Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Failed Ping Test in Win 7

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Failed Ping Test in Win 7 within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, My Dell Inspiron Win 7 equipped computer cannot connect to the Internet. I have a DSL router that I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2012, 08:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7


Send a message via Skype™ to Boesens
Mistake

Hi,
My Dell Inspiron Win 7 equipped computer cannot connect to the Internet. I have a DSL router that I can wirelessly connect to, but it says no Internet access. I used the manual Intel Wireless Manual Diagnostic Tools to test my system and failed the ping test. Dialog box says "no response, default gateway,DHCP server" and indicates the ping test failed.
I have checked my router and it is working nominally; other laptops in my family have Internet access just fine. My Intel Centrino Wireless N 1030 adapter is working fine. I detect no other hardware problems on my laptop.
Request any help you can give me; this one has me stumped. Thanks very much.

__________________
Boesens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:23 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massena, NY USA
Posts: 399
OS: Windows 7 Build 7601 SP1 X64



Welcome to TSF!

Please see the pre-posting requirements, the information will help us to assist you.

__________________
AA1TECH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7



I am having almost the exact same problem only mine is on a Dell Inspiron One all-in-one touch screen and not a laptop. Internet had been working fine up until a couple days ago. My system does Windows updates automatically, could that be part of the problem? I have an iPad, 2 iPhones and a PC all able to access the internet off this router.

Read your pre-posting requirements and hopefully I've got everything here. Let me know. Would appreciate any help you can give me and thanks for even taking a look.

*See attached for ipconfig and Xirrus files
ISP: Knology
Broadband: DSL
Modem/Router: Motorola SURFboard SBG6580
Antivrus/Security/Firewall: McAfee
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xirrus.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	173.3 KB
ID:	114959  
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfig.txt (5.8 KB, 43 views)
__________________
Handley97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:39 PM   #4
Networking Team |Tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massena, NY USA
Posts: 399
OS: Windows 7 Build 7601 SP1 X64



Likely McAfee is the issue, possibly on both... their latest patch broke internet for everyone... see this forum sticky for details on how to fix.

P.S. Welcome also to TSF!
__________________
AA1TECH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:07 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7



Thank you! Went to the forum sticky and followed it step by step. Works like a charm now! Greatly appreciate it.
__________________
Handley97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7


Send a message via Skype™ to Boesens
Grin

Thanks for the help and support! Uninstalling McAffee worked.
__________________
Boesens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:32 PM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,392
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



if you decide not to put Mcafee back on the PC or not to subscribe to the service
--------------------------------------------------------------
i'm not an expert here - but if you look through the security forum, you will see a lot of recommendations for windows 7

The windows 7 firewall is considered adequate and especially if you are connected behind a router.
Have a read in our "general security" forum and look for the advice from our security gurus.

Several excellent free antivirus programs are available (But you should only ever have 1 on the PC at a time otherwise this can cause issues ).

Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) {Note: does not work with windows XP}
Microsoft Security Essentials - Free Antivirus for Windows

Avast
avast! Free Antivirus | Download Antivirus Protection Software

AntiVir
|MG| Avira Free Antivirus 2012 12.0.0.1167 Download

EST Nod 32 also gets a lot of very good reviews although it is not free
ESET NOD32
Award-Winning Anti Virus, Antispyware and Antispam | ESET

these Two programs are also recommended to be on the PC and can be on with any of the above antivirus programs.

Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes : Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO removes malware including viruses, spyware, worms and trojans, plus it protects your computer

superantispyware
SUPERAntiSpyware.com - Downloads


--------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3
OS: Win 7


Send a message via Skype™ to Boesens

Thanks for the feedback; I'll take a look at these options. This is a great site to get tech support. I appreciate it.

__________________
Boesens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random/rare STOP0x1E
Been fighting against this one for a while now and couldn't figure out the cause, especially since the crashes come and go and are very rare... anyway, here is the data: · OS - Windows 7 x64 SP1 OEM (MSDNAA version) · Age of system: one and a half years · Age of OS installation: a month ·...
Soukyuu BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 09-26-2011 11:16 AM
Dell Studio, Win 7, stuck in restart loop
Hello all. I'm hoping someone can assist me with a sudden Win 7 boot up issue on Dell Studio laptop.... which **coincidentally** just came off its one year warranty ONE WEEK ago. It's actually my cousin's laptop who is attending college, and needs this up and running rather quickly. His...
celavi Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 09-13-2011 04:45 AM
win7, vista refuse to boot
All was fine. So i shut the system down so i could replace the cpu heatsink. Go to start back up, and windows (7) is BSODing on me. Like a bad technician, i have restart enabled *sigh* so I go to boot menu, and select my vista drive. And it just sits at a black screen. So i'm logged in on...
magnethead Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 20 01-11-2011 12:58 AM
Intel Centrino 2- ping test failed, no wireless internet.
Hey I have a Song Vaio FW21M and cannot connect to internet wireless, but I can with Ethernet cable. My computer detects the networks fine and can connect to the Netgear (etc) no problem but it fails to connect fully to the internet. I don't know much at all about these sorts of problems, but...
Rawsy Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 1 01-07-2011 07:53 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts