Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Ethernet cable doesn't work.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Ethernet cable doesn't work. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My wireless is working perfectly but when i turned it off to go on to the Ethernet cable, I have


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2012, 07:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



My wireless is working perfectly but when i turned it off to go on to the Ethernet cable, I have no internet connection.
I've checked the cable in another computer and it works fine.

I need the cable because otherwise i can't sign in to Star wars the old republic, but thats a different issue.

Im using Windows 7 aswell if that helps. Any help would be appreciated, im not computer illiterate but this is beyond my scope of abilities.

Im hoping it's a easy to fix issue, thanks in advance :)

__________________
Andelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 07:46 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
OS: windows 6.1 7601:sp1



Connect the cable and then open a prompt window (type "run" in the search programs, it will open a box, type CMD or command in the box and hit run)
in the black window type "ipconfig /all" (without the quotes) and post the results here.
This will make solving your problem easier.

Dave

__________________
Dayveboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\André>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : André-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-7B-CB-63-48-38
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.AUK-TSD:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

There you go mate x
__________________
Andelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:14 AM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,769
OS: Vista/Win7



Your lan card is not showing up at all.

Go to device manager and under networking see if there is a device listed with a yellow exclaimation point. This would indicate a driver needs to be installed.
Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7



Thanks, i've tried updating it but i can't find the drivers online and don't know which one to pick offline. any ideas?
__________________
Andelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:07 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
OS: windows 6.1 7601:sp1


Trash

Ha sthis been solved?

__________________
Dayveboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Vaio thinks ethernet cable is a wireless connection
My Sony Vaio seems to not like connecting to wireless internet anymore, and when I click on the available connections, it shows the ethernet cord as a wireless connection (but it works). There is no recognition from my computer that it is plugged in to a ethernet cord. I have tried a system...
Wrigd2625 Networking Support 1 10-14-2011 06:36 AM
Can't connect throught ethernet cable
Hi, I looked everywhere but couldn't find a solution for my problem so here I am. I'm trying to connect to the internet via the ethernet cable available in my office at the university but it won't work. I'm able to see other computers connected to the network, share printers and have access to...
jf.saltarin Networking Support 6 09-15-2011 07:14 AM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM
No internet thru ethernet cable
Just as the title says. I am able to get internet thru wireless but for some reason i dont get any internet when i connect ethernet cable. i know it's not a router problem because i tried few different ones that work for other people but not me. it used to work fine before, now it's not. It just...
firefly17 Networking Support 23 01-05-2011 09:54 AM
Ethernet Cable Splitting
I want to connect a blu-ray player, a desktop, and an xbox 360 to my router (Linksys WRT-610N) with an ethernet cat5e cable. My question is how to connect all three of these devices to my router. I know that I could just use three separate ethernet cables for each device, but I really don't want...
tayexdrums Networking Support 8 12-31-2010 07:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts