Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Browser keeps disconnecting but my PC has stable internet connection

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Browser keeps disconnecting but my PC has stable internet connection within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Gurus, I have read a lot of articles with similar such as mine and tried several fixes but to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2013, 01:26 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



Hi Gurus,

I have read a lot of articles with similar such as mine and tried several fixes but to no avail. My problem is that my browser keeps disconnecting even if I have a stable internet connection since I can ping google/facebook & other websites, my torrent download works, and I can access the internet using my phone via wifi.

After turning on the PC, I can browse but after several minutes, it will say no internet connection or will just keep loading and loading. This happens to all my browsers: chrome, firefox & IE.

I have tried scanning my PC for malware using malwarebytes, for viruses using BDefender 2013, RogueKiller, and eliminated all infections. I have also tried using no proxy on the browser settings and even tried automatic settings , tried repairing my connection in network settings, rebooting the router, doing the netsh reset, used the winsockfix tool, to no avail.

When my internet acts up, my fix is to run the command ipconfig /release the ipconfig /renew. It temporarily gets my internet going and after a few minutes, it'll act up again. And I'll do the release and renew steps over and over..

Please help as I have ran out of options. My system summary:

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name DALUSONG-767B65
System Manufacturer System manufacturer
System Model System Product Name
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10 GenuineIntel ~2500 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 0402, 5/16/2011
SMBIOS Version 2.5
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
User Name DALUSONG-767B65\dranden
Time Zone China Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 4,096.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 2.23 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.95 GB
Page File Space 5.34 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

My ipconfig:



Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dalusong-767b65
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 14-DA-E9-98-11-2D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
192.168.254.254
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, May 25, 2013 4:14:33 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, May 26, 2013 4:14:33 PM

Thank you so much in advance...!!!

__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:19 AM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,945
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi there,

Updating your Atheros driver might help.
ATHEROS drivers for Microsoft Windows (Atheros?????)

Here's a Tutorial on how you can manually update your network driver.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...er-655905.html

If above advice didn't work, I hate to suggest this but your P2P program (torrent) might be causing this issue and you may uninstall it.

An update will be appreciated.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



Hi.. thanks for the tip..

I just updated my atheros driver from 1.0.0.43 to .45. I have yet to test if I can browse continuously but so far, it's stable..

I'll update this thread if anything comes up or if it resolves my issue..
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:50 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,945
OS: Windows O/S'es



Alright, we're on standby.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



Hello,

I encountered no problems after updating my driver. However, it's happening again at this very moment and I'm just able to connect using the release and renew command..
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:29 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,945
OS: Windows O/S'es



Can you please try booting to Safe Mode to Networking? Restart your computer, continue tapping F8 then select this option and see if you're able to replicate the issue.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:34 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



i'll do that right now
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:54 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



EDIT: I was about to restart my PC then I tried to browse again, and it's working continuously.. this is annoying.. xD
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



alrgith, safe mode with networking is working fine.. lemme test again in normal mode..
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:48 AM   #10
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,945
OS: Windows O/S'es



I'd say keep an eye out for a couple of days and try these additional recommendations:

Do Clean boot: How to perform a clean boot to troubleshoot a problem in Windows 8, Windows 7, or Windows Vista

If you are using AV or Security software, uninstall then reinstall, it might help.

Might as well clearing cache in your browser(s).
How to Clear Your Browser's Cache (with screenshots) - wikiHow
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:01 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OS: Win 7 Home



Hi.. after doing the clean boot on 5/29, the issue has stopped.. I can say that this has been resolved by the clean boot.. I dont know what program is causing it but im glad sir 2xg was able to help me out..

Thanks a bunch sir..!
__________________
airamtm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:22 AM   #12
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,945
OS: Windows O/S'es



You're Welcome and for the record I'm not a 'Sir' but a 'Ma'am'
Glad to hear the Clean Boot helped resolved your issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by airamtm View Post
Hi.. after doing the clean boot on 5/29, the issue has stopped.. I can say that this has been resolved by the clean boot.. I dont know what program is causing it but im glad sir 2xg was able to help me out..

Thanks a bunch sir..!

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FBI.Cybercrime lock-out
Hello and thank you in advance for helping me. I am locked out of my computer with a notice from "FBI.Cybercrime" to pay a fine or the FBI will be here to haul me off to prison. I received a suggestion that through Bleeping Computers I would find the instructions to follow for self help removal...
Cathy95820 Resolved HJT Threads 34 05-06-2013 03:49 AM
Rootkit Issue
I recently downloaded two small utility programs and they both did their job. After I had, my default browser page became isearch.babylon and tried but failed to sort that. Then my superantispyware told me "A serious rootkit was detected on your machine" message and telling me I had to reboot to...
RayCee Resolved HJT Threads 19 10-04-2012 12:27 PM
Permission Changes in Wins 7
Not sure what happened, but it appears I can't make changes like delete files or run programs I am logged in as an administrator, and have been through the Security section of right clicking a file or folder to allow me to make changes to no avail Tried something called Subinacl to change...
leachim Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 18 10-18-2011 07:34 PM
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 12:57 AM
Redirecting and virus problems
My computer is redirecting and im sure i have a virus. When i try to run gmer it shuts my computer down even when only checking sections and c drive. Here is the logs that i could get. Thanks in advance. Timmy This is not the same computer as my previous problems. Thanks timmy DDS...
toliver30471 Resolved HJT Threads 21 02-23-2011 05:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts