Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Cannot get internet through the Belkin Router on one Laptop

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Cannot get internet through the Belkin Router on one Laptop within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I cannot seem to navigate to the solution on my own so here I am. My laptop cannot connect to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2011, 05:51 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



I cannot seem to navigate to the solution on my own so here I am. My laptop cannot connect to the internet through the Belkin N Router, though does recognize the router. We have another laptop that does and works fine, but my laptop fails.

Please let me know any info or steps I should take to help identify the problem and solve it.

Here is the ipconfig info:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Brian-Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : mshome.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-1C-40-F5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::51a0:9002:4eb6:cd02%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 12, 2011 4:28:47 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 19, 2147 12:12:33 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352329697
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-BF-F7-9E-00-1E-68-6C-58-29
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::989:567d:77bc:9b81%11
192.168.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Connection-specific DNS Suffix Search List :
mshome.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-6C-58-29
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #6
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1DBBDD85-A548-420C-8D4E-96EFFF3F0818}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 20:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.ua.edu
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

__________________
frey_da_fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:18 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Your ipconfig /all looks good.

- Check the browser's settings, remove or uncheck any proxy settings if found. Here's how.

- Restart your computer, tap F8 and select Safe Mode with Networking. In here, try to wireless connect.

- Do you have any Firewall or Security Software installed - Norton, McAfee, AVG or similar?

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 09:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



I took off the proxy in firefox and connected in safe mode with networking but still the internet connect coming from the router.

I do have AVG Free 8.5 but cannot seem to turn it on. The windows firewall is on.
__________________
frey_da_fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 10:11 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 108
OS: win7



has this worked before and can you connect via ethernet cable
__________________
laker_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 12:46 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Pls. try removing your Network Security from the router 'for now' and see if you're able to connect. If you are able to connect, please try a lower Security which is WEP.

Make sure that when you change the Security from your Route, apply the same Security to your computer with the correct encyrption.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



After several trials and errors, this method worked on 64bit WEP. Both laptop now get internet. I tried with 128bit WEP but it did not seem to work. My encryption code was entry may have been wrong.

I looked up a bit about WEP security. Should I be concerned with having this security opposed to WPA?
__________________
frey_da_fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 08:09 PM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



Not much Security in WEP. WPA2 has the highest security.

Your computer might connect to WPA or WPA2 if you change your OS to XP or Windows 7.

Make sure you have a really good Security Software running in your computers will help and that Windows Firewall is enabled.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Vista



Thanks 2xg for your help.
__________________
frey_da_fryer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:23 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,972
OS: Windows O/S'es



You're very Welcome.

I will mark this Thread Solved.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with router Belkin F5D7234-4 V5 losing internet connection
Hello everyone, I've had this router for about a year, and it has been giving me this problem from day 1. I am getting really fed up with it, and now that I found this website, I am hoping that someone might be able to to shed some light on this. WHat happens is, every 30 minutes or so while I...
Asya2785 Networking Support 9 11-03-2011 08:29 PM
registry errors
Hi Ried, Lately, my laptop speed has decreased significantly. Every time I open the engineering software SolidWorks (SW) 2009, it terminates prematurely. I basically have to wait forever for my laptop to boot-up and about 3 days ago my anti-virus, Kaspersky Internet Systems 2011...
Shackkster Resolved HJT Threads 101 06-07-2011 11:30 PM
Possible Virus/Trojan?
I'm having issues with ZoneAlarm not being able to activate anti-virus/anti-spyware. I've updated the a.v. database as well as the app itself to the latest versions but still cannot get av/as to activate. It remains disabled and the option to turn it on is grayed out. I'm also unable to get...
Dan V. Resolved HJT Threads 35 03-28-2011 08:29 AM
Virus de-activated firewall and internet connection
Hi, my name is Steve and I have a problem that seems pretty common with other posts. I have tried a few basic options posted elsewhere but here I am. I turn on my computer and after the welcome screen my desktop background loads but it takes about 10 minutes for the icons and everything else to...
Sharewealth Resolved HJT Threads 20 03-14-2011 07:19 AM
[SOLVED] internet drop-outs using belkin wireless router F5D7633-4
I also have a very similar problem, its not very often that the internet disconnects but it does keep doing it, I have a belkin wireless router F5D7633-4, with 2 PC's (VISTA and XP) and an xbox 360 all connecting through wired connections. I can happen when they're all on or just one is but...
Xyfer117 Networking Support 14 02-17-2011 10:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts