox browsers...I...
REMA1 Internet Explorer Forum 11 03-20-2011 10:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts