Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Networking Support

[SOLVED] Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address within the Networking Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. I am new to these forums so I hope I am posting this in the correct place. My employer


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2010, 02:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Hello. I am new to these forums so I hope I am posting this in the correct place.

My employer just ordered two new HP machines running Windows 7. I took them out of the box to get them up and running and ran into a problem on one of them. I'm new here so I don't know much at all about their network, but I do know they statically assign IPs with the exception of a small block that they reserve for DHCP for users coming in for meetings, etc.

When I set the properties to connect with DHCP, it works without issues. However, since this is PC is going to stay on our network indefinitely, they want it to have a static IP. When I try to set a static IP address for the Local Area Connection (under the IPv4 properties), I can't connect to the Internet. I see this when I go to Network Connection Details:

connection specific dns suffix (blank)
DHCP Enabled No
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address 169.254.248.201
IPv4 Subnet Mask 255.255.0.0
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address 192.168.1.136
IPv4 Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
IPv4 Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
IPv4 DNS Servers 192.168.1.6
IPv4 WINS Server (blank)
NetBIOS over TCP/IP Enabled No

I can see that it's getting the static IP address, but for some reason it's also getting another IP address automatically assigned. I did the exact same setup on the second machine with a different IP address and it works without any problems. However, the Network Connection Details for that computer shows a Connection Specific DNS Suffix of SGT.AUTOMATION.NET, which I didn't enter anywhere. I only put in the IP, Subnet, Gateway, and DNS servers.

Is there a setting that needs to be disabled to stop the autoconfiguration so that I only get the static IP address I entered? Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you!

__________________
mnitgal is offline  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:59 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello and Welcome to TSF!

Control Panel=> System and Maintenance=> Admin Tools=> Services=> Stop or Disable DHCP Client Service.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 06:49 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thank you. I didn't get a chance to look at this yesterday, but I plan to work on it a little later this morning. If I run into any more trouble, I will let you know! Thanks again.
__________________
mnitgal is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Okay, I finally had a chance to work on this some more, and disabling the DHCP Client Service did not resolve the problem. I disabled the service, stopped the service, and logged out and back in as the user. Still couldn't get to the Internet. When I look at the details of the connection, they are the exact same as the details in my first post. I just don't get it - it says DHCP isn't enabled, but it's still giving an address automatically. Out of the box, the other computer (exact same) worked just fine, and I did the exact same thing to both machines. We even tried another IP address, because that's the only thing in setup that is different, and got the same result. I just don't get it.
__________________
mnitgal is offline  
Old 07-28-2010, 03:36 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



I need to see another ipconfig /all. Here's my guide:

Click on Start => in Quick search type the word cmd on the blank field. From the black screen, type the word ipconfig /all and press enter. Right click on the black screen or Command prompt then choose Select All and Paste the results here.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:04 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thank you. Here is what I see what I do ipconfig /all:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\ME>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DO3894
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network Connec
tion
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-24-08-30-57
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8508:6cb9:5112:f8c9%13(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.248.201(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.136(Duplicate)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6
192.168.1.8
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-10-18-61-3B-C1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{D76A6F4C-2A96-4C9C-9354-B28C08183F8C}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

I see that there is an Autoconfiguration Enabled, I just don't know how to turn it off. Thanks again!
__________________
mnitgal is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:28 AM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Let's try something else since than computer won't be there permanently, rather than modifying the registry of that computer. There's a Tool called NetProfiles that you may assign Static IP. As soon assigned the Manual IP in that Tab, all you need to do is Activate that Tab.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 12:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thank you for all your help 2xg, I was able to get it to work. I didn't have to download the tool you suggested, I'm honestly thinking it was a problem with the IP address. The tech guy gave me two different IP addresses to use (the first right away and the second when we had problems). I tried a third one on my own today and it worked, so I'm thinking he just keeps crappy records and both IPs were assigned to other things. Would that have caused the Autoconfiguration to kick in since it couldn't connect with the IP I specified? I'm not really sure, all I know now is that it works. Thank you for all of your help. I apologize if I wasted too much of your time!
__________________
mnitgal is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 12:44 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Glad that you got it sorted. Thanks for the update.

You're Welcome!
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:46 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



The following fixes the issue. However, I am trying to do a tp where the autoconfiguration will not be displayed. Any Ideas...

Here is the fix I mentioned,

From a cmd prompt:
netsh interface ipv4 show inter

Note the index number for the ethernet adapter

Then Run

netsh interface ipv4 set interface ## dtransmits=0 store=persistent

## = Index number you noted

Disable DHCP Service and reboot
__________________
BTDEMAY is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 03:13 PM   #11
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for your feedback but this Thread is way ancient and it's time to Close.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTDEMAY View Post
The following fixes the issue. However, I am trying to do a tp where the autoconfiguration will not be displayed. Any Ideas...

Here is the fix I mentioned,

From a cmd prompt:
netsh interface ipv4 show inter

Note the index number for the ethernet adapter

Then Run

netsh interface ipv4 set interface ## dtransmits=0 store=persistent

## = Index number you noted

Disable DHCP Service and reboot

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts