Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] DNS server not responding, constant issue.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] DNS server not responding, constant issue. within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello TSF. I have another problem here and was hoping for some tips. My internet is hooked via cat6 ethernet


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-22-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Dr. wOrM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Green Mountain State
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 8 x64

My System


Hello TSF. I have another problem here and was hoping for some tips.
My internet is hooked via cat6 ethernet cable to my Cisco/linksys E2000 Router. Sometimes the net works fine, and there are no problems. Other times, after 10 minutes or so after booting up, net pages stop loading. The small yellow exclamation mark appears, and every time I run the troubleshooter, the same info comes back to me - DNS server is not responding. Until I restart again the internet wont work, but on occasion things seems to fix themselves and continue working until I shut down.

This problem never happened before i moved back home. In my previous apartment we had comcast cable and it ran without a hitch. Since I have been home this DNS problem has persisted, but only on my computer. I run the only windows PC in the house - my family is mac happy

Things I have tried -
I have tried "netsh winsock reset" in the command prompt,
I have run virus and spyware scans several times over,
Have reset the modem, router, and the Mac which hosts my 'home network'

-come to think of it, I haven't tried reinstalling my LAN driver, but that seems insignificant b/c it has never once had problems.

I was just hoping for a few suggestions other than those which I have already tried.

I apologize if I am lacking any vital info, networking is my weakness. Just let me know if further details are needed.

I thank you truly!
wOrm.

__________________
Dr. wOrM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 05:37 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



If you are using the ISP's default servers then you could change the ipv4 Properties to what a number of people prefer as some ISP's servers can be a bit buggy.

Open DNS Primary 208.67.222.222
Open DNS Secondary 208.67.220.220
Google Primary 8.8.8.8
Google Secondary 8.8.4.4

Or there's Public DNS which is 4.2.2.1 through to 4.2.2.6

You would need to do ping tests on the latter to see which was the better.

I've found that 4.2.2.1 is on a par with 208.67.222.222 and that both are quicker than the rest, so I've set my primary to 4.2.2.1 and the secondary to 208.67.222.222 so that should either fail, then I won't be tied to the one server.

It still initially connects using the ISP's servers then quickly picks up the preferred assigned.

__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 04:24 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Dr. wOrM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Green Mountain State
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 8 x64

My System


Tomken, thank you. This (thus far) has solved my problem. Oh, I changed my Primary and Secondary DNS's to the first 2 you mentioned, in case anyone else is reading this, and having the same problem. You just need right clock on the network tray icon - open network and sharing center - get into your net adapters properties - under internet protocol version 4(TCP/IP) click properties -select "use the following DNS server addresses - Input (208.67.222.222) for primary and (208.67.220.220) for secondary.

thanks again tomken.

dr. wOrm
__________________
Dr. wOrM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 04:46 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Glad that's worked out then

Ideally you should change the servers in the router as well but if you are satisfied with its performance, then as they say.....If it aint broke, don't try to fix it, but if it does start to play up again, that is something to try.

Oh, and that will effect a router reboot to keep the rest of the family happy.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Dr. wOrM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Green Mountain State
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 8 x64

My System


Turns out the problem rebounded. So, I am setting the primary and secondary DNS servers as you suggested later in your post. Hopefully with any luck I can finally stop dealing with these constant connectivity dropouts. GRR!
__________________
Dr. wOrM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:26 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



It may be worth assigning a static IP to your computer as it could be conflicting with the other family members' computers.

Do these interuptions occur only when other family members are online or do they occur when just you are connected as well ?

This is a general guide to assigning a static IP How do I set a fixed/static IP address on a LAN PC? Linksys FAQ | DSLReports.com, ISP Information
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Dr. wOrM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Green Mountain State
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 8 x64

My System


Well, to answer your question - I have not tried being the only one connected to the network, because my family leaves their macs on 24/7, which connect via wireless (although when they go into sleep mode, does wireless suspend too?). There has been one instance where the whole house lost internet due to DNS unresponsiveness.

I'll try the static ip, I have had to set/assign them before when making counter strike servers, but since then it has been a while.

Thanks.
__________________
Dr. wOrM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:35 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Dr. wOrM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Green Mountain State
Posts: 72
OS: Windows 8 x64

My System


Yea, still no solution on my end. When I changed my ip (and followed the other instructions in the link), no network were detected, even after restarting my pc, and the router. I just set everything back to default, allowing my computer to automatically assign DNS and ip, as those solutions unfortunately didn't help.

Thanks for the ideas though, It has taught me how to do some new stuff!

Ill call my isp tomorrow and ask them whats up. usually they solve my issues in like 10 minutes.

Thanks Tomken 8]
__________________
Dr. wOrM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



Sorry they didn't work out but if it's only your computer that is disconnecting and not theirs' (when they are actually using them to see), then it would point to your computer and not to the general setup.

However, your ISP may have a better solution for you but they will need to know if it is just your computer that disconnects, or all of them at the same time when they occur.

__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ipconfig "media disconnected" help please
My IP and whatnot is showing up, but also tons of "Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection". There may not be a problem since I can connect to the internet relatively easy and there is a wireless icon in my system tray. If there is no problem, I'm still curious about it. ipconfig Windows IP...
Pedr0NorthmaN Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 7 11-15-2011 10:25 AM
Two DNS entries for server
I've got a Server 2008 machine which is the domain controller, DNS server, DHCP server, etc. for the network. It also runs Routing and Remote Access for a couple of employees who VPN into the server from time to time. As such, it has a couple of IP addresses: The main address on the actual NIC,...
ramondailey Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server 7 07-23-2011 11:24 AM
dns server question
I am a little confused how DNS on the server functions. I presently point my workstations at my server for primary DNS resolution and at a external DNS server as a secondary so they can reach the internet. I also have this set=up on my server. Is this the way others do it? It seems to work,...
mccarron Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server 3 04-05-2011 02:05 PM
Windows Server 2008 R2 DNS Issue
We are having multiple host records with the same IP address showing up in the DNS forward lookup zone (workstations and laptops). Every client is set up to register the record itself (Advanced TCP/IP Settings – DNS Tab – bottom boxed checked “Register this connection’s addresses in DNS”). The DHCP...
networkguy12345 Windows NT/2000/2003, 2008 and 2012 Server 0 01-19-2011 05:41 AM
DNS Windows can't communicate with the device/resource is not responding to requests.
Im writing from my mobile so its short. This problem started yesterday night, the only way I fixed it was by shutting down and waking up today and the problem was gone. I only use wireless. I have access to three networks, two are pwd the third is unsecure. Whenever I connect to one, i get the...
Liphx Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 01-07-2011 06:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts